We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunborn 4 night stay”
Review of Sunborn Gibraltar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunborn Gibraltar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Finedon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunborn 4 night stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First the bad. Mini bar, coffee and tea etc not restocked during stay. Toiletries not restocked during stay. Tried to watch tv in room, it kept going off and re-setting every several minutes. On last day could not get into room to check out after breakfast. Went down to reception, they said it was sorted. Guess what, had to go back down as it wasn't. They sent an engineer. He said the system hadn't been checked that morning and should have been?
By the time we checked out after all this we were running late with the airport pick up and made everyone else late which reflected badly on us. Not really 5 star is it. Not even offered any type of discount and reception didn't take any notes of the above information we told them.
This is a shame as the yacht is very nice and in a great location.
Two more warnings. Although it is not a fault of the Sunborn it can get noisy at night and in the mornings, and wait for this, five pounds for a small bag of crisps!
When they can get everything running smoothly it might be worth two hundred plus pounds a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timbo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mr. Timbo,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at Sunborn Gibraltar and for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay.

We highly appreciate your opinion on our hotel and services. Constructive criticism, positive and negative alike, is always welcome at the Sunborn, aiding us in improving, where improvement is needed, repairing, where repairs are necessary, and being proud of, what is worth being recognized.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences this might have caused you and kindly allow me to assure you that I have already discussed the issue with General Manager to take corrective actions.

Dear Guest, thank you once again for your valuable time and comments.

Should you plan to return to our hotel please do not hesitate to inform me of your next reservation, giving me the opportunity to make your stay more pleasurable.

With Warm Regards,

Miguel Puertas

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    334
    117
    35
    24
See reviews for
239
950
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife to be selected this Hotel, I had visions of a newly painted version of the Cross Channel Ferry but was over the moon when I saw how comfortably Sunborn nestles into the marina at Ocean Village. I know many residents were fearful of the affect it would have but I think being smaller that one of the buildings it is moored alongside it actually enhances the area.
Its well integrated into the Marina life but still stands apart its very cleverly done.
The common areas are well prepared, bright, new and modern décor, the rooms are stunning on levels 3 upward (these have a balcony), the staff are very helpful and the restaurant excellent. Although breakfast appears expensive its worth it, really!
We were greeted with champagne and strawberries in our room, this was after a welcoming glass of fresh orange juice served at reception!
I have actually booked a 2 day stay again for next year to celebrate our anniversary which should give you assurance that we were very happy there.

Room Tip: Choose a room on deck 3 and upward for a balcony, port side gives you more sun but O'Reilly'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suntrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mr. Suntrekka,

I am truly happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay at Sunborn Gibraltar!!

I thank you for pointing out our excellent breakfast. They are indeed a real asset for the hotel!

Regarding the special occasion for the next year my team will be very happy to fully personalise your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Miguel Puertas
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

WOW!

From the moment I arrived until my departure the Sunborn treated me like royalty. The hotel oozes class and style, the rooms are immaculate and luxurious and the decor throughout is beautiful. The hotel's location is ideally situated within Ocean Village, surrounded by bars, restaurants and a 5-10minute walk from Casemates Square.

I stayed in a superior room overlooking the sea, towards the runway and Spain - if you like watching planes it's brilliant, but even if you don't there are only 5 or 6 flights a day so you won't be bothered by plane noise etc.

As you would expect from a new hotel, everything is spotless throughout and it is kept this way with superb housekeeping services of the highest standard - all the toiletries were replenished daily (and plenty of them), the room was meticulously clean and the chrome in the shower/bathroom was polished to a perfect mirror finish every day. There was also a nightly turndown service to replenish toiletries and replace used towels etc. VERY impressive!

The room was well appointed...a massive and extremely comfortable bed, fridge/mini-bar, 40'' LCD TV, large safe, beautifully decorated throughout including plenty of lighting options and floor to ceiling large double patio doors with a balcony.
The room's "party piece" comes in the way they have seemlessly integrated so much technology into it. By the side of the bed is a colour touchscreen phone with controls for amongst other things...electrically opening/closing the two sets of curtains, setting the room to do not disturb/make up the room (a sign illuminates outside the door), climate controls to set the temperature and multiple light switches, which offer plenty of different settings, ranging from illuminating the 'dome' in the ceiling to floodfill the room to controlling the bathroom/shower to setting the concealed moodlights or even a nightlight! It's amazing!
In addition there is a tech panel built into the desk under the TV that allows you to plug in an hdmi cable (no need to fiddle around with the back of the TV). There is also a usb charging socket, modem plug and two (UK) power points - there are numerous sockets around the room, some of which are Euro plugs.
The room also features a Lavazza coffee machine!

There is a two-way mirrored door wardrobe - one side opens to the room and the other directly into the bathroom. With one or other door open, and even (just about) with both closed one can see from the room into the bathroom and vice-versa, which might concern some people from a privacy point of view. On this subject, be aware that there is no specific door to the bathroom, so one can walk from the room, round a corner and into an open bathroom.

The bathroom itself is wonderful...marbled appenditures, glass doors, chrome taps/controls and one of the best showers I have EVER encountered ANYWHERE...two shower heads - one traditional, one overhead 'rain'. Both are amazingly powerful, perfect temperature control and instead of a metal drain, there is a one inch gap in a square shape in the marble floor allowing water to slip away in style.

The staff throughout the hotel were simply awesome...they were so friendly, attentive and helpful at all times...a real asset to the hotel.

There are two bars...the Sapphire Bar, one floor up from the lobby - we found this was mostly deserted and often unstaffed. The Sky Bar on the top floor affords lovely views of the sea and Ocean Village. Both are quite pricey (5* hotel = 5* bar prices)...for example, £4 for a 33cl beer, around £10 for a single spirit and mixer and £57 for a bottle of 'house' Champagne. Given the location of the hotel, there are lots of bars nearby with better prices and also nice views, too.

The restaurant, whilst being a lovely setting with great views was not quite 5*...nice, but given the limited choice and not amazing quality (good, not great) I would not want to eat there more than once per stay. It is pricey for what it offers and the wines are also very much overpriced.

Breakfast was excellent and once again, the staff are superb and very attentive. A cold glass of Cava went down nicely!

As per most hotels, the mini-bar is extortionate though!

I only have a few criticisms that stop this being a perfect 10 out of 10 hotel.

1 The air conditioning is poor in the rooms and needs to be upgraded. I visited in May when temperatures outside are around 20-25 and despite setting the room's ac on full power and on the lowest temperature (11) it was always too warm, which despite having a superbly comfortable bed makes the sleep quality not as good as it could be. This will be a bigger issue in the summer!

2 No bathroom door. The open plan nature of the room is great but us Brits need a door to the bathroom, which can be done without losing the openness of the design.

3 As has been noted by other reviews, the corners of the beds stick out and you WILL kick them at some point.

4 The toilet seems a little high.

Overall, a great hotel with the potential to become amazing.
I look forward to returning in September.

Room Tip: Facing the runway is entertaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSBSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest PSBSi,

Thank you for taking the time to make once again such wonderful review about your last stay with us on Tripadvisor.

Have guests as great as you is an honor, and it is a pleasure to read that we keep surprising you with an excellent service in every new stay. We are very happy that you appreciate all our services, and specialty our polite and helpful staff , we truly believe they are the strongest point of Sunborn Gibraltar.

We will keep improving our services, so you can find your next experience with even better. It would be a pleasure and a great honor to have you once again at Sunborn Gibraltar as guest.

With Warm Regards,

Miguel Puertas
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a great time. The Sunborn was spectacular and comfortable and also attracted envious glances from holidaymakers on the airport shuttle when we were the only ones to get off there! Breakfast was AMAZING - and fortunately included in our price. Fruit, cereal, yoghurt, croissants, rolls, cakes, meat, etc, etc, and full cooked English.

We had the same three problems that everyone is reporting: The bed base is longer that the mattress and we each damaged our shins three or four times; I told the hotel to get some 3 inch fillers the full width of the bed and this would push the mattress to a place when the bed would no longer be hazardous. Secondly, the air conditioning was not working when we arrived, but they soon fixed it. Lastly, the TV kept going off every ten minutes or so, mostly returning within 30 seconds, but sometimes requiring an off/on switch. On the Sunday it was appalling, going off every two to 3 minutes. Unfortunately, reception staff were clueless as to why and blamed the “pirated” satellite signal in Gibraltar, atmospherics, etc. I know it does not cause problems elsewhere on Gib, but if management won’t admit that there are issues, they won’t get fixed.

But don't let that put you off. You won't be in the room much with everything Gibraltar has to offer. But take earplugs as the proximity of the quayside bars provided rowdy merriment until 4 a.m.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr Stephen,

Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and specially our breakfast and our overall services.

We would like to inform you that the hotel is working on these adjustments that needs to be improved and fixed in order to offer the best quality and service at all times.

We are thankful for your time, looking forward to welcoming you again at Sunborn Gibraltar!!

Warm Regards,

Miguel Puertas
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Cannot fault the hotel it was amazing.in a beautiful location. However the service was not 5 star. We did complain while we were there so I don't want to post too many negative comments. Many of the staff we dealt with seemed to have no idea of the hospitality trade so I would hope that in the coming months this will change.I have read many good comments so maybe my husband and I were just unlucky!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Ms Lynne,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing with us and other travellers your recent experience at Sunborn Gibraltar.

As you are well aware that we have recently open and our staff still learning from their faults.
Comments like yours certainly encourage our colleagues, who all have great focus for service excellence.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and delight you again in the near future.

Regards,
Miguel Puertas

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Ship is brand new and everything is kept very clean as you would expect with a 5 star hotel.

It is still in the pre opening phase and although there are some areas closed it did not make any difference to us. Apart from a few minor issues everything works smoothly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay for four days.

During the soft opening, room prices are heavily discounted, but I am not sure it would be value for money at the full rate. The pricing of drinks on board is a bit high, but the view from the top deck makes it acceptable, but the pricing of the mini bar is ridiculous. It is for most hotels, but £5 for a small packet of crisps??

All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, but particularly Gary, the concierge.

Room Tip: The view to the North is over the airport to the Spanish boarder, there are only about four flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr Kebab65 ,

thank you for finding our location convenient and our colleagues courteous.

We took serious notes of your comments about pricing drinks and minibars and have shared them with all department heads concerned. We really appreciate your constructive comments as customer satisfaction is one of our top priorities.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again and to provide you with the high level of service that you deserve,

With Kind Regards,

Miguel Puertas

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed 4 nights on a business trip. Could not fault the room or staff, and as for the view from the pool deck bar...excellent.

However, it can be noisy when the planes take off and land at the nearby airport, but these are few and only during the day.

Also, it is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Port (left) side of the boat would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr UKGHM,

thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel location and views.

Your feedback regarding the noise at the hotel rooms is well noted and has been shared with our Director of Engineering. we look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality.

Regards,

Miguel Puertas
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
1.2 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunborn Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunborn Gibraltar

Property: Sunborn Gibraltar
Address: Ocean Village, Gibraltar GX11 1AA
Region: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunborn Gibraltar 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored in Gibraltar's exclusive Ocean Village Marina, Sunborn Gibraltar is the perfect base from which to explore this historic peninsula. The yacht hotel's five-star provision extends from elegant guest accommodation to the magnificent on-board restaurants and bars, pool, day spa and sundeck, offering guests a rare opportunity to enjoy the ultimate luxury hotel experience in a stunning location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunborn Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing