We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get a good workout!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Adria Santa Ana
Ranked #103 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The only downside, if you want to call it that, are the uneven steps to get to the 4th floor. Aside from that this is a very nice and super clean place to stay in the heart of Madrid - for a very fair price. The location is very convenient, but quite noisy. This is a good deal but familiarize yourself with the fact that there is no staff at this location, the noise and the steps - if these don't bother you I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed with my wife for a couple of nights at the Santa Ana Hostal. It is part of a set of two pensions in downton Madrid very close to Santa Ana Square and to Sol Square. It is a fourth floor pension with no elevator and you have to check in in the other pension a block away.

Having said that, the room was spotlesly clean, very well furnished. Our room faced to the street, but it had double windows and we didn't hear any noise. The bed was very good and comfortable.

Public transportation is very close, Sol train and metro station is a couple of blocks away, and it is very well situated to visit Madrid main attractions and also has plenty of restaurants and bars to eat and to drink.

To be fair the proper mark should be more than average, but less of very good. It is a recommendable place to stay, despite the stairs and the check in the other property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Top floor (4 flights) of a lovely building in a convenient neighborhood. We had room 305 on the courtyard--no street noise whatsoever. The room was spacious, clean, and nicely-decorated with a comfortable bathroom, good closet space and an easy walk to everywhere. The staff was friendly and spoke good English, there was good email communication (including a thank-you after our stay) and help with luggage. Be sure to give your cab driver the address for the main hotel (to check in) at Calle del la Cruz 26, or you'll have to drag your luggage twice. Twin beds side-by-side, no top sheet (just a featherbed)--this seems to be par for the course in Spain. Don't those Latin lovers ever snuggle? Also the stairs are unevenly-spaced (there's a warning sign), so be sure to hold onto the handrail.

Room Tip: 305 was on a quiet courtyard and there was no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzmom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel was clean, newly renovated, a good price, and pleasant furnishings, but right across the street was a Flamenco Disco which was noisy all night until 4 am. Unfortunately, even with the windows and blinds closed, we were unable to sleep due to the noise. We tried to use the air conditioning to muffle the outside noise, but that was too cold (we were there in April). It may have been a bit less noisy in rooms on the courtyard, but we were unable to change rooms. Luckily the management was accomodating and refunded us the balance of our stay when we moved hotels.

Room Tip: Not on the street - too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here for five nights during our visit to Madrid. The hostal gave us good clear directions of how to find the check-in from the airport via public transport, and were very efficient and friendly during our midnight check-in.

On the plus side: the hostal is ideally located. It's only a few minutes from Sol, the central plaza of Madrid with excellent metro & train connections. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Also, the internet connection is very good. There are literally thousands of eating options for breakfast, lunch and dinner and to fit every budget within a few minutes walk.

On the down side (which are really just minor points): Though we had no problems with neighbours, the walls are pretty thin and it isn't hard to hear water pipes, TV and a bit of noise. I can also imagine that street facing rooms would be exposed to more noise. As for amenities, the shower is pretty small and TV only shows Spanish channels. Also, there is no breakfast option - not that this should even matter here.

For the price you pay, you get good value for money. I'd stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Room 309 is near the back of the building away from the street. I think this is a little quiter, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

From booking to our stay was very efficient. Hotel provides detailed instructions for travel from the airport. On arrival we were gven a map with suggestions for visits and the offer of further advice if required. Rooms were comfortable and clean. It is lively in the surrounding area in to early hours but this was not unpleasant at all. Staff at the hotel are very helpful indeed. Madrid is a great city to visit with a lovely atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank mary163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very comfortable, clean and close to the heart of Madrid. Streets are buzzing until very late, but decent windows and curtains made the Hostal Adria Santa Ana a quiet retreat. I rather liked opening the windows at 11:30pm to hear Flamenco pounding up three stories from the bar below. This is the lively center of town and I thought it was very exciting. Yeah, the stairs are "crazy stairs."
My two teenagers and I spent four nights and were very happy with the room. Plenty of space, refrigerator, TV, wifi, safe, etc. Staff was very responsive and helpful. I reserved via the website and their email communication was quick, clear and and precise. We had a great time and I would return to either of these Hostals eagerly.

Room Tip: I got the sense that the two triples in the Hostal Adria Santa Ana were among the largest of the ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sakami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#216 of 437 in Madrid
369 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#141 of 437 in Madrid
621 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 437 in Madrid
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Hostal Alexis
Hostal Alexis
#15 of 279 in Madrid
206 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Madrid Star
Hostal Madrid Star
#42 of 279 in Madrid
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Adria Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Adria Santa Ana

Address: Calle Nunez de Arce 15, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £52 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Adria Santa Ana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great small hotel, located in the heart of downtown Madrid. Ten rooms equiped first class, beautifully decorated. Quiet and colorful, the best option at the best rates in Madrid. Double, tripe and quadruple rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Adria Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Adria Santa Ana Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing