We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, good food”
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 10,780 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Arguelles
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time, good food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

terrific experience, enjoyed our waiter, the food, and the presentation was unbelievable! My father and i were in Madrid and went here because it is known as one of the premiere restaurants in Madrid. I probably would not go back simply because of the price, but if you are looking for an amazing culinary experience for a special occasion, go for it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    242
    87
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
493 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with mediocre service”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

.....is offered in this two star etablissement. Very nice interior with excellent food. They offer three different surprise menus (85, 98, 115 Euros) and they ask you if you have food allergies or some food you wouldn't like. You will get a print out of the menu at the end of the evening - not before so ! The wine list is dominated -for obvious reasons- by spanish wines but they have decent french, italian, new world as well - and it is very reasonable priced ! The food was sometimes surprising but always prefect quality and very delicious. Unfortunately I have to cut off one star because of the service, which was lacking real passion. Not really unfriendly but the waiter was bored and rushed us through the menu. He made the dinner a little bit unpleasant !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bockylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Entertaining Meal”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Went there with my partner while we were in Madrid, the restaurant it self is quite small and was well designed the restaurant have 3 different type of degustation menu with different pricing and we both had the seduction menu. Overall the texture, technique & taste of all the dishes was amazing. We had a waiter who was very attentive and yet not so formal in interaction, towards the end of the meal the head chef comes out and greets all the guests. Will definitely come here again on our next visit to Madrid.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alvrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I went there for a lunch with a couple of friends. We ordered Menu rendezvous (86 euros) which consists of Txangurro de cáscara bland (soft chell crab), 2 snacks (game truffle with foie and mushrooms, Pea's ravioli with iberique dewlap), 2 starters (cold cherry soup with herring caviar, egg with bread served over a light potato cream sauce), 1 fish dish (skrey with rhubarb chutney and spring onion), 1 meat dish (confit suckling pig with echelon onion compote), 1 dessert appetizer (hibicus flower with pisco sour), 2 desserts (the fishbowl, chocolate rocks) then we had a coffee and petit fours which is called the black board.

I, personally, think it was a great meal but not all of the dishes have wowed me. Only the game truffle, the egg and the fishbowl (which are mainly white chocolate mousse) are really impressive. The rest, however, are great, well-cooked and interesting but the taste reached the michelin level but not wow.

The blackboard which are mash mellows, jelly and crackers with ginger flavours are not that good for my taste. The chocolate rocks (chocolate with mint dessert) has too strong chocolate flavour. However, the good point of the desserts here is that they are not TOO sweet nor a sugar bomb.

The service was correct and proper. The waiters spoke good english and kindly explained us everything. The drinks were't included and since two of us don't drink, we decided to go for water. (5.5 euros/bottle).

Overall it was great meal with great deal. The decoration was interesting but the taste are good even though not a wow. (Maybe I expected too much after seeing it as number 1 of trip advisor in Madrid).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The degustation menus are a great value given the number of dishes and the amount of food. I prefer simpler food but wanted to give this place a try because it was so highly rated. This is not to say the food wasn't delicious, it is a good place to try if you like this type of cuisine. Only downside was the courses seemed a bit rushed, there was not much of a break between each. Perhaps this was because there were so many that they has to serve quickly to get people out within a reasonable duration. The sommelier recommended very good wines.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing