We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Adventure

Dolphin Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.79*
and up
Dolphin Watching Excursion in Gibraltar With Optional Top of The Rock Cable Car...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only dolphin company in Gibraltar to be awarded the Certificate of Excellence 3 years running, with the full 5 star bubble rating which puts us in the 10% of businesses listed with Trip Advisor WORLDWIDE. As seen on Channel 5's GIBRALTAR BRITAIN IN THE SUN! Several trips daily into the Bay and Strait of Gibraltar to see dolphins wild and free. There are hundreds of dolphins in the area that naturally come close to the boat playing in the waves, often leaping clear of the water in breath taking acrobatic displays. Dolphins are naturally curious and playful, it is often difficult to tell who is watching who! A totally amazing dolphin experience for the whole family that you will remember for ever ...Don't miss it!Our aim is give you the best possible views whilst maintaining a neutral level of intrusion to these beautiful creatures.
Polmont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Went around the bay for nearly 2 hours, but only saw 2 baby dolphins. This was more than enough for a 6 year old, but even so we received tickets for another day. Unfortunately we could not take advantage of this, but we didn't expect this gesture considering there is always a risk with wildlife. A very nice afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
The crew on your trip contacted us at the Marina prior to your return to inform us that in their view the outcome of the trip was really not up to our high standards because very few dolphins were on view.
We decided that in your case that the passengers should be offered complimentary tickets even though some dolphins were sighted.

It is pity that you were not able to join us again for another sailing, however you will be most welcome to join us if you should ever visit Gibraltar in the future.

Thank you very much once again for your positive review of Dolphin Adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    62
    15
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They didn't give up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went on the dolphin trip on the12th April having met the super stars from the programme Brits in Gibralter the day before,we were made very welcome but did not see a single dolphin although Tony tried his best. We were given free tickets for the next day but after a long wet trip we still saw nothing, it seems there were Orcas in the bay the day before we went out and they had chased the dolphins and their young away
The crew were most helpful and friendly even to the offer of warm coats if needed.
We can only thank them for their efforts not forgetting it's a business so no dolphins no profit
Thank you Tony and Angie we will be back.
John and Val the jinx from Birmingham UK

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jap_897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for such a positive review despite not seeing the dolphins.
We try our very very best but sometimes nature does not want to come out and play .

We are determined to show all of our customers wild dolphins which is why we always offer complimentary tickets when we fail to locate these wonderful creatures.

We look forward to seeing you again , hopefully for a much more successful outcome.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No dolphins but keep trying! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We were so unlucky as travelled out three times and didn't see any dolphins. We must have picked the worst week of the year but that's nature and wildlife for you, they don't appear to order ....it just means that we'll have to go back to Gibraltar one day and we wouldn't hesitate to go back out on the yellow boat! We have our complimentary tickets to return which are valid forever.

I travelled with my seven year old son and 84 year old mum who has mobility problems. The staff were very helpful with this, helping her on and off the boat. A lot of people got cold and wet especially on our first trip and they handed jackets out which was thoughtful.

I am not good with names but our boat crew were lovely, caring and informative, the tall man and the girl from Slovakia!

On our third trip there were only four people, us three and another man. I was surprised that they took us out but they did and I felt that they tried really hard to find dolphins for us.

It is a great boat ride in itself for the views of Gibraltar, our last trip out was especially good as it was windy and my son and I enjoyed standing at the front.

The crew told us not to give up and to keep trying. Our taxi driver who took us twice to the marina said he would dress up as a dolphin and get in the hotel pool!

I hope to return one day and see those elusive dolphins with Dolphin Adventure!



Helpful?
Thank Skylight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Dolphin Adventure.

Though we did not locate the dolphins it seems that you really enjoyed yourself, and we have passed on your kind comments to the crew.

We really hope that when you visit again that you will give us another opportunity to locate dolphins for you. We do our very best on each and every sailing and as you stated free tickets are offered to clients that wish to return and try again.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
“Didn't see a single dolphin.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We did the dolphin trip today we booked for 2pm..told to be there for 1.50. The boat didn't get in until about 2.07 and people were still arriving around 2.10

There was about 50. People on our boat and queue ing got a bit frantic with people pushing to the front, so much so the lady in charge had to shout at people to basically calm down! We were near the front but because people pushed past us they got on first and the woman in charge ignored us leaving us standing there for ages as she served all the people who pushed past us!

We went out drove around the bay and came back without seeing a dolphin or other wildlife..

We were given a ticket to come back in the future, however as most people come to gib once and the just for a day possibly two, most people got an expensive boat ride!

You can't help nature but the woman admitted to us quietly that the time of your was not good for seeing dolphins....

Oh well, the view of the rock was good, it was very cold and you get wet so wrap up warm even on a hot day! It can be windy and combined with getting wet lead you to being cold and miserable!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Owner at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, all comments are welcome, giving us the opportunity to address any issues. We are of course disappointed that you felt there were some negative points to you tour. The issue with boarding is being addressed, we have recently re located to the current berth and are implementing a boarding system where passengers can only board one way, at present there are two walk ways leading to the boat, this will be done this week. The boat that you sailed on is our new vessel with capacity and seating for 70 people so you should have found ample room aboard with a total of 51 passengers on that particular sailing at 72% capacity.

Sometimes when we struggle to find dolphins we will extend a tour slightly to improve the chances of a sighting. This would have been the reason that the boat was 7 minutes late getting to the dock. We will always try our best to balance out giving extended tours and delaying departures so I apologise for the delay.

When we do not see dolphins all clients get a complimentary ticket to join us again. We do appreciate that not all clients will be here the next day which is why our ticket has no expiry date. We do hope that people who can not return this time will join us on their next holiday. I do note from your other reviews that you spent several days in Gibraltar so it is a shame that this tour seemed to be one of your last excursions. I do hope that if you return we can take you again and show you our wonderful dolphins.

April can be the time of year when dolphins are a little scarcer in these waters and success rates go down from the 99.9% that we have for most of the rest of the year. Unfortunately, as you point out, wildlife in its natural habitat can not be guaranteed and we can only try our best.

Our staff are very dedicated and will be upset to find that your experience was disappointing. I would like to apologise on behalf of the whole team and do hope that you will return.

Yours sincerely

Angie Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

These people really care about the dolphins, they don't chase them or feed them. We sailed out on a new catamaran out to sea for about 45 mins and sat and waited , a pod of 50 came over to us and were playing around us. You can not guarantee to see them and if you don't they will give you a free pass for the next trip, day etc . Great commentary from expert marine biologists. Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinAdventureGib, Owner at Dolphin Adventure, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for the review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed the tour. The team work very hard to give you the best experience whilst not disturbing the dolphins in any way. As with the previous review customer comments make the guys know that their efforts are noticed by our visitors.

Many thanks again.

Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing