We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A geat place to stay”
Review of Caleta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caleta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A geat place to stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have just returned from 11 nights at the Caleta Hotel. It is a great place to stay. Overlooking the sea, and with easy access to the lovely beach at Catalan Bay, it cannot be bettered for location in Gibraltar.

As other reviewers have stated, the Hotel is tired and needs a 'make over'. That said, it does its very best. It is spotlessly clean and the staff (generally speaking) are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    420
    186
    77
    54
See reviews for
191
497
36
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Let me start by saying all the staff were friendly and helpful and our room on the 5th floor was of a decent standard. However, this hotel is tired and feels unloved, the bar and terrace areas are dated and in a poor decorative state, the "award" winning restaurant on the lower level resembles a mausoleum and has a similar atmosphere. I gather that there are major plans to develope the site , it would appear that guests will just have to put up with things as they are until the plans come to fruition. This hotel is no 4 star rating by any stretch of the imagination - even the sea view isn't great when you take in the view beyond the beach to what looks like the local tip and public car park.

Management at least get the painters in to freshen the place up - you rely too heavily on the cliff top location and the dedication of the staff - that's really not good enough.

Room Tip: Say a prayer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had stayed in this lovely hotel way back in 2005 for almost 8 days due to delay in our onward journey. A little bit away from the downtown ( though distances hardly matter on "The Rock"). Extremely courteous front desk staff. Though, being a vegetarian, I didn't have much options in dining, yet the Hotel allowed for my meals to be delivered from an Indian Take away in City Center :) All rooms facing the sea present a truly awesome vista!! The restaurant also overlooks the sea and in my mind, it was only a second away from being swamped by the huge waves!! A truly awesome experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Land in Gibraltar is at a premium and the Caleta has a unique location, as far as the Rock is concerned. Most of the hotels or located on the Rock; with the new Sunborn yacht located at the marina perhaps being the exception. The latter is also in a higher budget range however! The Caleta has magnificent views of the sea if one pays the extra for a sea view room. If you're on the rock-facing side I regret to say that you might not get the full experience, so the upgrade is worthwhile in my opinion.

These reviews can be very lengthy, so here are the main reasons I rate the hotel highly (in no particular order):

1. It is on the quieter side of Gibraltar
2. It still has all the facilities nearby that one would expect: regular bus services into the main city, really good restaurants on the Beaver Promenade and a local shop nearby (also on the promenade).
3. Beaver Promenade is on your doorstep, with a private access down to Catalan Bay beach from the hotel. The promenade has a wonderful combination of the British sea-front style with the Mediterranean style. It's definitely worth a visit.
4. The rooms are surprisingly big.
5. The unique views of the sea are fantastic (if you have a sea view balcony room)
6. Really good restaurant with very posh food!
7. Very nice staff, particularly in Nunos Restaurant
8. Room service is worth doing as a special treat to yourself one night :D

Some things to bare in mind, however:

1. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation. Not all the rooms are yet upgraded as of June 2014.
2. Pubs such as the Seawave on Beaver Promenade are significantly cheaper than the hotel bar.
3. Bed was maybe slightly harder than I would have liked

I'd also like to say that the food was outstanding and I miss Nunos already!

Final tips: If you are looking for day trips, consider Blands Travel. Also, watch your bag if you go up The Rock. Monkeys can get into just about anything and associate them with food.

Room Tip: Definitely try pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SummerSon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely location for a hotel almost set into the Rock. Little bit out of town but bus stop outside hotel which, runs frequently. Bedroom had a sea view across the Straits. Beautiful sunrise and sunset could be seen. Has a lovely clean pool and access to beach from pool area. 4 star hotel but looking tired. Renovations and updating hotel plans can be viewed in the reception. Very good breakfast plenty of food, full English or Continental. Staff friendly. Enjoyed our stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel, room, staff and breakfast fab!!! Booked late with me mum n dad and the kids. We all enjoyed the facilities and the rooms were excellent so comfortable. As with other posts when the fog cones down the ships do signal their presence however I have to say this was on our departure day so was not an issue.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely views and the staff were friendly and very helpful.
Our room was a decent size, and very clean.
It looks like the hotel will soon be under complete renovation, so would be even better then.
Good location, only a small taxi ride to ocean village which had some really nice bars and restaurants.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosselliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.1 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,853 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,186 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Hotel

Property: Caleta Hotel
Address: Sir Herbert Miles Road, PO Box 73, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Region: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing