We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to the city center and in a quiet area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Those of you that are international travellers and regularly use high standard hotels will find that this is not really a five star hotel (although it might be in the context of the city of Santiago de Compostela), in particular based on the amenities provided. But to be honest, the price is more of a 4 star hotel so I would say it is a good 4 star hotel.
It is within 10-15 minutes walking distance of the center and the cathedral, and it is a very relaxing and peaceful atmosphere, so those of you that want to avoid the noise of the city centre while being within walking distance you will find this hotel a good choice.
I didn't try the breakfast but you have 2 university building just next to the hotel so you can have a good breakfast for low price.
If you are planning to go to the conference center (Palacio de congresos), you will need 20+ minutes walking to traverse the (beautiful) city centre before reaching plaza de galicia and taking line number 6 (overall, you need about an hour).
Very nice staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavierGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The building is beautiful for those who like modernist architecture. The lobby is elegant and spacious, as is the dining room. Our room was large, nicely presented, stylish, and had a stunning view towards the cathedral. The gardens are beautifully maintained and smell of mint. The gym and pool are small but perfectly adequate. The location is great with a short but pleasant walk through manicured gardens to reach the old city.

It is therefore a pity that I feel I have to mark it down for the quality of service. The staff were friendly and obliging but there are too few of them with the effect that we gave up trying to get a drink from the bar on two occasions. There are 8 sun loungers by the pool for a hotel that must have at least 200 rooms and those that existed were badly maintained with nails sticking up in the handrails on one of them where the wooden armrest should have been. Breakfast was adequate but the ingredients were cash-and-carry quality which is not something I expect in a 5-star hotel.

It is very frustrating to be unable to give it a better rating. But for some annoying shortcomings, that would be easy to correct, I feel I have to.

Room Tip: We took a delux room and were very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadabout1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Strikingly modern design in lobby & grounds, pleasant room, satisfactory dining (nothing open all day though). Staff met all our needs (we were with a tour so that tour director really did the heavy lifting on advice). Across street from a lovely park and lagoon, nice for an afternoon walk. About a kilometer walk into center of Santiago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Brilliant Experience ....Great Location....Five Star Facilities....Super clean.....Food excellent......The only small issue i had 'if im honest' is lack of staff....other than that I could not fault this NH Obradoiro Hotel

Room Tip: On booking just ask the very nice staff to have a room away from the Lifts....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinkystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A great hotel stayed in a twin room which was very spacious great bathroom you could not fault it ,the indoor and outdoor pool we not the warmest but ok to swim after a sunning youself ,lovely towels to use all very clean 2 saunas .
we had a snack sandwich for Lunch one day and turned out it came with nice chips and the selection for breakfast was difficult to choose ,my Granddaughter was impressed with my choice after walking the Camino as a reward to her and me.
A/C unit was not noise

Room Tip: we stayed in 122 good views of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very modern and well-kept hotel; good service, large rooms, fancy design. Nice location near a university campus, within a relatively short walking distance from the city centre.

The basic facilities in the rooms seemed to be OK. The bathroom was nice, the bed was comfortable. There was air conditioning and also a window that opens. The safe was large enough for a 13-inch Macbook Air.

The main problem that we encountered was a poor Internet connection. Wi-fi was free but not that convenient or reliable. When we checked in, we got a bunch of printed coupons with different passwords for each day of our stay, and for each device that we wanted to use; it was a bit of a hassle to keep track of all those coupons. Sometimes the system remembered our login, sometimes we had to re-enter the same password for no reason, and sometimes one of the coupons seemed to expire too soon for no reason and we had to enter another password. Occasionally we had some other problems connecting to the internet, or the connection was slow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czfrbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very good middle Class NH Hotel! It was our first time in that Hotel (recommeded by some of our Friends) and during this Trip, we did spend there 2 Nights. all was fully ok and we did liked this Hotel and especially their friendly Employees there. Breakfast Service was also fully ok, with good Choices of hot Beverages. Staff did give us also good Recommendation for some Restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PizzaboygoesSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.6 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,904 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
876 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#22 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Santiago de Compostela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Santiago de Compostela

Address: Avenida Burgo das Nacions s/n | Campus Norte, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain (Formerly NH Obradoiro)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £55 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Santiago de Compostela 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Collection Santiago delivers modern luxury in a timeless setting. Located just minutes from the historic Plaza del Obradoiro at the heart of Old Town, centuries of charm wait just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, NHHotels, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Santiago de Compostela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Obradoiro Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Nh Hotels Santiago De Compostela
Nh Obradoiro Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing