We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Restaurant”
Review of St. James

St. James
Reserve with
St. James is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,134 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$59 - US$88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Barrio de Salamanca
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner in Madrid at St. James Restaurant where we met friends for wonderful Paella, drinks and desert. The atmosphere was good and the service outstanding. This may have been our best dinner of the vacation. Try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pastalisious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    113
    56
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to eat the different Spanish rices”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The concierge of hotel Villa Magna recommended this restaurant for the typical paella style of rice famous in Spain. My wife had a paella and I had the arroz a banda. Both were sensational! We had a seafood platter for starters with the different types of shrimp (carabinero, langostino and gambas) that were excellent too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
403 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent paella. Great service.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Had a wonderful meal here with a good friend. The serrano ham appetizer was great. The seafood paella was delicious. The portions were huge and very filling. One of the best paellas that I had in a long time. Highly recommended. Great wine selection as well. The wait staff was very professional and friendly. Worth a trip!
Outdoor seating for smokers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dogeyedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent rice !”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Very good rice and paellas in a nice atmosphere
There are several and different restaurants in Madrid and are perfect for a business lunch or day lunch

Helpful?
Thank Marta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“superb paella presented in a spotless atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

what a delight to return to this wonderful restaurant where paella and fish dishes are served with great flair. although the lobster paella was listed as "for two", jose, the maitre d' was more than willing to make it for my husband, while he prepared a paella for me with chicken and vegetables as i do not eat fish. both paellas were not only delicious but enough for two or three meals!!!!
the restaurant is spotless----so clean, and attractively decorated that it is a pleasure to visit, and enjoy the food they have to offer. they have menus in english but the waiters can assist you whatever your language!
it is clearly a restaurant that the locals dine at which tells you how good the food has to be!
jose, is very engaging and welcoming, and clearly proud of his restaurant and the food he serves. there is more than one st. james in madrid, but the one on juan bravo 26 is the one we have visited.
after dinner, they will call a taxi for you, and jose will escort the lady of the party to the taxi and kiss her hand.....a perfect ending to a delightful dinner and a true spanish experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diana z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. James also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing