We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy place to stay”
Review of Hostal Emilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Emilio
Ranked #321 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Crappy place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As I've already tried some hotels close to the airport, I decided to save a little bit and went for the budget option - turns out in the end it was more pricey than nearby Ibis aeropuerto Barajas!!!
First thing was as I made the reservation, I called to ensure it's walking distance from the airport, no english spoken, but clumsily I was assured I can walk to the hotel... yes I can, but along a huge road with no sidewalk! I ended up taking metro and one stop is 4.50 eur... going twice, the price equalized with nice and clean Ibis with great service and airport shuttle!
The place itself is not very pleasant. The room had weird smoke and moldy smell and looked like it was taken care of a decade ago. I felt unwelcome and regretted my stay immediately. The rooms are small and darkish, the AC was super loud.
The entrance to the hotel also look very strange. They arrange perhaps the most expensive transfers to the airport around - 9 euro (other hostels charge around 6 or have free service).
If you can, book stg else, the price will equalize and you wouldn't get this crappy experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janapka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    14
    7
    15
See reviews for
10
14
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This place is not suitable for families. My 4 year old saw the room and started to cry- refused to stay there. Good we needed only for few hours to sleep. We didn't got the room with beds as booked. Room was not nice at all- carpets with unknown stains on the walls. Door lock was not working properly. Did not got any shampoo only soaps. In reception nobody spoke english and noone helped with our luggage ( we have a baby and two kids 5 and 4y). There was no drinking water or any kind of drink available to purchase. Ours finished and we had to help our selves with bathroom tap water not to get very thirsty. Horrable looking room, nothing like on picture at all. The sheets were clean. The towels were clean too but very ruff ( probably saving on softner). Over all did not felt cosy and confortable at all. Suitable maybe to back packers or students on budget for short stay. I won't be returning there ever again and not going to recomend to anybody.

Room Tip: Booked 1 single and 1 double bed in room but got 3 single ones. Waiting room in reception has worn o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank LauraBachik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here 1 night, a total of 20 hours, in october 2012. With plane transfer requiring a night in madrid, this was a good alternative close to the airport. Very old but clean rooms, fairly small too. Staff was friendly enough with conversation held in my school spanish. The short stay went very smooth. The neighborhood was nice middle class with plenty small nice restaurants, bars, etc full of locals mostly. With metro near by its also a decent starting point for seeing madrid, but it takes a whil to get to the centre. The hotel is located about 10 km by air from the centre of madrid and it takes about an hour incl 2 transfers by metro to get there. If you are well prepped with google maps and light luggage its just a 15 min walk from the airport. Price for a double room no meals was EUR 31 per night. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjoseca
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here because we were dropping car off at Madrid Airport. Ten minute walk to Metro and one Metro stop from Airport. Taking Metro to downtown required a few transfers, but was qquite easy. Rooms are small; owners speak zero English; luckily another person staying there spoke enough English to help us. A number of restaurants and markets nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank by_ourselves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Hostal was only a few blocks from the metro station in Barajas, about a block from a supermarket, and near many restaurants. Room was very clean and included air conditioning and tv. Bathroom included soap and shampoo, but the shower area was tiny and hard to bathe in.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Hostal Emilio is located near the airport, a 5 minute walk from the Barajas metro station. Since the metro starts running at 6 a.m., it was very convenient for catching an 8 a.m. flight, we avoided the hassle of having to call and pay for a taxi
The area is nice enough and seemed safe. We paid 50 euros for a double, a little pricey for a hostal but a good location. The room was very nice and clean with a bathroom, heater, t.v., small fridge, and closet. Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Close to the airport, cheaper than a hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Senorheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Don Luis
Hotel Don Luis
#217 of 436 in Madrid
365 reviews
Hotel Villa De Barajas
#272 of 436 in Madrid
424 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Barajas Plaza
Hotel Barajas Plaza
#305 of 436 in Madrid
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Clement Barajas Hotel
Clement Barajas Hotel
#142 of 436 in Madrid
914 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
#145 of 436 in Madrid
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Emilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Emilio

Property: Hostal Emilio
Address: Calle Canal de Suez 24, Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Emilio 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Emilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing