We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and historic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a modern place to stay inside a historic monastery. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. It gets the highest rating in everything except some of the staff. The check in staff vary in hospitality. They were easily overwhelmed and lost their courteous nature when several guests needed help. They did quickly change a room that smelled of cigarette smoke(a nonsmoking room). The breakfast staff were not overly helpful or kind. The service needs improvement but the place is otherwise great. It is located a quick one block walk from the church and square where the pilgrims arrive. It is close to local restaurants. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2E2mu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of its attractive appearance and central location being just a minute walk from the cathedral. The rooms were reasonably large although rooms above 500 required two separate lifts!
The food in the restaurant was excellent as was a huge selection from the breakfast buffet.
Would definitely stay there again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was debating between the parador or this hotel, and chose it for the pool, jacuzzi. The pool was small but still lapable, bright w many windows, and water temp was perfect. The jacuzzi was only 3 persons but nice and clean. Our room faced the front and w double lays of windows was virtually soundproof. Room is very modern, clean, amenities luxurious. It's quite good for size. The common areas retain monasteric architectural charms. It's very close to all main sites and plenty of shops restaurants nearby. We ate outside of hotel to experience town atmosphere.
Staff was accommodating. We left luggage for a half day trip to Finisterre, and able to come back and hang out with wifi until train departure time.
Great choice for santiago, no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is perfectly located as it is one long block from the Plaza Obradora in front of the Santiago de Compostela cathedral. Very nicely done renovation of an old monastery. The rooms were perfect in that they were simple and quiet. Nice cafe and bar on site. Plentiful breakfast served in morning. Very reasonably priced. Will return again in the fall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel which is located only about 3 blocks from the Cathedral at Santiago de Compostela. A remodeled convent, the hotel has plenty of facilities for everything from guests like us to larger business and wedding parties. Reception staff is efficient and friendly, taking care of parking our car and providing us with a local map and helpful tips. The rooms are of various types. We ended up on the top floor, but there wasn't much of a view. This didn't matter because we spend our days ambling about the town. The bathroom was spacious and well-equipped, as was the closet where you can unpack and hang your clothing and personal items. Sleep quality is exceptional in this quiet building. The breakfast buffet will fuel you up for a day on the streets. Don't forget the swimming pool, which is located in a separate, adjacent building. There is a hot tub/spa there as well, a great way to relax after all those hours walking. Every member of the staff we encountered was friendly and cheerful. Stay here if you want to have a central location to explore Santiago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Seen it done it - stayed in a monastery! An interesting place...
Superb conversion whilst the whole thing has a reverential feeling about it, quite right too, as the full blown Church is on the site. (Must see! A testament to being nice to animals and people if ever there was one.)
The staff were helpful with good recommendations and polite observations on some of the wild exaggerations of some restaurant reviews and, as we were it stark contrast to all the pilgrim walkers, made our car disappear and re-appear outside reception on demand.
Some observations not complaints... no real bar, the lovely central courtyard is under utilised and breakfast is just OK, but on reflection, whatever one's beliefs, it is seems fitting for this place and hey outside is all Santiago has to offer... just up the steps for a night cap in the rightly much vaunted Costa Vella garden. And just along there the square and of course the mighty cathedral that we all came for..didn't you?
Everyone should stay here once. It's very reverential.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed four nights in the hotel and we felt at home right on from the first moment.
The entire staff was very friendly and always helpful.

All dinners we had were in the hotel and we had always the same table for us reserved
The breakfast has the best choice ever seen in a Spanish hotel with a great choice of fresh fruit and pastries.

You are at walking distance from the main attractions and the cathedral.

We had a superior room and it was spacious facing to the road which was a little bit noisy because of ongoing work in the church next door but no problem for earlier risers.
The swimming pool is in a building next door and is in fact much smaller the on the official picture but we did not use it.
We would definitely come back to this place

Room Tip: Check for a room not facing to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el_toro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#11 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel Monumento

Address: Rua San Francisco 3, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £115 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Hotel Monumento 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the Cathedral, right in Santiago de Compostela’s historic city centre, San Francisco Hotel Monumento offers its clients the tranquility and silence of an 18th-century Franciscan convent combined with all the services and comforts of a 4-star hotel. Free parking, Free Wifi and free access to the indoor pool & Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Francisco Hotel Monumento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing