We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great access to old city, but internet slow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a truly posh hotel, with excellent rooms and full-length bathtubs. I can't comment on the food since I did not go to the restaurant. But everything else was very, very nice.

It is a ten-minute walk through a nice green park to get to the old city, where you can get coffee and rolls for breakfast for 3 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dwsnoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice hotel, kind staff, green location, close to town, free parking, big rooms….lots of positives for the hotel.

The big negative is the internet…so if you need internet of even basic quality, then don't stay here. They lure you in with 'free internet'' and when you arrive you find out, yes there is free internet, but it is SO SLOW….if you want 'fast internet' you need to pay about 10 EURO per day !! (feel cheated?, just wait…). So I coughed up my 10 EURO to join the land of 'fast internet'' and felt cheated again ! The ''fast internet'' was barely better than the free service !! (free service 1.5mps download, fast service 2.05 mps).

So when I complained to staff about this , they referred me to the 3rd party service provider, Swisscom and their 'not HELP line' somewhere in 'Gowanaland'. After 25 minutes on the line it didn't help and finally they admitted the hotel was too full with internet users to give high speed internet…
Subsequently staff then admitted this was the case too, the internet system could not support the hotel…Whoops.

After some discussion the staff refunded my money for the not fast, 'fast' internet, but what a waste of time. Most of all, quality internet ( included in the room price) is like hot water in a hotel today. If they don't have it , you don't stay there.

So make your choice!! (a friend suggested maybe this is a hotel to go to if you need to escape from internet !!)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was a little nervous when I booked this hotel since it is outside the center of the town - but I am so glad we did.... it is an oasis from the crowds and tourists in the center of Santiago do Compostela. Santiago has been a 'tourist trap' since the middle ages and the town is just wall to wall with touristy restaurants (please research restaurants here in TA and don't just walk into them - we had some terrible experiences at very nice looking places that didn't deliver), souvenir shops and street performers.
This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the cathedral past the San Francisco Monastery and though a park. What a pleasure to escape the confusion of town and relax in such a peaceful environment. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel - but we opted to walk every day.
The hotel itself is a spiraling 1980's corporate design that they've tried to give some personality - but take it as a 'classic' and you'll end up liking it... The only thing that I wish they would change would be the decor in the restaurant - which is very impersonal, but where we had one of our best meals in San Sebastian and one of the best values. Food, Service, Price were all great - but the vastness of the impersonal room took away from the experience. If you stay here, skip the tourist trap restaurant strip in town and enjoy a wonderful meal here.
Rooms were great, beds fantastic and OK wifi. Note: many review mention that wifi was not FREE in the rooms - but they gave us a password at check-in and we could use the in-room wifi no problem, so it looks like they have changed the policy.
The front desk staff were all excellent - even arranging a tour to Finesterre very late for the next day and had the company come to pick us up at the hotel instead of the usual meeting spot.
Would easily stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This place was selected for us by Viking Cruises as a two night extension to a trip down the Douro River (excellent, by the way). We would have thought it was fine had we not discovered the
converted Franciscan monastery hotel which was right in the heart of town and much more atmospheric. The hotel has a comfortable bed, a good shower, a good breakfast buffet
and an uphill walk to the heart of town, not a real problem for us but one for many of the
older people in our group. The rooms are very large but not much to look at; in fact we thought the idea was to call to mind an updated luxury monastic cell. One of our fellow travelers said it was the most depressing room she ever saw.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjg1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The NH is a top-tier chain along the lines of Mariott, Hilton, or Hyatt , but the Obradoiro goes far beyond expectations for even a NH hotel. This 5-Star hotel gives 10-star service. Within just a ten minute walk from Santiago’s busy (noisy) center, the hotel offers a quiet haven with every possible service at your fingertips. The buffet breakfast caters to dietary restrictions and foodies with equal attention, and the restaurant offers a different menu daily featuring only the freshest local foods. I would challenge anyone who, like me, has traveled the world to find a more professional, courteous, and efficient hotel staff than the NH Obradoiro staff.

Room Tip: Restful hotel away from the busy central city yet close enough for a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kwaichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night in Santiago de Compostela and stayed the first night at a hotel in a pedestrian way and had difficulties parking the car. We decided to change to a different hotel and found this one for a little more. It was walking distance from the center of the city. The rooms were spacious, we parked outside the hotel for free in the public area, enjoyed the pool and everything was perfect. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very good basecamp to explore Santiago and Galicia
Rooms are nice, clean and spacious
10 minute walk to the Cathedral and old town
Bar is only open until 1200 but lots of places to go nearby
Explore the coastline of Galicia, lot's of culture

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murphy_Sox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.6 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,785 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
849 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#22 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Santiago de Compostela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Santiago de Compostela

Address: Avenida Burgo das Nacions s/n | Campus Norte, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain (Formerly NH Obradoiro)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £69 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Santiago de Compostela 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Collection Santiago delivers modern luxury in a timeless setting. Located just minutes from the historic Plaza del Obradoiro at the heart of Old Town, centuries of charm wait just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Collection Santiago de Compostela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Obradoiro Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Nh Hotels Santiago De Compostela
Nh Obradoiro Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing