We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable, and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our four nights here. The building (a restored convent) is simply stunning. I love modern mixed with old, it goes so well together. The location is great, only 3-4 minutes to the Cathedral, and close to lots of restaurants.

Our room was huge (regular room), and so was the bathroom (which was equipped with a massage shower head and lots of amenities). The bed was incredibly comfortable and it was very quiet at night (both very important to me). The whole place was meticulously clean. The front desk staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful.

We had checked in late (around 11pm), but fortunately the cafeteria was still open, so we had a couple glasses of wine and a club sandwich - which was delicious. We didn't have breakfast there, but it looked wonderful (we just had coffee). The food prices were actually very reasonable. We didn't have time to use the pool or spa (the spa was still out of order).

Overall, it's a lovely hotel in a wonderful city. It's slightly pricey, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at this beautiful former 18th century Franciscan monastery which has been tastefully and respectfully converted into a comfortable modern hotel within a short walk of the Cathedral. Our junior suite was spacious and was equipped with all amenities. The common areas were first class and the staff was friendly and informative. We could not have made a better choice of a hotel in Santiago de Compostela.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Siwa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

All hotel basics are great, the room is fantastic, the linen soft, the location great, the food very good...but when I go to a hotel I expect the service to be great to and on the morning of May 20 the three ladies at the reception failed miserably.
First one person of our group asked for a doctor because she was not feeling well and they said that they could not help. After that they did not allow our small micro bus (we were a group of nine) to get into the parking lot so we carried our luggage to the street under rain.
A hotel is more than just the facilities, it is an experience where commitment to service is essential.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Hotel Monumento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at our hotel and we are sorry you didn’t fully enjoy your stay with us.

As we don’t have any doctors in our hotel as they do in large hotel resorts, one of the receptionists ordered a taxi so the lady who wasn’t feeling well could go to the hospital and see a doctor. As I have been informed, when they lady came back from the hospital, she even had a little chat with the front desk staff about how she was feeling and what the doctor had prescribed.

As for the micro bus, although the access to the front door of the hotel is easy for standard cars, it is too narrow for larger vehicules, such as the micro bus, which could have faced difficulties trying to go around the corners. That is the reason it was not allowed to park right at the hotel entrance, but up the stairs.
However, a couple of reception members helped carrying the luggage from the hotel to the micro bus, in coordination with the group’s tour guide, in order to make everything easier for the guests.

Should you come back to Santiago de Compostela in the future, we will be pleased to welcome you in our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

Manuel F.
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night as a birthday treat.

All of the hotel is wonderful & the people on reception are fantastic. They made us feel very welcome.
The swimming pool is great, very clean. The jacuzzi was not working but it was no problem as I did not book the hotel for the jacuzzi. The breakfast was very nice & was included in the price.

The room was absolutely fantastic with wooden features and very comfortable beds.

Santiago was beautiful however watch out for a strange guy wandering around claiming to be from the university selling CD's, he was very abusive.

Room Tip: All were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is a class act- style, atmosphere, staff, location. Staying there for a few nights was real rest and relaxation away from the world. Sadly the hot tub was not working and the pool was a bit bracing! However we soon got over that as it is such a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It is located just 100 m. from Plaza del Obradoiro next to San Francisco Church. In fact, the hotel was part of the adjoining Franciscan monastery, but it has been totally refurnished so its premises are quite impressive. The rooms are wide and have double window to prevent noise from the street. The personnel is very attentive and they were eager to solve any doubts or questions we had. I would only point out two minor negative details: (a) the chairs at the main restaurant, which are a bit uncomfortable, and (b) the fact that the Jacuzzi at the swimming-pool was out-of-order. We had booked this hotel for our last days in Galicia after walking along the Way of St. James and we thought that a hotel with a relaxing Jacuzzi would be a good reward to our efforts. Unfortunately the Jacuzzi didn’t work and nobody had informed us about that eventuality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodclient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, Front Office Manager at San Francisco Hotel Monumento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at San Francisco Hotel Monumento.
We are very sorry that the jacuzzi was out of order during your stay. It went through an unexpected breakdown which we hope will be solved very soon. Please accept our apologies.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again if you decide to come back to Santiago de Compostela.
M.Furelos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our visit here was a real success. The location is perfect - within 200 metres of the Cathedral in a city centre that is very walkable. Having found it by car (a sat nav is a must!), we unloaded our bags and the car was whisked away until our departure after two night when it miraculously reappeared by the front door. The reception staff are helpful, welcoming and a really good source for ideas whilst in Santiago. Our room was delightful, modern (despite the mediaeval setting) and well equipped. The cafeteria (also the location for breakfast) and the restaurant were well run with staff offering a good service and very much on the ball as far as my wife's dietary requirements are concerned. She is a coeliac and must eat a gluten free diet. This was not a problem to the waiting staff or the kitchen and it was all handled with the minimum of fuss. An exceptional hotel which we have already recommended to others and which we will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,882 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel Monumento

Address: Rua San Francisco 3, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £105 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Hotel Monumento 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the Cathedral, right in Santiago de Compostela’s historic city centre, San Francisco Hotel Monumento offers its clients the tranquility and silence of an 18th-century Franciscan convent combined with all the services and comforts of a 4-star hotel. Free parking, Free Wifi and free access to the indoor pool & Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Hotel Monumento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing