We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a few days in the middle of August and thought it was wonderful! The hotel has been beautifully renovated keeping some lovely features from its monastic past but filling it with all the mod cons. It's maze-like inside which we really liked, there there so many interesting corners and features to explore. The staff were all absolutely lovely and really helpful. Our room was spacious with a gorgeous view of the hills behind the hotel. It had a fab shower and a decent sized bath which is a luxury these days. No kettle (usual for Spain) but luckily we'd brought our own. The breakfast at the hotel is a little pricey at 15 euros and you could find cheaper in town but we ate there anyway as it was really delicious. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short stroll away from the cathedral and the centre of town. Really can't fault it! Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJ112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    216
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
141
381
60
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Renovated rooms in an old building. It was stunning, comfortable, and very clean. My room was quiet. Attended a wedding venue and the location was perfect. Pity about the weather/rain. Steps away from tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place and service for a top hotel. Food and surroundings are quite spectacular and fun. The building is part of the monastery? And they keep it beautifully. Looked at rooms and they all seemed really excellent too. friends who stayed rated it as very comfortable. Would book it to stay next time also due to handy location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaxOntourLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. We chose this property for its historic past and location. We were not disappointed! The staff was most helpful and accommodating. We arrived early in the morning so our room was not ready. The front desk staff took care of our luggage, provided us with a map of Santiago, and directions to all major sights to visit.'The weather was a bit misty and the hotel provided us with complementary umbrellas! Our room was modern and spacious. The breakfast ($15 pp) was good value and plentiful. We used the indoor pool and hot tub one afternoon after a busy day of sightseeing. Great way to relax! We highly recommend this property.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENCIA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is very close to the cathedral. The room we had looked out over the front of the hotel. The room was a reasonable size and was ok. There were one or two issues in the bathroom area which we alerted reception to. They have a car park around the back of the hotel which is a decent size. You should be aware they do run weddings at the hotel which can be a bit noisy. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. There are so many restaurants on the other side of the cathedral that offer good value for money. Would recommend the hotel if you want a good central location with a lot of car parking space.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EXPATMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wonderful hotel! The location is perfect, walking distance from the main square and the cathedral. It connects to the San Francisco church where many of the Good Week processions end. The staff is lovely and very helpful. We booked a superior double room which was very ample in size, clean and very modern indeed. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The ambience is serene, calm and very professional. Staff were in every case lovely and I found everything comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was top notch. The peace and quiet was remarkable since you are only minutes from the Cathedral. Top location!

My only bug bear and a very minor one was the lack of tea making facilities in the room. We Brits like our tea!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,424 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel Monumento

Property: San Francisco Hotel Monumento
Address: Rua San Francisco 3, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Hotel Monumento 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the Cathedral, right in Santiago de Compostela’s historic city centre, San Francisco Hotel Monumento offers its clients the tranquility and silence of an 18th-century Franciscan convent combined with all the services and comforts of a 4-star hotel. Free parking, Free Wifi and free access to the indoor pool & Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Hotel Monumento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing