We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget hotel.”
Review of Hostal Ballesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Ballesta
Ranked #143 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good budget hotel.”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ballesta is a good budget hotel, perfectly situated in the heart of Madrid. Room was spotless clean, quiet, with a room which actually was quite large for an affordable place in a capital.
Staff is friendly, helpful and English speaking.
We recommend the place taking in consideration that it is not a 5 stars palace, but a good modern best value place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharone m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest, we want to be grateful your visit and your positive opinions about Hostal Ballesta. We wait your return . Receive an affectionate greeting. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    298
    78
    14
    6
See reviews for
75
269
81
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neu-Isenburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you're on the lookout for an affordable and comfortable place to stay in Madrid, then Hostal Ballesta should be among your first choices.

Located in the heart of Madrid, but in a quiet backstreet off Gran Via, the hostel has quiet, modern and comfortable rooms that can give a lot of bigger or more-star hotels a run for their money! Very clean and well organised.

The bathroom was very clean and ordered. My only concern was that the shower floor was a bit slippery, but nothing to worry too much about.

All staff were particularly helpful, polite and obliging and that is always rated highly by guests. Wi-Fi is free and available throughout the hotel and there are also 2 or 3 computer terminals and printers for common use. A comfortable lounge is also available if you want to enjoy a coffee or drink (from a vending machine) or watch the news (national and international channels).

There is no breakfast (remember, it's a hostel) but in Madrid you're spoilt for choice anyway and the location is ideal.

I would happily stay there again, whenever I visit Madrid. Make sure to check out their website for more info.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wire_n_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear guest, thanks a lot of for your positive opinion. We wait return soon with us. Best Regards. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at this hostal during two nights in December. The value for money is great. Perfect location in Madrid, very near to Sol and La Gran Via.

Staff: very Nice and helpful.

Rooms: Very clean and good size.

I liked everything from this place. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear guest, thanks a lot of for your positive opinion. We wait return soon with us. Best Regards. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

STAY HERE! I found this hotel/hostal on booking.com for only 45 Euros a night and I wasn't expecting much but a bed and a shower. However, after arriving to the hotel we got far more than we paid for. Helpful English speaking staff, trendy decor, super clean facility, spacious rooms, reliable and free wi-fi, and a room with a balcony. Some of the reviews commented on the "ladies of the night" and yes they are working the street outside the hotel but they never bothered us as we entered or left the hotel. Other reviews talked about the walls being thin and I found this to be true as well but my room was on the back of the building so it was a lot less noisy. I was very comfortable in and outside of the hotel. The hotel is in a great location and easy to walk to everything Madrid has to offer, we never stepped foot in a cab. This hostal also allows guest which was nice being we had friends staying at another hotel who dropped by our room for a meeting place or to take a free drink in the room. Other hostals in Madrid charge for visitors to come to your room so please be aware when booking. My overall assessment is the hotel in UNDERPRICED and you get more than what you pay for. I will stay here again and I definitely recommend it to other travelers to Madrid.

Room Tip: Take the train from the airport. Pink line/8 train to Nuevos Ministries stop. Exit train and Dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATLtoEUR767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear guest, thanks a lot of for your positive opinion. We wait return soon with us. Happy Christmas. Best Regards. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Loved it, loved it, loved it! This place has NO downside: it's right off Gran Via, so you cannot be more in the center. It's 2 minutes walk from Gran Via metro station. The place is renovated, it looks nice, has a nice hang out area and it is also squeaky clean. Staff is super-friendly and well-informed, and there's free access to internet and wi-fi. It is the more "flamboyant" side of Gran Via, so indeed there are some ladies at the door, but they cannot be bothered by Ballesta guests, and vice versa:). Whaterever you are looking for in Madrid it's walking distance: major tourist sites 10-15 minutes, tons of shops: 2 minutes, and the bars at night: 5-10 minutes. And still it is quiet!!!!
It is the best value for money during the week, during the weekends you pay re a bit more but still a great deal for what it offers.
Mercedes, special thank yous for your patience with our 3 visits in 8 days!:)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Sirs, First to be grateful to you that you have chosen the hostal during your stay at Madrid.
We want to thank your positive opinions. For me it was a pleasure to attend you. Best Regards. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

If it had a hair dryer, in Paris they would rank it as a 3 star hotel and charge double:) Location is absolutely fantastic - a minute walk from Gran Via. In 4 days I didn´t have the need to use public transport. Rooms are of decent size, cleaned on daily basis. Free wi-fi in the rooms. Staff is very friendly. It´s a great no frills place, highly recommended for travelers on the budget. And do not worry about the ladies of the night (and the daytime too, as they seem to operate 24 hour service lol) in its back street; the area is perfectly safe and they add a special flair to the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pero305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Dear Sirs,
First to be grateful to you that you have chosen the hostal during your stay at Madrid.
We want to thank your opinions, always are constructive for us and help us to improve day by day. We have hair dryer in reception, sorry a lot of. Best Regards. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Not a bad place. Free wifi (though not the best signal in the room). We had a small room at the back with no view but I suspect this was because we did not check in until 10pm.

Fairly basic but clean facilities. the only issue was the air-con, you could have the room at the outside ambient temp c.28C or a cold chill at 18C.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confusedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBallesta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear guest, thanks for chosee Hostal Ballesta to your stay in Madrid. Our hotel has exterior or interior rooms, we cannot ever offer exterior rooms. About the air conditioning, you can regulate the temperature from your room, choosing the temperature that you want. Thanks for your opinios. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#197 of 435 in Madrid
230 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#157 of 435 in Madrid
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#95 of 435 in Madrid
609 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#229 of 435 in Madrid
216 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#278 of 435 in Madrid
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ballesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ballesta

Property: Hostal Ballesta
Address: Calle Ballesta 5, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#89 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Ballesta 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballesta Hostel is an economic and modern hostel, situated right in Madrid´s city centre just a few metres away from La Gran Via (Madrid´s high street). Its unbeatable location gives guests a great variety of possibilities for public transport connections, whatever their plans are, business or pleasure.The Ballesta is recommended among Madrid´s downtown hostels, due to its proximity to Gran Via, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Old Town, Royal Palace and the Prado museum, as well as offering a wide variety of venues for entertainment, eating out and shopping. Putting all Madrid’s hotspots on our guests’ doorstep!It has recently been refurbished and is modern and economical with all the services needed to offer a pleasant stay for our guests, making it one of the best options for accommodation in Madrid’s city centre.With 35 rooms, singles, doubles and triples with private bathroom, lcd television, telephone, heating, air conditioning, free Wifi….the Ballesta hostel is a great choice, offering superb quality at an incredibly low cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Ballesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ballesta Madrid
Hostal Ballesta Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing