We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad de Haro
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Haro
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked in a package deal. We had no idea what kind of hotel this was. The hotel was very, very hard to find. There are sings in the village of Haro. But halfway they're gone. You'll have to find your way yourself. The hotel is found in an industrial area. There's a very busy interstate on the front.

The staff is very polite and helpful. Checking-in was no problem. There's an elevator. But our room was in the new part and we had to climb a small stair. No problem for us, but when somebody's disabled, it might become a problem.

Our room was in fact some kind of suite. Seperate bedroom and living room. Free wifi in the whole hotel. Fast enough for streaming audio of our favorite radio station.
Room was very clean. Temperature was OK. We were here in june, but it was the coldest one in the last 100 years. Heating was no problem. There's an airco when it gets hot. Sleeping with the window open is not advisable because of the heavy traffic.

Breakfast was small, but good. We misses some standard items like marmalade. But the coffee was great and the waiter very helpful.

The city of Haro is nice. But it's so small that you have seen the lot in one single day. Very, very much wine. Haro is on the bank of the river Oja. In Spanish: Rio Oja. So the wine is called Rioja. We visited Muga and that was very nice. We paid € 7,50 each, but we had three glasses of wine at the end. And Muga wine is quite expensive. We could take our glasses home, so they didn't have to do the dishes. My wife took some pictures.

In the townsquare of the village there's a big painting of a winefest. I guess there's no one's sober during that time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    64
    49
    23
    17
See reviews for
45
91
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel itself is quite old and looks good from the outside and thats where it stops.

the rooms themselves are OK, however, the TV did not work, there was no hairdryer in the room and when I asked for one I was told the only one they had was out already.

The wardrobes do not have any hangers so you have to fold all your clothes.

The bathrooms are very good but have no slip mats in the shower, also they leak water all over the floor.

All in all the hotel is not bad but is very worn and needs touches to et it up to even a three star.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haro hotels

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel itself was nice and clean, staff helpful and friendly but the restaurant food was a disgrace. Ok, only 16 euros for menu del dia but we couldn't eat it. The chicken was too old to be fit for human consumption. didn't want to pay but agreed to pay 50% as we had starters and drinks. Receptionist was sorry and helpful but waiter wasn't.
The room was tidy enough but ac didn't work and it was very noisy in the morning. All in all, not the best experience but can't totally slate it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidrrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albinyana, Spain
Level Contributor
251 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

had a good deal to stay here with visit to local bodega included. Hotel somewhat oldfashioned but room ok, TV very old. Free parking but hotel way on outskirts of the town no taxi or bus available so only option to walk, a long way....

Room Tip: ask for room at back as hotel is on a busy road out of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 428chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Place was nice and clean, personnel was very helpful food average, good selection of wine.
Room were very espacious with a tub and shower combo. Located right by the highway and good 20 min walk from Haro
A bargain for your money"

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcello F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We just spent a couple of nights on the Ciudad de Haro. Nice hotel, pleasant staff, quiet rooms. The price of a double occupancy room is just below 60 Euros per night. The hotel has a nice pool, which was already drained at the time of writing this review.

http://www.ciudadeharo.com/english/haro/index.php

Personally, I would avoid the restaurant, as we didn't find the food outstanding. There are, however, a number of nice restaurants in the area. If you want to treat yourself to nice typical Riojan food, try Restaurante Asador Jose Mari in the neighbouring village of Rivas del Tereso bordering the Province of Alava. One of their specialties is Chuletillas de Cordero al Sarmiento (grilled lamb chops). We paid just 32 Euros per person for Beans with Chorizo and Morcilla (blood sausage), a plate of 4 large white asparagus with two sauces, Chuletillas de Cordero al Sarmiento, Veal Tenderloin with Roquefort Cheese Sauce, a nice bottle of Rioja Crianza from San Vicente de Sonsierra, and for dessert a Flan de Queso and a portion of cured Manchegan Cheese with stewed sweet figs.

http://www.rutasdevino.com/enoturismo/josemari.htm

The hotel front desk personnel arranged for us an appointment to visit the Bodega Dinastía Vivanco in the neighbouring village of Briones. This is a family owned winery, where for 13 euros per person you get a tour to the winery (including the tasting of a few excellent red wines) where a guide explains the whole process of wine making; and also a tour to the Wine Museum, which the guide claimed is the largest in the world. The tour was quite an enjoyable experience.

http://www.dinastiavivanco.com/inicio.asp

In short, we had a very pleasant stay and will not hesitate recommending this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El-Pescador007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
369 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Room excellent location ok but dinner was shocking . Notwithstanding all we had read the locks worked first time too!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haro
0.1 mi away
Hotel ETH Rioja
Hotel ETH Rioja
#4 of 7 in Haro
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arrope
Hotel Arrope
#2 of 7 in Haro
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa de Legarda
Casa de Legarda
#3 of 7 in Haro
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luz
Luz
#7 of 7 in Haro
101 reviews
9.9 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad de Haro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad de Haro

Property: Hotel Ciudad de Haro
Address: Ctra. Nacional 124, km. 41, 26200 Haro, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Haro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Haro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciudad de Haro 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciudad de Haro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad De Haro Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing