We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good barring location”
Review of AC Hotel La Rioja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel La Rioja
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Logrono
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The hotel is not within short walking distance of anything other than the Paza del Toros but it is clean, service was good and there are some nice guest features such as a free coffee and refreshment station during the day. The room was fine but bathroom a little tired.

Room Tip: Probably better to be found in the capital of Rioja.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for AC Hotel La Rioja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Not having taken a drink at the bar I cannot comment on the rather funny stuff I read from other contributors (no glasses in the bar!...). What I can say through is that we were welcomed most friendly, had our rooms adjacent as asked, though we checked in quite late, and they were clean. The beds didn't look very topclass but were of the best we slept in in Spain during our holidays. The breakfast was copious. The rooms had minibars with free softdrinks, which is a treat, as in general you'll have a hard time finding fridges in Spanish 4*s, let alone filled with free drinks. Didn't have lunch nor dinner in the hotel as the city of Logroño really is filled to the brim with restaurants and tapas bars. By the way, it is indeed a city without top attractions, but it has a great atmosphere (take a tapas in the Calle del Laurel or the passage of the Elephants, where locals tend to hobble after too many cheap but delicious Rioja Alavese...). From the hotel to the city centre you walk at least 15', so a car is no luxury here. If you'd go for the swimming pool, then you should now it is in a dimly lit basement and really cold (which was fine as it was blazing hot outside). Come to think about it, those two last points were the only negative points I can come up with (suburbian location and icy swimmingpool). The price we paid made certainly up for that. Recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We originally planned to stay here 5 nights, but having been here 1 day changed it to 3 nights - like many others have reported the hotel is very nice and modern, free soft drinks in your room daily and also nibbles and coffee for free in the bar area. but like many others there is never anybody serving in the bar. Very friendly hotel but the town has nothing other than a 1 day 1 night maximum attention level, but if you enjoy your wine, then you need to visit a number of the Bodega.

The set meal for just 22 euro all in at the hotel was unbelievable value, that includes a bottle of wine, bottled water, coffee and 3 courses of individually cooked food, very good standard. Also an aperitif and chocolate at the end on top, highly recommend.

All in all great for 1-2 nights on your way to and from somewhere else, but would hesitate to stay longer

Room Tip: As somebody else said some rooms are by the road and you can hear the traffic
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acp2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way through Spain.
The receptionist spoke good English which helped because our Spanish is fairly minimal.
Our room was very nice indeed and we looked forward to a drink in the bar before eating at their restaurant. This is when things went pear-shaped.
The bar was unstaffed and I had to get the receptionist to phone for someone. Eventually (after several other potential customers had waited for a while and then given up) a barman arrived. He didn't seem to know what wines were available by the glass and had difficulty locating the wine list (which I asked for in Spanish) but the worst was yet to come.. he didn't know where the glasses were! A bar with no glasses... in a four star hotel??!! He then disappeared and then reappeared with a bottle of red wine - I'd asked for 'vina blanco' - we gave up!
We also thought 'If this is the standard of the bar service, what on earth would the restaurant service be like?' We ate out - Chinese - because we couldn't find a decent reataurant anywhere in the nearby town. It was all bars or cafes.
At least we had a decent night's sleep.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone else.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I've stayed in Logrono a couple of times for work and I can honestly say this is the best of a bad bunch. Its location is pretty crap (at least 15 minute walk to the city) but its comfortable and clean with a few nice touches. The breakfast is great, however the bar is infrequently tended so its best just to head out into the old town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneywinelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The AC in Logroño is very nice inside: friendly and efficient receptionist, attractive lobby, big room with an excellent bathroom (separate bath and shower). Outside the hotel you have a main road, and there was considerable traffic noise audible from our room: not sure if they have quiet rooms at the back, but worth asking. The hotel is situated about 15 minutes walk from the town centre, which makes parking easy and safe (even safer if you pay for their underground car park). You can either walk to the town centre through the suburbs (rather boring), or take the slightly longer route initially along the main road then following the river and park. There are several bars immediately outside the hotel suitable for breakfast if you are not eating in the hotel. Logroño has its provincial charm, with lots of parks, and in the centre there are more tapas bars than you can shake a stick at (although it is the kind of tapas you always pay for, unlike in some other parts of Spain).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is a short walk from the conference center so it will continue to get a lot of business, but the review is mixed. Room, OK, Bath, just OK with a very strange shower -- and why no shampoo or conditioner? Service and staff -- OK. Internet is s-l-o-w. The food in the restaurant was very good, excellent actually, but it did not open for dinner before 8:30 (challenging for we folks coming from the States) and they do not serve US coffee by a long shot (and the wait staff in the restaurant no habla Anglais). The front desk staff was friendly but not particularly informed. So if you find your way to the capitol of Rioja this is where you should stay. It is OK and acceptable, but not as refined/sophisticated as advertised. Note that there are no restaurants in the general area so if you do not eat in the hotel you will be taking a 15 - 20 minute walk to the city center -- which is not that bad.
.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Logrono hotels
1.8 mi away
NH Logrono
NH Logrono
#4 of 16 in Logrono
760 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Logrono Herencia Rioja
0.7 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sercotel Portales Hotel
Sercotel Portales Hotel
#2 of 16 in Logrono
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marques de Vallejo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Rioja
Hotel Carlton Rioja
#8 of 16 in Logrono
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel La Rioja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel La Rioja

Address: Calle Madre de Dios 21, 26004 Logrono, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Logrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Logrono
#2 Luxury Hotel in Logrono
Price Range: £68 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel La Rioja 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel La Rioja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Logroño
Ac La Rioja Logroño
AC Hotel La Rioja Logrono, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing