We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't see a single dolphin.”
Review of Dolphin Adventure

Dolphin Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.81*
and up
Dolphin Watching Excursion in Gibraltar With Optional Top of The Rock Cable Car...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only dolphin company in Gibraltar to be awarded the Certificate of Excellence 3 years running, with the full 5 star bubble rating which puts us in the 10% of businesses listed with Trip Advisor WORLDWIDE. As seen on Channel 5's GIBRALTAR BRITAIN IN THE SUN! Several trips daily into the Bay and Strait of Gibraltar to see dolphins wild and free. There are hundreds of dolphins in the area that naturally come close to the boat playing in the waves, often leaping clear of the water in breath taking acrobatic displays. Dolphins are naturally curious and playful, it is often difficult to tell who is watching who! A totally amazing dolphin experience for the whole family that you will remember for ever ...Don't miss it!Our aim is give you the best possible views whilst maintaining a neutral level of intrusion to these beautiful creatures.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Didn't see a single dolphin.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We did the dolphin trip today we booked for 2pm..told to be there for 1.50. The boat didn't get in until about 2.07 and people were still arriving around 2.10

There was about 50. People on our boat and queue ing got a bit frantic with people pushing to the front, so much so the lady in charge had to shout at people to basically calm down! We were near the front but because people pushed past us they got on first and the woman in charge ignored us leaving us standing there for ages as she served all the people who pushed past us!

We went out drove around the bay and came back without seeing a dolphin or other wildlife..

We were given a ticket to come back in the future, however as most people come to gib once and the just for a day possibly two, most people got an expensive boat ride!

You can't help nature but the woman admitted to us quietly that the time of your was not good for seeing dolphins....

Oh well, the view of the rock was good, it was very cold and you get wet so wrap up warm even on a hot day! It can be windy and combined with getting wet lead you to being cold and miserable!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Owner at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, all comments are welcome, giving us the opportunity to address any issues. We are of course disappointed that you felt there were some negative points to you tour. The issue with boarding is being addressed, we have recently re located to the current berth and are implementing a boarding system where passengers can only board one way, at present there are two walk ways leading to the boat, this will be done this week. The boat that you sailed on is our new vessel with capacity and seating for 70 people so you should have found ample room aboard with a total of 51 passengers on that particular sailing at 72% capacity.

Sometimes when we struggle to find dolphins we will extend a tour slightly to improve the chances of a sighting. This would have been the reason that the boat was 7 minutes late getting to the dock. We will always try our best to balance out giving extended tours and delaying departures so I apologise for the delay.

When we do not see dolphins all clients get a complimentary ticket to join us again. We do appreciate that not all clients will be here the next day which is why our ticket has no expiry date. We do hope that people who can not return this time will join us on their next holiday. I do note from your other reviews that you spent several days in Gibraltar so it is a shame that this tour seemed to be one of your last excursions. I do hope that if you return we can take you again and show you our wonderful dolphins.

April can be the time of year when dolphins are a little scarcer in these waters and success rates go down from the 99.9% that we have for most of the rest of the year. Unfortunately, as you point out, wildlife in its natural habitat can not be guaranteed and we can only try our best.

Our staff are very dedicated and will be upset to find that your experience was disappointing. I would like to apologise on behalf of the whole team and do hope that you will return.

Yours sincerely

Angie Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    64
    15
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great trip”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

These people really care about the dolphins, they don't chase them or feed them. We sailed out on a new catamaran out to sea for about 45 mins and sat and waited , a pod of 50 came over to us and were playing around us. You can not guarantee to see them and if you don't they will give you a free pass for the next trip, day etc . Great commentary from expert marine biologists. Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Owner at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for the review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed the tour. The team work very hard to give you the best experience whilst not disturbing the dolphins in any way. As with the previous review customer comments make the guys know that their efforts are noticed by our visitors.

Many thanks again.

Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Dolphin Experience 2nd April 2014”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked online with the company as we were in Gibraltar on a cruise ship, the team on the boat were excellent and we were made very welcome on the entire trip.
We went out on a voyage at 12.30 pm and the dolphins proved to be a little elusive but after about 1 hour we made contact with some juvenile white stripped dolphins which darted around the boat and we were delighted to have seen them.
As we returned to the harbour we were offered the chance to stay on the boat for the next trip, the team explained that as we had only seen a few dolphins there was a chance we may see more.
We could not believe the tremendous spectacle we then observed, the crew are constantly searching for the dolphins with binoculars and after around 30 minutes of cruising they spotted a pod of dolphins around 2 miles away. we raced to the area and were treated to a spectacular display by bottle nosed dolphins, the pod comprised of numerous individuals which ranged from juveniles (who worked together and performed some very acrobatic leaps from the ocean in tandem) to family groups and mothers with babies.
We watched in awe for around 40 minutes as the group of dolphins were obviously comfortable with the boat and the team operating the vessel.
Rocio the lady crew member was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and ensured we were all able to obtain a vantage point to maximise our viewing time with the dolphins.
The crew were very helpful with a couple of passengers who had reduced mobility one of which used a wheelchair, this posed no problems for the individuals who were helped by the crew and were able to enjoy the experience along with the other passengers.
This trip was the highlight of our holiday and thanks to the Dolphin Adventure staff for whom nothing was to much trouble.
It was amazing to see wild dolphins in the ocean as it should be, with the staff constantly aware of protecting the dolphins environment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jacynth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Owner at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Dolphin Adventure and for giving us such a glowing reference! Our team are very dedicated and this feed back lets them know that their efforts are not going un noticed. I do remember you from the day and am so pleased that your experience was so 'magical'.

Maybe we will see you on your next cruise. happy sailing!

From Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“first time”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

my first time in gibraltar and dolphin watching.theboat is first rate and sowas the crew.very friendly,knew there stuff and we found dolphins.the sea was a bit choppy and theydidnot thinkwe wouldsee any.but bless them we did.we were the last sailing of the day and stayed out nearly two hours.well worth every penny.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for contributing a review for Dolphin Adventure.

It is customer feedback such as yours which has helped Dolphin Adventure gain a reputation for both excellent customer service and value for money.

Unlike other operators we do not blow our own trumpet , customer feedback as seen on Tripadvisor are a testament to our attitude, and comments such as yours are very useful to your fellow travellers.

Good to know that you enjoyed the trip so much and we sincerely hope you visit us again one day.

Thank you once again for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We went out with dolphin adventure, but unfortunately we were unlucky and didn't see any dolphins. The crew did their best to spot them, and we spent a long time out in the sea, but it wasn't meant to be.

No fear though as Dolphin Adventure guarantee to show you dolphins, so we had a free return ticket which could be used at any time in the future.

We decided to take a trip the next day whilst the weather was still nice, and we were in for a real treat. We found two lots of pods, they were happily swimming around the boat and diving in and out of the water, it was fabulous.

The crew were really friendly, offered coats to everyone and were knowledgeable with lots of good information about the dolphins.

The 'sales pitch' when we bought the tickets wasn't high pressure unlike the other company in the marina and our tickets even included a free cable car trip.

We had two fab trips out with Dolphin Adventure, the second obviously highlighted with the sighting of the dolphins.

Thanks Dolphin Adventure, we would recommend you to anyone who wanted a fab and friendly boat trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for such a positive review.

Though we have an extremely high success rate in locating and observing dolphins in the wild we are not always successful , our policy is to issue free tickets whenever we fail to locate these beautiful creatures.

As you witnessed our crews work extremely hard so as to not disappoint our customers, they are vey knowledgeable about the marine life in the area.

In our eyes the customer comes first.

Thank you once again for reviewing Dolphin Adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing