We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street traffic in your room!”
Review of Hotel Oca Ipanema

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oca Ipanema
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
c
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Street traffic in your room!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was on the 2nd floor and I thought the road traffic was inside my room.
The street outside if uphill, and the car noise easily comes through the poor window insulation.
I could also hear all lobby noise through my room door - in short, didn't sleep much.
The other reason I couldn't sleep much was that the air-con unit was REALLY noisy, so after half an hour or so you have a choice between headache from air-con noise or from street noise.
Leaving your sleepless night behind, I hoped for a refreshing breakfast. For the 130 Euros PER NIGHT that I paid, I expected decent buffet.
WRONG again. This was one of the worst hotel buffets I have ever seen.
The coffee smelled burned, the juices were not real juices, the choice of bread was...baguette, and if you didn't like any of the above, you could also have a 'cheaper by the dozen' industrial standard magdalena cake.
I changed hotel after two nights. The other hotel was further from the centre, but the 5 extra euros for the taxi were well well worth it!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seasonedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    55
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
39
53
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perhaps because both times I stayed here, I had rooms with a view of the ria and the mountains beyond, I absolutely love this place. Rooms are attractive and uncluttered, and all the fixtures are modern and work properly. And the location--a few blocks from the Gran Via and just a block from the Corte Ingles--could hardly be better.

Room Tip: Ask nicely for "un habitación con vista del mar" and the pleasant staff will do what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novid_manu
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel is good for the price you pay and is cloe to many cafes and restaurants as well as the city centre. The room is ok but lacks a place to sit. The breakfast is expensive and there are places nearby you can get a better breakfst for a better price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novid_manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a fairly odd place, half way up a very steep hill in Vigo, but not too far from downtown area. It was only 47 Euro for Bed and Breakfast so its value for money. Beds are OK, rooms are spartan and bathroom needs an update. Main problem is noise levels, the lift sounds like a drill and runs all night and also bathroom noise is high......take some rarplugs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Confortable bedroom, but with no place to seat except for a unconfortable chair. Beds are nice but it is not too easy to sleep because of the noises from the street but also from nearby bedrooms (poor sound insulation).
The common areas of the hotel could use a new decor.
The car parking spaces are extremely narow.
Hotel location is not close enough to city center when compared to most hotels in Vigo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I was in Ipanema hotel in the begining of June for a couple of nights. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful; the rooms were decent and clean. Breakfast is basic. It's a walking distance from the downtown and shopping streets. Price/Quality very goody (50eur/night/double). You can have secured/closed parking for more 10eur/day. It's a very nice 3* and we definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana09brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The reviews on Trip Advisor provided an accurate review of Hotel Ipanema and was helpful to us in choosing a budget hotel. Since we weren't in the hotel much beyond sleeping hours, this hotel was just fine. Very small room for the two of us, but very clean, comfortable beds and a quiet hotel overall. The road construction below was a bit bothersome but since were outside all day long walking, we slept hard and the noise didn't really bother us. Nice and simple place. Decent restaurant, good wine. Good location, just a couple of blocks off Gran Via Road and Urzaiz Street, where you could walk to dozens of shops, pharmacies and restaurants. Management and lobby staff spoke decent English, but restaurant staff did not. Free WiFi provided.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix231310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mexico Vigo
Hotel Mexico Vigo
#23 of 44 in Vigo
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Vigo Los Galeones Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tres Luces Hotel
Tres Luces Hotel
#25 of 44 in Vigo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celta
Hotel Celta
#29 of 44 in Vigo
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#35 of 44 in Vigo
58 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#4 of 44 in Vigo
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oca Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oca Ipanema

Property: Hotel Oca Ipanema
Address: Rua Vazquez Varela 31-33, 36204 Vigo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oca Ipanema 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located next to the English Court, the Xeral Hospital and Ave stations. familiar.Perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oca Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing