We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay next to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Barajas Plaza
Ranked #298 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 29 May 2014

nice place to stay next to the airport - just 10 min by walk to T1-2-3. Just use the pedestrian walkway over highway. The hotel is good, 10 min to metro Barajas and local bus is availiable for transportation to/from airport and metro. 1 metro stop for ALL Airport terminals. The staff was good, the room is simple but comfortable - OK for overnight stay. The only issue is Internet. It's declared, that they offer free Internet over the hotel, but in fact it works only at the lobby. But overall - good place to stay for reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxim_mos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barajas Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I chose this hotel because of it's close location to the airport, it is just a 10 minute walk from terminal 3 at Madrid-Barajas. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly & helpful and I so wanted to write a good review of this hotel, but a few points stop me. The double room I stayed in (205) was a loft conversion and very small, but as I was travelling alone, this didn't prove a problem as such. The internet connection is very unstable, there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms and the toilet ran all the time until after flushing 4 or 5 times, it stopped. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that is happening on the same floor including the lift going up and down. Rooms 200-204 offer a view of a small part of one runway and taxiway, but a short walk takes you onto some waste ground where you can get a better view of the ramp, although you can walk to terminal 2 in about 15-20 minutes, there is an area near one of the restaurants where you can watch aircraft with no one bothering you including the police. If you don't want to walk to or from the airport, bus route 101 runs every 15 minutes. The hotel is just off of Barajas Square where there are shops, bars and restaurants for all your needs, I recommend Cafeteria Cherbourgo, but be aware, they do not speak English, but are friendly after you visit a couple of times. All in all, I would use this hotel again, but would like to see the internet improved and drink making facilities in the room

Room Tip: Take a kettle, spoon, tea, coffee and cups with you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is located only a two minute walk from the Barajas town Plaza. The city bus from the airport takes 10 minutes and costs 1.5€. The hotel staff are all very pleasant and accommodating. I had a room with two twin beds, writing desk, two chairs, very large closet, small wall mounted flat screen TV. The bathroom was satisfactory and sufficient towels were provided. Water pressure is very good. Shower is the hand held type with a bracket on the wall. The shower door only covers half the tub, so it is hard not to get water on the floor. My bed was comfortable, but short for my long legs and I slept well. I was here for two nights at the beginning of my car rental trip. The metro is a ten minute walk and the trip into Madrid center is 30-45 minutes. So you can't return to the room for a short rest. Once you are in the city, plan to stay the day. The single room cost through booking.com was 36€. The only negative is the WIFI only works in the lobby, but they don't know why.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. I checked these in error and can't undo it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

this hotel is clean, the receptions were both very helpful, the location is good, close to the airport with buses pasing by every 10min.. brkfast is not available but its only one min away from restaurants..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was one of the worst experiences I've had in hotels. At the check-in we tried to speak with the receptionist in English and she just replied in Spanish. We tried speaking in Portuguese and she turned to answer in Spanish. What counts is that the Portuguese people do not have much difficulty in understanding other languages. However, it was unpleasant.

The room was very small. Could fit a little more than two suitcases on the floor. Had an old and uninviting aspect. However, this would not be severe. The worst was what happened next: when I opened the faucet from the washbasin to wash my hands it had the indication of cold water. However, what came out of the faucet was boiling water. Fortunately nothing serious happened, but probably in the hands of a child would not be the same. Only later did I realize a role that was next to the mirror that said that the tap was broken. In the cold water ran hot water and cold water in the hot water. Instead of having placed a role, it would be better to have repaired the tap. In addition, I take blankets from the closet with hairs. It's definitely bad.

Positive points: being close to the airport, transportation, restaurants and shopping. Although cheap, we will not return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had booked and took a taxi from the airport, which is only a short distance away. The hotel is small, clean and efficient and is located close to a square which has a great selection of excellent restaurants. It is a distance from the Metro and travel is so much easier using a taxi as the bus service is a bit hit and miss. It is excellently situated relative to the Airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikec004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, but it is within 5 minutes of the airport in Barajas. One block from the central park with many restaurants, accommodations here are typically 60 euro per night or less and include a nice-sized room (by European standards), clean and comfortable. There is free, wireless Internet in each floor of the hotel with a strong signal and good connection.

All in all, you cannot really ask for better in Madrid. The hotel is perfect if you're stopping over for one night, as I did.

The staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theskaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Don Luis
Hotel Don Luis
#221 of 438 in Madrid
374 reviews
Hotel Villa De Barajas
#274 of 438 in Madrid
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Clement Barajas Hotel
Clement Barajas Hotel
#137 of 438 in Madrid
922 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
#148 of 438 in Madrid
847 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barajas Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barajas Plaza

Address: barrio Camarillas 5-7, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £46 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Barajas Plaza 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Barajas Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing