We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Asuncion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Asuncion
Ranked #361 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

stayed there in room at front.Very clean,lovely white bedding close to Metro ,cafes & bars can recommend Plaza 66 round corner for breakfast.Bathroom rather small but ok for weekend away. Staff helpfull easy to get hairdryers, xtra pillows etc free coffee available in reception.

Room Tip: For quieter time choose back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolTwinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    45
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
42
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed 4 nights and thought the Asuncion was very good value. It is in a good location, convenient for the metro and lots of little cafes where we had super cheap breakfasts. The pedestrian area gets noisy late at night with nice outdoor bars, so request a back room if you're a light sleeper. I had no problems booking directly through the hotel website. The staff were not around much, but were easy to contact on the reception phone. They provided extra pillows and a hairdryer very promptly when requested. Our room was immaculate and the beds comfortable. There was complimentary coffee at reception. The TV was useless as only Spanish programmes, but this could be easily sorted out if management made the effort. We would recommend this little hotel.

Room Tip: Back rooms have less street noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Asuncion and were really pleased with the hotel. It is perfectly located within walking distance of the cool neighborhoods of Madrid, the rooms are clean and comfortable and overall excellent value.

Only drawback is that our room was perhaps a bit noisy in the morning. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Extremadura
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

PROS
Big comfortable beds, TV, Location is perfect (15m walk from Puerta del Sol), price is very fair, Free WIFI in every room.

CONS
Bathroom doors are not good, lack of intimacy. Do not stay if you look for luxuries, it's basic.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miko92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

I booked a room through a main website and there were problems with the price: it was much higher then expected. I then cancelled the booking and contacted directly the Hostal. They answered, confirmed the booking with correct price and asked me to re-confirm few days before arrival. Unfortunately when I wrote back few days before arrival, they didn't keep my booking and they hadn’t any available room. I contacted them sending the emails we exchanged and they didn't even reply!!
It’s not in the centre of the city, and with the same amount of money you can easily find better value.
I definitely don't recommend this Hostal.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

Pros:
+ big rooms
+ very good location!
+ quite clean

Contras:
- VERY noisy: air conditioning works loudly, walls are thin so you will hear everything.
- Staff do not speak English at all

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#148 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Sil & Serranos
Hostal Sil & Serranos
#268 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#215 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal America
Hostal America
#311 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Chamberi
INNSIDE Madrid Genova
INNSIDE Madrid Genova
#77 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#339 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Asuncion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Asuncion

Property: Hostal Asuncion
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Asuncion 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel situated in the centre of Madrid, only 10 minutes on foot from the Puerta del Sol and 5 minutes from Plaza Colón; principally a commercial and business area. The rooms have an individual bathroom and the entire establishment has free WiFi internet connection. This is simple accommodation in a setting that is perfect for those who want to do some tourism. Despite not providing a breakfast service, the offering of restaurants and leisure opportunities in the surrounding area is very varied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Asuncion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Asuncion Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing