We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome rooms, nice views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunborn Gibraltar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunborn Gibraltar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome rooms, nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed in the Sunborn for two nights this summer. Most services were available now, except the fitness center (but you get vouchers for an external center if you want). The rooms are just awesome, super modern, very nicely furnished and lit, with automatic curtains and an awesome bathroom. Especially the rooms located away from gibraltar are interesting, as you see an occasional aircraft taking off or landing from within your room. The bed was extremely comfortable, one of the best I ever had in a hotel, but as other reviewers pointed out, has a rather spiky corner that is not very leg-friendly. Unfortunately, there still seem to be some bugs in the room control system. For example, the room temperature always reseted back to 22 degrees after a few hours. Service was very good, except one receptionist, that rejected a dinner reservation in the hotel restaurant with "we don't do reservations at the reception". But after protesting, she managed to do it anyway. Dinner in the Sky Restaurant is very good, especially the waiter/sommelier Andreijev (I think) makes dining there a special experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxylept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Mr. oxylept,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear about a faulty and eventual service at the reception . Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards. Therefore when a guest tells us any problem, our goal is always to give the best solution in the shortest time possible.

So we apologize for the AC issue and assure you that your comments will be taken into account by our AC maintenance team so that it does not happen again.

Best regards from all Sunborn Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    299
    104
    33
    21
See reviews for
212
824
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from a nine day stay in Gib on the Sunborn. Stayed in a Deluxe Kingsize room and what a room. Beautiful room and a wow of a bathroom. I had no probs with the bathroom, but can understand the lack of privacy, with the glass doors.
We had a room with a balcony facing the runway, and slept with the doors open, but the light shades drawn. Everything is operated electronically, including the alarm, so be warned for a very loud alarm which can take a while to switch off. But that was a slight hitch, who needs an alarm when you are chilling?? In any case just ask at Reception for a wake up call, which is a gentler way to wake up.
Breakfast is plentiful, and I mean plentiful. Cooked breakfast, cold meats, pastries, fresh fruits, smoothies, every kind of juice, toast, crackers, rolls, muffins, waffles, pancakes, omelettes, bucks fizz, I could go on and on!
The staff in the restaurant are pleasant, courteous, willing to help, nothing is too much for them. The staff out in the pool bar are equally helpful and friendly. Gary, front of house and security, and Hitesh are two standouts; friendly, helpful and always smiling.
Unfortunately there are a few thing that need to be addressed. The shades up in the pool area are non-existent, and the pool was closed once because of "heavy" winds. Someone should have done their homework, easterly winds in Gib can be very strong. Some of the floorboards up in the pool area are coming loose and I agree that there are not enough sun loungers. But we were able to find some every time. Luck of the draw, I guess.
We only ate in the Restaurant our last evening on board, and I can safely say that it was one of the two best meals we had in Gib, the other was down in Camp Bay at the Dolphin. The food was expensive but delicious. Make it cheaper without wine!
Housekeeping is a little hit and miss as sometimes the room had not been made up/turned down by the time we returned. But when done, the room was pristine.
Yes the spa and gym facilities were absent but hopefully these should be up and running by the time we return next year.
What I did miss was a public lounge area, there is only a side of the top restaurant set aside for this.
But overall, we had a great time and look forward to returning for another stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the runway are quieter as it can be a little noisy if you face the Ocean Village side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanita30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Ms. Llanita30,

From Sunborn team we want to give our many thanks for having submitted your comments.
We try to improve every day always offering excellence, that's why every opinion or comment is of a great importance to us.

We really appreciate your review and especially for your kind comments about our staff, specially Gary and Hitesh, our facilities and our gastronomy. We work really hard to offer the best service to guests like you.

We do try to provide a sun beds facilities for our in house guests but as we are still in soft opening we are still waiting for new orders for all the bars and restaurants.

We really sorry about your turn down service housekeeping , we can assure that all internal procedures had been performed correctly as soon as possible.

Looking forward to welcome you very soon at our hotel,

Miguel Puertas
Guests Relations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have stayed in Gibralter many times and i have experiecend many of the hotels. I was lucky enough to stay at the sunborn recently and i have to say it was fantastic.

The position is great right in the centre at the port a short walk from casemates and lots of bars and reasturants on your doorstep.

The yacht is very luxurious, the rooms are of a very high quality and the beds are very comfortable.

We had a view out towards the runway, it was not bad at all or noisey and infact a very nice view.

The breakfast on offer was amazing and of very high quality, dinner onboard was very good but one for a special occaision as its a little nouvo!

the sun deck area is small and the pool is really a very large square jacuzzi but for cooling down on a hot day it is perfect.

If you can push the budget and choose the yacht i would for sure its much better placed than other hotels like the rock and caleta and you definitly won't find better quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_travel_agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Mr. UK_travel_agent,

I am truly happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay at Sunborn Gibraltar.

I thank you for pointing out our excellent facilities!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Puertas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 day stay in a junior suite on the Sunborn. Three adults had a great time on both the ship and Gib as a whole and will definitely return. The ship is still only partly completed which seems to be causing a lack of atmosphere in the bars and restaurant. We ate in the restaurant at peak time on Saturday night and only two other tables were occupied with the remainder of a huge restaurant and bar area completely empty. The food and service was excellent, so I do hope they can encourage more people to improve the overall ambience. After dinner we visited the 3rd floor bar, which is another vast bar area and we were the only guests for the majority of a 2 hour stay.

Pros of ship:
Spotless all over ship
Beautiful and exclusive pool area
Nice attention to detail in the rooms with marble etc.
Friendly and helpful staff

Cons of ship:
Pool area is very small (only about 12 sunbeds), so prob not enough room when the ship is full
Ridiculous idea of having no bathroom doors to separate the bedroom from bathroom
See through toilet and shower doors - no privacy whatsoever from whoever you are sharing with.
Lacks atmosphere - hopefully this will be resolved when ship is finished.
Expensive drinks - £11 for a cocktail. (Bruno's bar is approx 2 mins walk and charges £5.50 for TWO cocktails)

Overall the experience is worth the expense and I shall return when the ship is fully finished.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank steveb182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Mr. steveb182,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review, we always appreciate feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always happy to hear about your experience.

we are very sorry for the inconvenient occurred during your stay. The architecture of the hotel has been provided by top European designers where they tried to create a comfortable and modern environment.

Moreover, we take in consideration your suggestion about drinks rates.
Please find Sunborn Gibraltar as your second home.
Warm regards,

Miguel Puertas
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Sunborn Luxury Yacht Hotel, Gibraltar; husband, myself and our two daughters age 13 and 10. It was quite simply the most exceptional hotel experience we have ever had (and we are well travelled). The level of service was exemplary (Gary in particular at front of house), the food sublime, our room (an executive) was just beautiful and more than big enough to accomodate us all with a huge luxury appointed and 'blingtastic' bathroom, and the location of the yacht was just perfect, right in the heart of the Marina and just a short stroll from all the main sights in Gibraltar. We knew when booking that some of the facilities on board would not be available (spa and one of the restaurants will open later in the year) however this did not in any way marr our stay. This hotel ticks all the boxes and much more; quite simply superb!

Room Tip: All the rooms on the yacht come with exceptional views of either the marina or the rock. Most have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Wendy b,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind words on the web. It was a pleasure to welcome you amongst us.

Your lovely comments concerning our services and the personal assistance by our staff attendants have been share with our team and they appreciate your acknowledgement of their continued efforts. We are very proud to hear that we offered you an enchanting stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again soon to our Super Yacht for a new experience!!

Sincerely yours,

Miguel Puertas

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed with my family in a suite on the Sunborn and was so delighted with the suite and the wonderful experience of staying on a 5 star yacht. The suite itself was very tastefully designed to give you the feeling of being on the High Seas.
Only had breakfast however they proved to be again another fantastic experience The food was delicious and catered to everyone's taste.
A time for sunbathing and the experience of watching the planes take off and land whilst you are sunbathing was indeed a sight to behold

Highly recommended for that 'special occasion'

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieMcCauleyCummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mrs Ellie,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions on the web following to your stay at Sunborn Gibraltar.

We are delighted that your overall experience at our hotel has been a success and that you enjoyed the unique atmosphere of our property.

Thank you for highlighting the different advantages of our location and the professionalism of our team as well as giving tips to our potential future guests.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back to Sunny Sunborn Gibraltar !!

Best regards,

Miguel Puertas

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Everyone was nice and attentive. WiFi was poor everywhere. We couldn't access the gym. We could not use the elevators, even saw people stuck in them. This hotel should be discounted until they get everything squared away! On the positive side, I truly believe that this place will be an asset to Gibraltar and great place to stay once they are fully up and running!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_morace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P, Guest Relations Manager at Sunborn Gibraltar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr. J_morace,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my deepest apology as the image of our hotel was not up to your expectation.

I regret that you left with a negative impression and please know that regaining your trust and faith in our hotel is very important to us.

Before September ends our Spa and gym will be operational. I will be glad to hear that you come back and let me plan for you an special Spa tour to discover the Sunborn Spa Experience.

We certainly look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Miguel Puertas

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.8 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunborn Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunborn Gibraltar

Property: Sunborn Gibraltar
Address: Ocean Village, Gibraltar GX11 1AA
Region: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunborn Gibraltar 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored in Gibraltar's exclusive Ocean Village Marina, Sunborn Gibraltar is the perfect base from which to explore this historic peninsula. The yacht hotel's five-star provision extends from elegant guest accommodation to the magnificent on-board restaurants and bars, pool, day spa and sundeck, offering guests a rare opportunity to enjoy the ultimate luxury hotel experience in a stunning location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunborn Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing