We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirador de Belvis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel signage is situated so that only Hawkeye will spot them as you drive anxiously downhill trying to find the entrance. Our tip - turn left at the first car park sign you see on "Ruas das Trompas" . It will almost certainly be the correct one. Nice location, good rooms, safe parking, good views from most rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mirador de Belvis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

This small modern hotel was very convenient for the old city. The hotel overlooks a park, a convent a seminary. The facilities were very good and the staff very helpful. A short walk takes you to the cathedral and the old town with it bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel is an excellent budget option. The room was large and clean, the staff were very helpful and the location is very good - just on the edge of the old town. The very helpful girl on the front desk gave us some really good tips on where to eat and provided a town map.
It's a short walk to the local market just inside the old town which also had some wonderful food available. The breakfast was very ordinary but it was very cheap.
Our room looked down on a sporting oval with a view of the monastery which was a pleasant outlook.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maccyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel overlooks a park area towards a nearby monastery and is located near the market and a 10 minute walk to the Cathedral. For those with a car the great benefit is the adjoining car park with barrier that is free to guests. The initial problem is locating the narrow one-way road that provides access off the busy circulatory road as the signposting is not great - a feature of Santiago in general! Reception was friendly, efficient and willing in giving helpful advice. Rooms are a decent size but depend on fan for moderating temperatures and this could be an issue in a heat-wave, something that Santiago is not famed for. Buffet breakfasts provided plenty of choice - meats, breads, croissants, fruits. Overall, highly recommended if you wish to escape, albeit a short distance, from the tourist frenzy of the Old Town.
The city is a tourist trap and we were there for the sadly disrupted festivities of Dia de Santiago. Eateries abound along Rua do Franco but better quality and value meals can be found along the Rua da Raina.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were in Santiago for 2 nights in July, and it was VERY hot. Take note: this hotel does not have air conditioning and the rooms, which are fairly small, were stifling! We made do with opening the bedroom and bathroom windows which overlooked the park. Luckily, we were not bothered with mosquitoes, but understand that some guests have been.

Another point to note is finding the parking. As you drive from the Rua da Virxe de Cerca into the vertiginous, and one-way Rua das Trompas, the Hotel is NOT MARKED, but is about 55 metres down on the left hand side – so you have to turn left through the archway into the P-Parking and then you will see the hotel. Take the ticket, go through the barrier and park. Reception will take your ticket and let you out for free when you depart. As we drove past the ‘entrance’ we thought that the Parking was just general public parking and did not realize that it belonged to the hotel. We had to park at the bottom of the hill, ask where the hotel was, walk to Reception for instructions. We then had to drive around the ring road again and back down Rua das Trompas. So, watch out!

Once found, and inside the hotel, we had a warm welcome from a helpful receptionist, who carried up our largest bag as there is no lift.

The rooms are compact, and quite spartan –no fridge nor safety deposit box either.

What it does have going for it is the location – a leisurely 10 minute stroll to the Cathedral. There is also a very pleasant terrace overlooking the park.

We chose the hotel for the free parking and location and other than missing the parking to start with, these are real advantages. However, it really was uncomfortable without AC, or a fridge to store water, which the rooms really should have in the summer months.

Room Tip: Better to have a room overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Good sized room in a friendly hotel. No air conditioning (it's Galicia few hotels do) but a good, effective ceiling fan

Parking was on site and above ground (though this may not always be the case if it fills up). The city is a nightmare to navigate in and if you overshoot the turn into the hotel it's a difficult way back.

The old town was very close, but it's very busy and you may be better off staying somewhere like this which is on the edge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect - just outside the old town, about a 5 minute walk to the Cathedral, situated in a park with a terrace that overlooks a monastery on a hill - really quiet and beautiful. Our room was really spacious by European standards, especially the bathroom - there as room for a (small) dance party in there. We tried the breakfast (6 euro) and it was fine - your standard cold meats and cheese, some whole fruit, yogurt and breads. I'm not positive, but I don't think there's an elevator - I didn't see one, and we never used it. The staff were really gracious and lovely - though not all the front desk people spoke English, they did their best to try to help, and we were able to communicate for the most part. For anything more difficult, she went to grab her English speaking colleague, who recommended restaurants and best places to take photos on their provided map.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifesci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
804 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#19 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
838 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virxe da Cerca
Hotel Virxe da Cerca
#15 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador de Belvis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador de Belvis

Address: Rua Trompas 5, 15703, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: £41 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirador de Belvis 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bright, simple hotel is located close to the historic centre of Santiago de Compostela, which include its world-famous Cathedral. Surrounded by the streets of the city’s ancient heart, the Miradoiro de Belvís provides a great, central setting for your visit. Its terrace offers views over this ancient and atmospheric pilgrimage destination. Light and airy rooms come with simple decor and cooling wooden floors – ideal for relaxing after a day’s sightseeing in the Galician capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mirador de Belvis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing