We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2 day stay”
Review of Hostal Salamanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Salamanca
Ranked #88 of 285 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two days and it was great. It was very safe and clean. Also, the staff were unbelievably helpful. We were new to Madrid and they spent the longest time explaining the geography, major sites and attractions. Loved it and would go again!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Rajkumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsalamanca, Director General at Hostal Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Desr Guest
Thank you for your comments.
We wish you will come back soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I went there for a night on a business trip. Overall it was like any other hostel I've been.I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom and I thought there would be a common room for the clientes in that 'apartment' but there wasn't. The place of the hostel was near Atocha metro station and easy to connect with other emblematic places.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeroZamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsalamanca, Director General at Hostal Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015
Google Translation

Estimada Clienta
Le agradecemos sus comentarios esperemos nos visite en otra ocasión y así pueda conocer nuestros diferentes tipos de habitaciones y poder convertirnos en su referencia cuando visite madrid.

Un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hostel is very reasonably priced and it is in a great location with easy access to all of the city's main attractions! My room was clean, and felt safe. However, it was quite noisy, even on the 'quiet' 4th floor. There is no wardrobe space at all - a problem if you're planning a longish stay! There also isn't a safe, despite this being advertised on their website, and my shower was broken. The wifi connection was incredibly weak, and once connected, painfully slow. If you're looking for a cheap, clean, basic place to stay - it's perfect; if you're after anything more than that, you might be disappointed!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah-Boucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsalamanca, Director General at Hostal Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Dear guest
Thank you for your visit
We wish you will come back soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked with booking.com but we weren't told that we had to go to the 3rd floor to book in so i just waited until the postman showed up and asked him what to do. Other than that, the establishment is very secure and clean. There is a communal lounge and fridge. Our room had air conditioning. Breakfast is not included but there are cafes near by for that, or you can buy something at the grocery store near by the night before and keep it in the fridge. The metro is near by. It is certainly value for money. If you have a car the parking is expensive but is secure.

Room Tip: our room was quiet with security shutters but other patrons kept waking us up at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aussieschrislora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsalamanca, Director General at Hostal Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Dear guest
Thank you for you coment we wish you will visit us soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

good personnel, nicely located in the centre of the city, close to the main attractions. the don't have a microwave though they have a fridge. this makes you overspend on breakfasts. they are clean, but don't have hair dryers.

Room Tip: not every room has a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kmaratte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsalamanca, Director General at Hostal Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Dear Guest
Thank you for your coments, in reference to your coments next time you visit us please ask our recepcion stafff because they can solve all the problems you are talking about.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I arrived late and when I tried to enter my room there were already people in there. So the guy in the reception offered me to return my money so I could find another hotel, but it was 1 in the morning and I was alone. At last we found a hotel but they refused to pay me more for the inconvenience and that to me it is terrible. And almost for the same price I found another hotel a lot better and with private bathroom (which the other didn't have).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ferlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsalamanca, Director General at Hostal Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015
Google Translation

Estimada Clienta
Le agradecemos su comentario, espero nos visite en otra ocasión y así pueda conocer los diferentes tipos de habitaciones de nuestro hostal y nos tenga como referencia en sus visitas a madrid.
Un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hostal is conveniently located near to the Manuel Bercerra metro station. Plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. Can walk to the centre in about 40 minutes. Clean and comfortable rooms, good AC and wifi included in the price. Private and quiet. The only downside was the bathroom which is separated from the bedroom by only a frosted glass screen door. This means that toilet visits leave little to the imagination for the other person in your room. Need to pay 'sit down' visits whilst out and about if you want to keep the magic alive in your relationship :)

Room Tip: State whether you want a double or twin room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamZTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsalamanca, Director General at Hostal Salamanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Dear guest
Thank you for your comments.
We hope you will come back soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio Salamanca
NeoMagna Madrid
NeoMagna Madrid
#309 of 443 in Madrid
343 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
BlueSense Madrid Serrano
BlueSense Madrid Serrano
#392 of 443 in Madrid
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
JQC Rooms
JQC Rooms
#219 of 285 in Madrid
103 reviews
Malasaña
Flat5Madrid
Flat5Madrid
#39 of 285 in Madrid
359 reviews
Sol
Hostal Fuentesol
Hostal Fuentesol
#197 of 285 in Madrid
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Salamanca

Address: Calle Jose Ortega y Gasset 89, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: £26 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Salamanca 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal located in the center of Madrid, the residential area of ​​Salamanca Borough, our property is characterized by a family atmosphere, with renovated rooms and carefully decorated. We have different types of room categories which will suit all budgets. It is strategically located in a quiet area, close to the most important tourist points of the city. It is very well connected to the public transport network, with have quick access to the bus and train stations of the capital. An ideal choice for your stay in Madrid. The nearest metro is 2 minutes walk, Manuel Becerra (Line 6 and 2), just 15 minutes from Madrid Sol. We are located 16 minutes from Avenida de América, from where all buses leave to any part of Spain and to London (International Bus). The Bull Square of Ventas, is to 10 minutes walking of our property. We have private parking spaces, with a cost of 20,00 Euros / Night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing