We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novel and fun experience!”
Review of Con Dios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Con Dios
Ranked #1 of 3 Gibraltar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Twin cabin with shared bathroom. The room was tiny as you would expect on a boat, but it was clean and comfortable. The owners are so friendly.
Excellent location just steps from great pubs and restaurants. The only inconvenience is walking to the shower building, but it was spotless. Gibraltar is expensive, but the cabin on Con Dios fit our budget. Everything was exactly as advertised.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IllinoisTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Con Dios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay aboard Con Dios. We stayed for 3 nights, in the Stateroom, as advised by previous reviewers. It was great. Ok, so it's not a 5* hotel, it's a boat. Which is just a great experience. Being gently rocked to sleep at night. The harbour has some fantastic food & drinks, plenty of choice, but not too noisy to stay. Nice cosy room, kind of like being in a caravan. What you see in the photos, is what you get. Everything is clean & tidy, and nothing is too much trouble. And yes, it's a marine toilet, but you are shown how to work it, with instructions on the wall too. If you use it properly you won't have an 'awful stench' as mentioned in a previous review. If you don't flush properly, of course it will smell! There are currently works going on in the harbour, but they start and finish at a reasonable hour. There is a local shop that has just about everything you need.
I would highly recommend this place. As I said, it is not a 5* hotel, but is certainly a 5* experience, with 5* hosts, who actually appreciate your stay, and will give you as much information as you ask for.
Thanks Jill & John, I already have friends asking when we are returning, so they can come with us...

Room Tip: The stateroom is great, but although the other rooms are smaller, this is in a cosy way, rather than...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have stayed twice on Con Dios..it's a fantastic place to stay, excellently situated to explore Gibraltar and the surrounding area. Jill and John are fantastic hosts and really know the area well, so you will never be short of ideas for what to do.

I heartily recommend this experience to anyone wanting to visit the area and the experience of being gently rocked to sleep by the waves at night is one that everyone should have at least once in their lifetime. I'll be going back again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Da_Skinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

me and my son stayed there last week and we both thought it was a great experience.my son is 13 and he really thought it was the highlight of his holiday its the first time he has ever stayed on a boat and was a bit more interesting than staying in just another hotel.the owners are friendly and made us feel welcome the price is very reasonable.we would def stay there again its not the rock hotel so dont expect that style .we recommend it

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ramsey633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This old boat has better rooms apparently but the starboard stateroom is absolutely horrible. Leaving luggage on the aft deck is an inconvenience that affects the forward staterooms including the starboard one. It is small with twin berths that are okay but there is only one port (window) and it was hot and stuffy. They give you a ridiculous fan but that means the one outlet is used and you cannot charge anything. The breakfast is a couple of bowls with some cereal if you want it but we went out and were delighted to do so. But this is the big kicker: it absolutely reeks of a horrible stench from the toilet. It is awful so they put in an automatic air freshener that pumps out regular bursts of a gagging chemical flower scent. One night is a lifetime supply of this place.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in the State Room of the Con Dios. Both Jill & John were excellent hosts. We will never forget our great experience with them and hope one day to re-visit Gibraltar. Such a neat experience.

Room Tip: We found the State Room to be a wonderful choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Extremely well situated for touring Gibraltar. Jill & John were excellent hosts and offered quality accommodation aboard their boat. Flew with Monarch and the landing was a highlight, ask for a window seat to get the most out of the flight.

The weather was superb if a little too hot for hiking up and down The Rock.

Plenty of bars and restaurants, Gibraltar can be lively at night but there are some quiet spots to be had, just go off the beaten track and they're there.

Try it, (the boat and Gibraltar) it is different but in a good way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.0 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Con Dios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Con Dios

Address: Marina Bay, PO Box 80, Gibraltar GX11 1AA
Region: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gibraltar
Price Range: £74 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Con Dios is a Bed & Breakfast boat permanently moored in Marina Bay Gibraltar. It provides a relaxing comfortable stay. Great location to explore Gibraltar and Spain. Reasonable rates. A unique accommodation opportunity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Con Dios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Dios Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing