We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!!”
Review of Hotel Ogalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ogalia
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel!!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Excellent hotel in the heart of Vigo, Spain. Centrally located, at walking distance from all of the main attractions of this lively city. You have access to the Renfe train station, so you can move around Galicia with convenience.
El Corte Ingles, La Gran Via, Principe Street, the old city, Lolatino, 20th Century, La Estrella de Galicia...all within walking distance.
I stayed there for business with a group of colleagues (8 of us). Service was great and is compared to any 5-star hotel. Rooms are comfortable and very, very clean. Service is very personable, the staff really made all of us feel at home.
What I liked best? - the service. The staff goes above and beyond to satisfy your needs.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yve401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    64
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
52
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

I stayed in this hotel for a week and booked it based and trip advisor reviews. I wasn't disappointed. I chose the location to visit my son who was living about half a mile away. I found it difficult to park and ended up walking from a nearby car park. You can use the railway station car park, but get a voucher from the hotel for 8 euros first as it is cheaper. On arrival the staff were pleasant and welcoming and directed me to my room. I had asked for a quiet room on a upper floor and that is exactly what I got at the back of the hotel, although no outlook. The road at the front of the hotel is busy during the day and with a night club opposite I would imagine rooms on the front could be noisy although the hotel is air conditioned and so you could shut the window. The lobby/lounge/bar and dining room run into one and were very clean and tidy. Breakfast is fairly basic but only 3.50 euros. There is also a hotel next door and several cafes nearby which do breakfast. Vigo is a lively busy city, with lots of hills so you need to be reasonably fit!. The Gran Via nearby contains a variety of shops including the famous El Cortes Ingles department store. The main shopping centre is nearby in another direction. There are plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. Vigo is a busy working city set in a ria with views of the surrounding estuary, islands (Islas Cies for example). I would recommend the Ogalia as a good base for also visiting the surrounding area.

  • Liked — Modern clean and convenient
  • Disliked — Difficult to park
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swanseabayview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2007

I and 2 others stayed there on business for 2 nights. We didn't know what to expect never having stayed at a 2 star before. We got a great welcome even though the receptionist didn't speak english!
The 3 of us were pleasantly surprised by the rooms , very comfortable.
I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AudioLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

If you need an affordable, clean, modern and friendly hotel in Vigo, choose this one. The staff was polite, efficient and helpful. From reservation to checkout, the stay was effortless....more than can be said for other hotels throughout Spain. They have a good, simple restaurant inside too. Close to everything. Highly recommended for all traveler tastes.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lazlototh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2007

No problems with this hotel. Modern clean room with basic decoration.
Great location, next to the main shopping streets and station. Local area felt safe at night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room furniture had slightly awkward layout.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Great hotel!
Very clean, modern, nice and friendly!
Just meters from Grand Via, very close to Corte Inglês, the train station and lots of restaurants and bars.
For just 37€ per night!!!
That's the way!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LMAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
149 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2006

Arriving in Vigo during the July heatwave, I checked the 3-star hotel down the street from the station, and they offered a room for 62 euros WITHOUT aircon. The extremely helpful staff called the Ogalia, and got me a room with aircon for 39 euros.

The Ogalia is a modern, business hotel with excellent rooms in the style of Marriots and Holiday Inns (very nice, but not much character). The bathroom is large and modern. The only strange thing is the light goes on with a sensor automatically, and stays on 15 minutes after you leave the bathroom. I found this out after searching for the light switch. Odd, but this is a great room with excellent aircon (control in room).

The hotel is about a 3 minute walk from the train station in the direction of the main town. You can see everything easily on foot. The old city is about a 15-20 minute walk (down the main boulevard), and the spectacular fortress park about a 20 minute walk (uphill - of course).

There is a very noisy club across the street, but the windows are completely sound proof - didn't hear a thing. However, you do not want to stay at the other cheaper hotels on the street.

There is a more expensive 3 star Zenit hotel 2 minutes away, at the beginning of the main boulevard, but I'm not sure how much you would be getting for the extra money. I've stayed at other Zenits, and think the Husa chain is just as good.

I didn't try the restuarant, but since I was getting an early morning train to Vianna, they served me an expresso at 6am.

I would definitely stay at the Ogalia again.

  • Liked — Price with aircon, location, modern room and bath
  • Disliked — No traditional character
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#6 of 44 in Vigo
406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#4 of 44 in Vigo
600 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coia Hotel
Coia Hotel
#5 of 44 in Vigo
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
833 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Mar de Vigo
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ogalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ogalia

Property: Hotel Ogalia
Address: Rua Lepanto 10, 36201 Vigo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ogalia 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ogalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Ogalia Vigo
Husa Ogalia Hotel Vigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing