We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel. Good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Ballesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Ballesta
Ranked #144 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hostel. Good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very noisy cleaning staff and guests so they woke me up every morning. Small room but clean and had everthing I needed. Window's view was very bad and all I could see was a wall of some buildingin 2 meters of me. Staff on reception is kind and good and helpful. Room service is not bad.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear customers, thank your both positive and negative reviews because it makes us learn and improve every day. Sorry for the inconvenience caused by noise. Thanks and Yours faithfully. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    279
    72
    14
    5
See reviews for
68
255
76
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

It's definitely the location which sells this small 'hotel' ... it's located just a 2 minute walk from Gran Via, very central to all the main Plaza's, nearest Metro about a 5 minute walk. The hostal itself is definitely only 2 star, although it really wouldn't take much to offer that bit more ... tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge would be great!! We overlooked the street, right opposite a nightclub, but we stayed during the week and didn't have any noise at all - I'm not sure what the weekend would be like?? Yes, the walls are very thin and we did have a couple of very noisy lads next door who went on till the early hours, but were good enough to turn it down after a few raps on their door!! The rooms are compact, but totally adequate for a city break, because you really don't spend much time in there!! A couple of UK TV channels and a very good free WIFI signal, very powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Oh .... and the prostitutes are really not an issue at all ... yes they're there, as they are in various parts of the City but they don't hassle you at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest, Hostal entire team wants to thank his opinion greatly; for us it is a pleasure to read comments like yours because our hard work in this way is rewarded. Hope to see you again. Greetings. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went at the end of April 2014 for four days. Was horrified when I arrived because two prostitutes were shouting at each other. I soon got used to the very varied area and it was helped by being opposite a large police station! This is an artistic area with old traditional bars as well as trendy ones. I lived in Brixton for 25 years and it reminded me of the great mixture there. After a day I felt very comfortable and relaxed but it is a shock in the beginning. The girls on the reception were so helpful, given me many tips as I was travelling on my own and am a 64 year old woman. I will go back as I thought I saw the real Madrid and not a tourist version. Also it is so near to everything and the metro is so easy to use. Would really recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a single room on the top floor which had a balcony although a poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gillie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sir, thanks a lot of, your opinion is very important to us. We hope that if you return to again choose Madrid Hostal Ballesta. Best Regards. Mercedes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with lads on our football trip. Therefore no luxury required. Cheap, basic, clean ish, fairly loud due to nightclub right opposite. Many prostitutes were looking for jobs right outside of the hotel - they didn't seem to bother people walking by. The hotel worked fine for us. But not fine if you bring The Wife or your kids.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear customer, we thank you chose us for your stay in Madrid and their opinions. We hope that if you return to the capital we choose again. Thanks and Yours faithfully. Mercedes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over three nights, starting from Friday. The hotel itself is nice and is clean and the staff are very helpful. However, we did have problems with noise.

On Friday and Saturday night, the night club across the road was very noisy for basically the whole night. Our room was located on the street side and we were badly affected. In addition to this, some of the guests came home at around 3:00 am and were laughing and talking quite loudly. There did not seem to be enough sound insulation to cope with this. We did not even escape on Sunday night as filming was underway during the night in the street below - which was also noisy.

Other rooms may be better and other nights may be ok.

We noticed as other guests have, that there are prostitutes across the road. This did not cause any issues.

In summary, nice enough hotel but definitely not for us.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guests, first apologize for the lack of sleep in the days that were housed, usually the street is fairly quiet, but it is true that there may be some end den noisier week, although not usual, feel greatly that we have state all comfortable with us. Thank you and accept my best regards. Mercedes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I'm from egypt , we were two groups 1st group was me and my family(my husband and 2 kids one of them is 2 months old) and the other group was two of our friends,we stayed in this hostal for 10 days
the location is veryyyyy close to everything just few meters away

the cleanliness is perfect with regular room service

the only disadvantage is that the rooms are a bit narrow but still accepted but the only annoying thing is the unavailability of the fridge in the room.
walls are thin so you can hear the other rooms while talking:)

the most amazing and noticeable thing is the friendliness of the staff specially the receptionist calls : Consuello and her nick name is chello I liked her a lotttttttt she speaks English well and very very helpful and friendly

briefly it was my first stay there and won't be the last. if I'll go again to Madrid I won't stay in another place as I just felt home there
P.S don't miss the cold beverage and water in the machine located in the lobby :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliaa_altawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear customers, we thank Trypadvisor their opinions, both negative and positive, it helps us to improve day by day. Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Madrid and hopefully next time you visit us. Thanks and regards. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

2nd time in Barcelona and 2nd stay at Hotel Ballesta! You simply can’t beat the price of $50 a night for clean and basic hotel. If you want a fantastic view of Madrid, pampered products, and a pricey restaurant in the hotel stay somewhere else. But if you are budget friendly and are looking for a hotel that is in a great location (Chueca and Gran Via), clean and comfortable, fast and free Wi-Fi, English speaking staff, and they don't hassle you about keys or visitors this is a winner. My two complaints from my most recent stay was the TV. had very limited stations so maybe a broader satellite selection would serve international travelers better. Also only one morning we were awaken very early by noise in the hall from the staff but this only happen one day. I recommend this hotel to other travelers to Madrid and I will return myself. Also take the train from the airport to the Gran Via Metro stop, it’s two connections but its easy and inexpensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLtoEUR767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear customer, thank you very much for your opinions and thank you for staying with us repeat. We are glad you come to Madrid you choose Hostal Ballesta. Hope to see you soon. Thanks and regards. Mercedes Larroca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#91 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#151 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#171 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#76 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#80 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ballesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ballesta

Property: Hostal Ballesta
Address: Calle Ballesta 5, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#89 Family Hotel in Madrid
#98 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Ballesta 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballesta Hostel is an economic and modern hostel, situated right in Madrid´s city centre just a few metres away from La Gran Via (Madrid´s high street). Its unbeatable location gives guests a great variety of possibilities for public transport connections, whatever their plans are, business or pleasure.The Ballesta is recommended among Madrid´s downtown hostels, due to its proximity to Gran Via, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Old Town, Royal Palace and the Prado museum, as well as offering a wide variety of venues for entertainment, eating out and shopping. Putting all Madrid’s hotspots on our guests’ doorstep!It has recently been refurbished and is modern and economical with all the services needed to offer a pleasant stay for our guests, making it one of the best options for accommodation in Madrid’s city centre.With 35 rooms, singles, doubles and triples with private bathroom, lcd television, telephone, heating, air conditioning, free Wifi….the Ballesta hostel is a great choice, offering superb quality at an incredibly low cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Ballesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ballesta Madrid
Hostal Ballesta Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing