We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem in the heart of old town madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Ranked #90 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we were a group of 30-ish year old lads heading over to madrid for a long birthday celebration weekend which was booked rather last minute and we took what we could find at a reasonable price. however, I cant praise the hotel and it's location enough. location is perect, room was fine and the bathroom was very modern (shower was ace). we had three lads sharing a room and would have really settled for whatever but it was spot on.

the staff were very friendly and always took the time to point us in the right direction.

check it out its the perfect base for wine and tapas!! you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farry14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Petit Palace. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our rooms and services.
Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights last week. The Hotel was well positioned, a short walk from the Plaza, the Palace and many other sights, not to mention the numerous shops and restaurants. If you turn left from the hotel there was also an excellent cafe serving churros and chocolate, a must for any Madrid stay! We had a 3 bed room which was small but comfortable. The 3rd bed was not a rollaway bed but a comfortable single. The bathroom was modern with an excellent shower. A plentiful, varied breakfast buffet was available. The only gripe was that the heating was on soo high that the room was stuffy and we had to open the window to let in some air. Would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iguana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

To our esteemed guest,

It was such a pleasure reading your comment. We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. Without doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard.
We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here last week for 3 days on a short city break and enjoyed the hotel and area very much. The hotel is so central, just a short walk from Sol and across the road from Plaza Mayor. The hotel is very modern with a laptop in the room for free use if required.Only a couple of criticisms, one was when we went into the room it had an unpleasant smell,it was like a dirty drain smell. However, when we ran off the water the smell did subside.I think that maybe the room had not been used for a few days hense the smell. The second was that there was a huge stain on the carpet which really needs to be addressed, but It certaily did not put us off the staying there.
We did not eat breafast in the hotel so I cannot comment on it, we just went to local cafes which were great value for money. The Market across the road is just fantastic, the tapas are amazing and the fresh fruit superb.
On one of our days we did the Bravo bike tour, which again was a great experience. Madrid is not really a bike freandly city but Geyza (spelling)! our Hungarian tour guide was brilliant. He even came to lunch with us to translate and help us with ordering lunch(as our spannish is not too good). I would really recommend doing the tour as you get a great feel for the city, which is beautiful.
We also went to the Bernabeu Stadium and did the tour which again was great value for money at 16 euros.
Madrid is a beautiful city and very inexpensive. We would definately love to return and explore some more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor(7th) and facing the back of hotel are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shinty0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Petit Palace. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our rooms and services.

I look forward to meeting you upon your return.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I travelled with my family, husband and two kids (10 and 12 years old) in Madrid. We stayed at Petit Palace Mayor hotel in a 4-bed family room, which was very big and very convenient for us four, with a huge bathroom, with bathtub and shower too. Generally, it was clean (apart from the moquette which was full of stains!!). Modern decoration, free internet and laptop in the room, and a minibar were the pros of the room. Ours was on the fourth floor and it was bigger than our friends' on the seventh floor, which did not have a bathtub. Staff was friendly and although we could not do late check out, they offered to keep our luggage in the hotel until our departure, after 12pm. For a family, I thing it is a very suitable hotel, centrally located and with a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaliThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear client:

Firstly thank you for your comments and the detailed description of the hotel and its services.
We're glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope your visit again on your next trip to Petit Palace Mayor.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A beautiful hotel in the centre of the city.
Near by 2 metro stations.
Breakfast was excellent.
Room was high tech espessialy the bathroom and the beautiful beds.Friendly and helpfull personnal.
Top of the bill was the free laptop and internet in my room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjef89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment about your stay in our hotel.
Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

As I have said before, conditions have much to do with the experience, meaning what state of mind you arrive in and what is offered to you can really effect one's opinion.

After a 24 hour delayed flight out of the US, showing up here was a great start to our trip in Spain. The desk staff exhibited everything I would come to love about Spain: intelligence, personality, and pride without pretension.

They checked us in early, which is a real boon when you arrive 6 hours ahead of your check in time and you can't figure out what day it is. The room was small but efficient, nice lay out, and cozy and clean. Free wi-fi. Bathroom was perfect.

The room was very very quiet. I slept for hours here.

The little breakfast they offer down stairs is very good and an easy way to start the day. It will be much cheaper than going across the street to the market, especially if you are from the US and used to a larger breakfast than what the Spaniards tend to eat.

The location is aces. You are a nice walk to the Prado, there's a nice market across the street that really comes alive after 10pm. You can just wander around ordering little tapas and sipping on real nice regional wines.

If you duck left onto a side street coming out of the hotel, you can get lost in Madrid's maze of streets with an endless amount of steps to take. The whole experience here was a real nice way to start a trip to Spain, and again, the staff is friendly and genuine.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that faces inward, without a view, you are likely to get a quiet night's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inspaininthemembrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento de ventas at Petit Palace Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Petit Palace Hotels and sending your feedback about Petit Palace Mayor Hotel. We're glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you liked the room, breakfast, location and care of the details of the hotel, because every day is done with the
utmost care.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Very central location and 30 second walk to the metro station Sevilla. There is a Starbucks across the street.

Efficient check in and friendly helpful staff.

Rooms were modern, boutique style. Shower was adequate but body jet were not much use for me as I am a bit short and I ended up with my faced being blasted with water. Good water pressure and big shower.

No sound proofing in the room. I was at the end of the second floor and was woken up each morning with the doors banging shut, maids cleaning or traffic outside.

Beds were very hard. Too hard for me.

Air con was in a timer in my room. It would go off during the night and I would wake up very hot. Switch it on and then it would go off again. I was in a group and this was mentioned by other members of my group who had other rooms.

Didn't enjoy breakfast at all. There was adequate selection, but nothing special.

Not sure if I will return as there are plenty hotels in the area where the soundproofing would be better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#150 of 440 in Madrid
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#108 of 440 in Madrid
795 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Mayor 46, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Mayor)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Madrid
#99 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £79 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Plaza Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is next to Madrid's Plaza Mayor and 5 minutes walking from the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol. It's centrally located, with Opera Metro Station 200 metres away. The Prado Museum and Retiro Park are a 5-minute Metro trip away. All of the modern and stylish rooms at the Petit Palace are equipped with a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, hydromassage shower, free Wi-Fi and an iPad can be provided on request. A buffet breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room, set in an authentic 19th-century wine cellar. The hotel offers guests the free use of bicycles. The market of San Miguel is opposite the hotel. Here you can taste a variety of typical Spanish products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Mayor Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing