We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent if you like lamb!”
Review of Asador de Aranda

Asador de Aranda
Ranked #783 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$56
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Spanish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The first Asador de Aranda opened it's doors on August 1983 in Plaza de Castilla. Since then, the majestic wood oven lights day after day, to delight the palates of those who, to him, approach in search of the most famous roast lamb capital. Special menus for vegetarians, halal and adapted to celiacs. Children's menu. Pecking bar. We accept orders to take-away. Concerted one hour free parking Vinci Plaza Castilla. Restaurant capacity 70 people.
Northampton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent if you like lamb!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

There are 5 of these restaurants in Madrid. The one we went to was in Preciados 44. If we hadn't had a recommendation to go here then we would never have opened the door. Everywhere else in the street has tables outside. This restaurant has a traditional exterior and a shut door! Could have been a house if we didn't know better. Inside was a treat. Traditional rustic style and very clean. And the food was really good if you like quality rustic fare. But a limited menu based around the lamb speciality. Best meal I had in Madrid.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spectacle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    97
    34
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent simple food; lamb outstanding”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very straight forward uncomplicated food, well prepared in a traditional establishment, with wood burning oven in the back of the front room ( I think there is additional seating downstairs, but didn't explore.

Grilled red peppers and grilled asparagus were good starters, and left us hungry enough to greatly enjoy the exceptional quarter lamb for two (40€); very young lamb slow roasted to fork tenderness then finished in a hot oven to crisp the skin, served family style. No additional seasoning needed, except for the garlic slivers tucked here and there in the decent sized portion of lamb. Rice pudding was typical of the region, a bit runny and with more cinnamon than we like, and dairy/egg style tart unremarkable but good. Service was no-frills, professional and deft. For some reason, there was a 10% discount for dinner on the Wednesday night in May we dined. Total before discount was 94€ for two starters, the lamb, two deserts, two coffees, and a very good Ribera del Duero ( a bit pricey at 25€)

NB: Restaurant closed Monday nights

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of Madrid”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It is a must in Madrid. Have the cordero asado( oven roasted lamb) and the cochinillo (baby pig). The best in town, delicious and inexpensive.
The staff was delightful and the place is very typical and beautiful. Highly recommend it and have the dessert it was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ecb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vîla do Conde
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We followed some advices of tripadvisors members and asked the 35 euro menu, but changed the lamb for piglet. The bread was ok, the entries were ok, the wine was ok, the meat was ok, the dessert was ok, the waiters were ok, the atmosphere was ok. So, it's ok paying 35 euro for a nice meal, nothing bad, nothing delicious. 3 stars for me. However, I must say that my wife loved the black pudding and the piglet, it's why I give 4 stars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEL-AVIV
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Typical Spanish Grilled Lamb Restaurant moderate prices”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Good location but mediocre food. The lamb was too much burned and portions are small. The portions were thrown mid of table to be distirbuted between us all. Really very simple style.Service is OK

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BALDWIN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asador de Aranda also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Las Rozas, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Asador de Aranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing