We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night business trip”
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Two night business trip”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

First time staying in this hotel and wasn't disappointed. Location is out with the main town centre but only a couple of pounds in a taxi. My room was excellent - clean, modern, wit a balcony looking over the sea. Amenities were also very good- we had a business function in the ballroom area at which wonderful tapas were served also tried the bar menu for lunch and it was fine. One small complaint was the lack of "residents bar" at night. We resorted to a very highly priced ( considering the rock is duty free!) mini bAr in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    415
    186
    77
    53
See reviews for
186
490
36
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I made the decision to travel to Gibraltar a month ago to be wed, just the two of us. There was no competition in picking the venue. The Caleta offers a fantastic package designed just for the like of us. Everything is organised for you - flowers, photographers, cake, meals, bridal suite, hair, makeup etc!

The whole experience, from booking right through to our big day, was stress free, easy and perfect. The staff at the hotel were really helpful, made us feel so welcome, and it was like ours was the only wedding in the world!

I would highly recommend the hotel for couples like ourselves who want a simple, peaceful, private wedding. There isn't one thing that I would change about our day, and I thank the staff at the Caleta for making it exactly how I dreamed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel offers everything you could need for a relaxing short trip to Gibralter, the hotel is located close to the town centre in little Genoa. There is. A couple of bars and a coffee shop in the village that can be accessed via the hotel. The seaview rooms offer superb views overlooking the sea as the hotel located right on the sea.

The communal areas such as the bar and dinning rooms are very comfortable offering a good selection of melas and wines and spirits at reasonable prices. There is wifi access more or less throughout the hotel which is free to guests.

Some of the areas are a bit in need of refurb however I was there out of season and maybe in high season these things will be addressed. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel reception and taxi can be ordered at reception.

It was a great break at the hotel and the stff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if you can it is worth the extra, as the view is beautiful, the rooms are big and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 663Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at the Caleta to attend a friends wedding. Good basic room with sea view. Breakfast was good value (Continental). Hotel staff very helpful (especially when we needed a taxi to take us to the wedding because we were late). sea water pool and a short walk to the beach, Good bars nearby and regular bus service into town.
Would we stay again..definitely

Room Tip: If you don't want the hassle of getting bus or taxi into town then this is not the hotel for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stayed in this hotel for five days whilst we stayed in Gibraltar for a relatives wedding which took place in the hotel. The room was spotless and the facilities were brilliant including room service and a mini bar. Every morning the breakfast was delicious and there was an excellent selection of fruits, cereals and savoury snacks. The service was fantastic. The greatest thing about this hotel is the location it faces Morocco to the right and the Southern Spanish Coast to the left and it's only a ten minute walk to the centre of Gib whilst not being too close to the centre without it being crowded and noisy , and not to mention the fantastic little alley that takes you down to Catallan Bay. Overall fantastic.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Epicpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful holiday room was nice and clean needs a little touching up though, breakfast was a bit of a let down not much choice but over all lovely relaxing stay. View from hotel room was stunning looking out across to Africa we watched the fish in the sea from our room

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We got married in Gibraltar in August. What a wonderful week! We stayed at the Caleta on the recommendation of our Wedding Planner Monica, at Hour Weddings. She wasn't wrong, my goodness they looked after us. My husband suffered a life threatening illness 12 weeks before the wedding, leaving him in a wheelchair - the hotel could not have been more helpful. They moved us to a room with great disabled access and made sure we had everything we needed, and more besides. We stayed from 2 days before the wedding to 4 days after and every single day was special. On my wedding day I felt like a princess. Special thanks to Kevin - your such a star! Our room - and the 4 our guests stayed in was spotless - beautiful in fact.
We had SUCH a great stay we went back for Remembrance weekend earlier this month, again it was beautiful. This time my husband was on his feet and the absence of the wheelchair was noted by staff - personal touch is rare. Great food in the bar, great service throughout, perfect weekend that left us refreshed and rested. We will be back very soon. Thank you so much to everyone at the Caleta.
If I had a down side it would be that it is pricey to stay - but all the good hotels on Gibraltar are pricey - fact of life.
It is out of town a little too, we like that, but if you want to be in the heart of things you won't get that here - but it is only a 5 minute car ride or the bus stops right outside the front door - every hour or half hour I think.
Being out of town makes it very quiet - some of the more central hotels have traffic noise problems. That's personal preference.
On the whole - Caleta you have a regular.

Room Tip: The hotel is in "wings" some rooms are up or down stairs - if you need a lift ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,160 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Property: Caleta Hotel
Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Region: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing