We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No appt needed for tasting”
Review of Bodegas Muga

Bodegas Muga
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Haro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bodegas Muga es una bodega familiar fundada en 1932 que se encuentra ubicada en el historico Barrio de La Estacion de Haro. Sus instalaciones, de casi 25.000 Metros cuadrados, estan asentadas sobre un edificio bicentenario, con la piedra y el roble como elementos centrales. Os animamos a compartir con nosotros la pasion por el vino.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No appt needed for tasting”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great wines with great tasting room. They don't require a reservation or tour. We enjoyed the flight and they waived one tasting because we bought their 2005 Prado Enea and 2009 Reserva.
Recommend parking in their lot and walking to the wineries. Very convenient

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    146
    33
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Food and wine out of this world”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Muga stands so far ahead of the rest.Aside from the top quality wines,the food as an aside if pre arranged is mind blowingly top notch.Bean soup,slow cooked roast lamb,pears in slow marinaded red wine.The chef is really one of the best and all linked with the most informed wine and food guidance.

To be visited at all costs but make sure you pre book.Marvellous !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We tried to make a reservation for the same day and we were told that there were no available places and we could come for the next day at 10 AM. So we made a reservation for the next day. We went 20 minutes earlier and were told that the tour was fully booked and our names are not on the list. Obviously someone forgot to write our names. There were no attempts to make up for their mistake. We asked them when we can do wine tasting. They told us that the tasting is possible the whole day. Hoping to find a winery tour we tried the winery near Muga called Bodegas Lopez de Heredia Vina Tondonia. After the visit we were glad that the lady at Muga forgot to make the reservation. Muga wines we drank before were nowhere near the wines we tasted at Bodegas Lopez de Heredia. After the visit, we wanted to taste some wines at Muga too. We went to the shop at Muga. The lady at the reception didn't even say hello to us. We waited more than 15 minutes for her to finish her telephone conversation but she was not willing to do so. We left without being able to taste anything.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Murat U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Our hotel arranged for us to take a tour of Muga while visiting Haro. Although we've been on many wine tours, this one was very interesting as they make their own barrels (got to see them working on them in the workshop), saw them moving the wine from barrel to barrel, cleaning the barrels, etc. Our tour guide was excellent-really knew her stuff about the family and winery. English speaking tours are not as frequent so make sure to reserve in advance. Overall we would highly recommend Muga if you're going to take a winery tour while in Haro. If you just want to taste you can just stop by without a reservation.

Helpful?
3 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bodega with tradition,great wines and cordial service”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Muga is a must visit when in Rioja region. Due to their popularity, you want to book the tour on time and double check availability - particularly if you need tour in another language than spanish.
The tour is extensive and very informative and you have a chance to taste and purchase the whole selection of their great wines on premises.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kmp187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodegas Muga also viewed

 

Been to Bodegas Muga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing