We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly hotel close to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirador de Belvis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Good sized room in a friendly hotel. No air conditioning (it's Galicia few hotels do) but a good, effective ceiling fan

Parking was on site and above ground (though this may not always be the case if it fills up). The city is a nightmare to navigate in and if you overshoot the turn into the hotel it's a difficult way back.

The old town was very close, but it's very busy and you may be better off staying somewhere like this which is on the edge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect - just outside the old town, about a 5 minute walk to the Cathedral, situated in a park with a terrace that overlooks a monastery on a hill - really quiet and beautiful. Our room was really spacious by European standards, especially the bathroom - there as room for a (small) dance party in there. We tried the breakfast (6 euro) and it was fine - your standard cold meats and cheese, some whole fruit, yogurt and breads. I'm not positive, but I don't think there's an elevator - I didn't see one, and we never used it. The staff were really gracious and lovely - though not all the front desk people spoke English, they did their best to try to help, and we were able to communicate for the most part. For anything more difficult, she went to grab her English speaking colleague, who recommended restaurants and best places to take photos on their provided map.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifesci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The staff are really lovely, the room is immaculate and the breakfast is quite good. I have no idea why this place is 2 stars because everything is perfect- except maybe BBC news, but i quibble. great value for money, good location outside the hyper-touristy side of Compostella. there are common areas for pilgrims and others to mix.

Room Tip: the odd numbered rooms look out towards the convent at Belvis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank displayname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

After finishing the Camino with my better half we had allowed ourselves 2 days in Santiago to relax before the flight home. A friend recommended the Mirador and we were not disappointed. Very convenient location just on the edge of the old centre of Santiago de Compostela about 6 minutes walk from the Cathedral, lovely comfortable rooms, nice buffet breakfast, nice outside seating area, WiFi and all for a very reasonable price. Very helpful staff who were more than patient with my poor Spanish and in fact spoke more than enough English to allow them to recommend restaurants that they themselves use for family outings to allow us have a more authentic experience of Spanish cuisine. Would not hesitate at all to stay here if I have the good fortune to stay again in Santiago.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We were concerned on what we get for such a low price, but this has to be one of the best values we have received in over 12 years of international travel. The room was very clean, comfortable and had the little extras that make a hotel room more functional such as several electrical outlets within easy reach for charging our electronics. There was space to get 2 suitcases off the floor which is not always the case in rooms costing several times more. A big plus was the free on site parking which is difficult to find in a city setting. The best feature we found was Rebeca who was working the front desk when we arrive and departed the next day. She spoke English very well and provided answers to what we needed for our stay before we needed to ask them. Whe gave us a map and located several things she thought we would enjoy and even where to go to get great photos of the cathedral. She sets the bar for what a person in her position should do.

If you are looking for a great value for a place to lay your head after exploring Santiago this is the place to book and hope that Rebeca is on duty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cytraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We arrived in Santiago de Compostela by car with nothing prebooked. Whilst not allowed to recommend a particular hotel, the lady in the Tourism Office marked a few options on a map for us and told us which were the nice areas. Hotel Miradoira de Belvis was the first hotel we checked and we were sufficiently impressed not to look further. It is bright and welcoming, the receptionist was friendly and helpful, and our room was delightful - clean, spacious, and air-conditioned.

(And yes, the air-con worked on cool. However we struck the problem mentioned by a reviewer below at other places on our travels and it was because they had just had a cold spell and had reset their air-cons to heat. If you're unlucky enough to arrive just after such a cold snap and the weather has warmed up again, chances are they haven't switched them back to cool yet).

The other big plusses about this hotel are its free off-street parking, its proximity to the town and restaurants (only 5 mins walk), and its peaceful location alongside a local neighbourhood park. We would stay there gain any time we're in Santiago de Compostela, and recommend it to anyone wanting a pleasant and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1992NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Nice friendly welcome receptionist came out to greet me and showed where my bike would be safe under cover right in front of reception.
Room was spotless light and airy with Good views.
Location was perfect for visiting old city and cathedral.
Really good stop would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,550 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
829 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#24 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Herradura
Hotel Herradura
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#20 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#43 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador de Belvis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador de Belvis

Address: Rua Trompas 5, 15703, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £34 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirador de Belvis 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bright, simple hotel is located close to the historic centre of Santiago de Compostela, which include its world-famous Cathedral. Surrounded by the streets of the city’s ancient heart, the Miradoiro de Belvís provides a great, central setting for your visit. Its terrace offers views over this ancient and atmospheric pilgrimage destination. Light and airy rooms come with simple decor and cooling wooden floors – ideal for relaxing after a day’s sightseeing in the Galician capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mirador de Belvis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing