We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good service, nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel America Vigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel America Vigo
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently and was very happy. As others have said, the location is great. I had a large room at the corner of the hotel, with a *big* bathroom. There was also a decently-sized table in the room that offered plenty of space in case you need to do any work. The TV had some international channels, but for some reason the only German one (ZDF) wasn't available. There's no fridge in the room (at least I didn't see one) but a fridge with complementary bottles of cold water is located on each floor. (You can also help yourself to some fruits - nice!)
Breakfast is on the 7th floor - with lots of yummy Spanish goodies, fruit juices, fruit salad, yoghurts, and the like. Items are nicely presented and there's plenty of everything. The coffee seemed to be filter coffee - an espresso-machine based brew would have made me even happier.
On the whole, this hotel gives the impression that the management is making a real effort to please their guests.
The single major negative aspect of the whole stay was the wireless Internet access. It is free - which is good, and how it should be in today's time! - but the speed and reliability of the connection was pretty atrocious. It wasn't fast enough for a Skype call, and even chat messages occasionally took a long time to get through because the connection seemed to have been interrupted. Other guests appear not to have had such a negative experience with the Internet - so I'm still giving 5 "stars" to this hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    117
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
98
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Right between Plaza de Compostela and the seaside lies this beautiful little town hotel in Vigo. It is situated in a reduced-traffic area, so there is almost no traffic noise, yet you can drive all the way up to the entrance.

The hotel is very clean, the staff very helpful and yet reserved (in a downright positive way!), and the room service not pricey at all. I normally don't make use of room service, but where else do you get a decent salad for only 4,90 €? The rooms are not all that spacious, but modernly furnished, with a nicely illuminated back panel behind the bed. Good mattresses, and a TV with lots of (mostly Spanish, or Galician) channels.

Since there are some bars around this area, it can stay noisy until late on the weekend, so sleeping with an open window may not be possible for some. But that's about the only negative thing I can say about Hotel América.

What else... Free water, free fruits, and free wifi on every level. Plus a small but yummy breakfast buffet on the hotels' roof. I went there in the middle of september and since Vigo is as far west as it can possible get in Europe, the sun rose not until 8.30h. So you can sleep in long and still be on the hotels' roof to have breakfast at sun-rise.

To sum it up: This hotel gives you a more-than-a-three-star feeling. I did not expect this at all in Vigo so I was pleasanly surprised. And one last thing: Even in case you're in Vigo on a business trip, if you find the time, go for a half-a-day trip to the Illas Cies. It's really worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaltDisno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Ilan Univesity
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel was a great find; it was one of the hotels of the conference I've attended, and turned out great choice. The quality of service, furnishing, and breakfast was excellent. Breakfast in particular was fun - in a top floor balcony (but seating is mostly insider, a/c..., still with views of sea). And I liked the food - great fresh orange juice (really freshly squeezed), nice cheese collection, etc. (not too much meats etc - if you care - I don't).

It isn't very large and it isn't right on the beach but I asked (and received) room with view of sea which was real nice, the room inside was very clean, modern, nice. Really a gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assoc-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here one night as we made our way from Santiago to Porto. Nice modern feel, very comfortable surroundings, and very clean with the basic amenities (free bottled water and apples), decent continental breakfast soda, great view from the rooftop dining area. Close to the action along the water. Would stay here again if we were ever to visit Vigo again (not likely though). GREAT VALUE!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly_from_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
119 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel really deserves four stars (I do not understand why do they have only three). Located in the very center of the city, the old town is just five minutes away, the port is 0,5 minutes walk. This the excellent place if you want to have a hotel at fair place at fair price.

The hotel staff is really nice, they are very helpful. The rooms are clean, specious and the interior is well chosen. They do not have a minibar (who cares?) but they offer free apple and bottled mineral water.

A really nice experience: I had to left really early and they asked me if they can prepare a breakfast for me in the morning before I leave. This is not a question that you often hear. I definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumbi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Only stayed one night in Vigo, as we were catching the early morning train the next day from Vigo to Porto. It was hard to find the hotel, as there are no entry signs everywhere in the streets surrounding the hotel. Once found , we parked easily just outside, so we could unload our bags.

The hotel room was clean, but the aircon wasn't working too well (only realised when we got home after dinner at 11pm). We didn't tell management as they had already informed us at check in that they were fully booked, so we couldn't have moved rooms anyway, and we just wanted to get to bed. So with the window open, despite it being a quiet area at night, the noise from cars was noticable, and we didn't get a great night's sleep. It was about a 25 minute walk to the train station with bags.

The best part of our stay was the excellent meal we had for dinner at a restaurant/wine bar a few doors down from the hotel, called "la trastienda del cuatro". Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepe_of_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The quality of the hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff was very competent and friendly and all services turned out to be of excellent quality. Wi-fi worked perfectly and the breakfast was fantastic. Plus, location could not be better. An excellent choice for any visitor in Vigo.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaboSantiago_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
2.4 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#7 of 44 in Vigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#5 of 44 in Vigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America Vigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America Vigo

Property: Hotel America Vigo
Address: Rua Pablo Morillo 6, 36201 Vigo, Spain (Formerly Silken America Vigo)
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America Vigo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the the city center of Vigo with exceptional location in the financial and port area. Located between the Plaza Compostela and the maritime station, pier leading out to the Cies Islands and Old town, are just 100 metres away. Spacious luxury rooms with large desk, natural wood floor stereo and screen TV with Canal +. Free fruit and water in the corridors of the floors. Easy access to major roads, port and airport as well as to the beaches of the Ria de Vigo. Great views from the breakfast terrace. the cost of the parking is 13€ and it has limited places. free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel America Vigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing