We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, adequate rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Adria Santa Ana
Ranked #88 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This colorful hostel is on the 4th floor (with a lift) of an old building in the city center. Great location, if you don't mind the "working girls" lining up in doorways around 5pm! The room was fine (hard bed) and the staff quite helpful. The walls are thin and we could hear music and conversation from our neighbers. There is a room air conditioner we turned on to mask the noise, but it didn't really help.
They have two buildings, though, so be careful where you book. The Adriano is where we stayed. The Santa Ana is a block away on the 3rd floor with NO lift.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights in March 2013. 4.5 stars!

Positive:
Great, modern rooms--decent size, equipped with WiFi, heat/cool system, desk, refrigerator, satellite tv, in-room safe, and a very comfortable bed. Extremely convenient location. Check-in around the corner at Hostal Adriano was quick and painless, and they give an excellent walking map. The staff also accommodated our request for an interior room, which was quiet. For the price we were extremely pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend to friends!

Negative (if you can call it that):
We were completely satisfied with our stay, and this hostal was the undisputed favorite during our 2 weeks in Spain. But as clarification for travelers with specific needs, we wouldn't call the room immaculate, as some reviewers have, but it was very clean and we had no issues. The shower was a bit tight; there is no elevator and the steps are a bit uneven; and the bed did not have a top/flat sheet (just the duvet/comforter).

Excellent for young travelers, couples, budget travelers. Probably not ideal for people seeking luxury accommodation or handicapped.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlynndao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Place is very clean and individualy aranged. We stayed 4 nights. After 2 nights the sheets has been changed likewise the towls. Room was cleaned every day. At night its a bit loud since the hostal is in the very heart of the city and party area. Tapas Bars, clubs.....all around the corner.
You get what you payed for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Carlito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Spend 4 nights in this hostal. It is very close to Sol metro station and Puerta del Sol, in the center of Madrid. The area of plaza Santa Ana is full of restaurants and bars ranging from mid price to expensive menus and with a busy nightlife. Being in the "downtown" area, there are prostitutes and beggars on the streets around but they don't bother you. I was traveling by myself and felt safe on the area, but precautions are always necessarily. The charming rooms have a good size and are exquisitely decorated. The hostal is immaculate and well mantained by its staff.. I was very satisfy with my pick of this hotel, specially considering price for value. Be aware that been a hostal, breakfast is not served, unfortunately. I highly recommended it!! My congratulations to its owners, keep the good work!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_Amado61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Spend 2 nights in this hostal, Great locations just a 3 minute walk from Sol. Not small size for room ( we are family 2 adult + 1 child). Very quiet room (one of the main point), very clean and best value for money which we spend for renting. One of the important point very friendly personnel (and speaks very good English). Hostal doesn't have elevator, so be ready to handle Your luggage to 4 floors.

Room Tip: Room 310 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This quirky little place was the best value we had through of 10-day trip through Spain in October 2012. It exceeded my expectations. It was in pristine condition, had a superb location, and was charming. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeabornDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This little hostal (not to be confused with hostel) was a great find for our long weekend in Madrid. The location couldn't be better, just off Plaza Santa Ana and 2 mins walk to Sol which meant there were loads of tapas and drinks options and we were in a lively area. The rooms were a reasonable size and decorated in a very creative, colourful way. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning was very efficient, the internet signal was excellent and they also included a fridge which was useful. The bathroom was small and didn't have a bath but was very clean and the shower was powerful.
The only things to bear in mind are that this hostal is on the third floor with no lift and fairly uneven stairs which isn't great after a long day sightseeing. And also, as it is a hostal rather than a hotel there's no reception or staff on the premises and you have to check in at the sister hostal two roads away.
Other than those two minor disadvantages this is a great option.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#217 of 441 in Madrid
375 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#46 of 441 in Madrid
1,320 reviews
NH Madrid Ventas
#60 of 441 in Madrid
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#12 of 424 in Madrid
1,304 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#147 of 441 in Madrid
759 reviews
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#130 of 441 in Madrid
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Adria Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Adria Santa Ana

Address: Calle Nunez de Arce 15, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Adria Santa Ana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great small hotel, located in the heart of downtown Madrid. Ten rooms equiped first class, beautifully decorated. Quiet and colorful, the best option at the best rates in Madrid. Double, tripe and quadruple rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Adria Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Adria Santa Ana Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing