We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda
Ranked #403 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a very standard hotel with outdated decor. The location is fine if you don't mind walking around the city, it takes about 15-20 minutes to walk into the centre of Madrid. The main disadvantage to this hotel is that it's noisy - sounds seem to carry all around the hotel from the stairs, the lift lobby, people talking in the corridors and closing doors - you can even hear people talking in the rooms above, below and adjacent! We stayed 3 nights and didn't really get a decent night's sleep on all 3 nights due to the noise. One saving grace however was the breakfast in the restaurant - a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, a great cup of coffee and a slice of delicious thick toast cooked on a griddle, all for around £1.50!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the ends of the corridors and on the upper floors in order to avoid excessive noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anth_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This is the worst Hotel I ve been, surely it s not a 4 stars hotel, maybe is a 1/2 star hotel. The service is poor, the rooms are not well cleaned and food is just ORRIBLE and NASTY, the wifi doesn't work properly and it s very hard to use it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank RAZVAN93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

we stayed here for new years, It it extremely easy to get to hotel from Madrid Airport as it is located across from the metro station (Principe Pio) The hotel is by no means close to a 4 star the decor it old 1970's style. The rooms were very clean as was the en-suite, but again the en-suite was in bad need of updating. We had a really nice view of the river which was great. We have breakfast on the last morning which after reading reviews I was pleasantly surprised with the selection available.You don't expect fresh fruit cocktail as it was clear it was fresh from a can which for a 4 star hotel i thought was disgraceful. I had no problems really staying here and would stay here again as it is a nice location ,just a short walk to Gran Via or Taxi cost roughly € 4.20.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay8t2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel
Nice spacious rooms but they need updating if you want to label it a 4 star hotel.
Free wi-fi service is only available in the lobby and rarely works – so find a free Wifi spot in the city to check emails or opening times for places you want to visit.
Really good location – it’s opposite a large shopping centre and metro/train/bus station.
Rooms have a fridge but no kettle. Bathroom has a hairdryer but be prepared for the shower to flood the room! Toilet in our room and surrounding rooms made a noise not unlike a motorbike being started – so don’t flush at night if you don’t want to wake up your neighbours!

Food
The Hotel Cafeteria provides nice simple food that wasn’t overpriced considering what it was. Staff in here are not all that helpful or keen to serve you.
Breakfast is good, there is a small selection of hot food along with pastries, bread, cereals and fruit (not fresh though). Machines available which dispense hot drinks and juices.

Staff
Unfriendly, pulled faces behind the backs of other guests. Couldn’t speak English and generally seemed offended by having to talk to you.

Summary
We were happy with our stay because it was part of a package deal and saved us a lot of money. If we had booked this hotel expecting 4 star quality and paid the full price we would not have been at all happy. I wish the hotel management would actually read these reviews and do something at least about the rude staff and the poor Wifi access (as in, it doesn’t work!).

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back of the building, as there is a large street at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celuisma_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente. Antes que nada queremos agradecerle el haberse tomado el tiempo para darnos a conocer sus opiniones y experiencias de nuestro hotel. Sentimos mucho que nuestras instalaciones no hayan estado en óptimas condiciones, estamos constantemente trabajando para re-modelar nuestras habitaciones y poder ofrecerles el mejor servicio. Esperamos que en un futuro nos de la oportunidad de volver a atenderle y haremos lo posible porque su experiencia sea mas agradable.

Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The rooms were spacious with air conditioning, large bathrooms, and comfy beds. Everything was very clean too.The breakfast buffet is very good and has a variety of options to choose from.The hotel is well located, within walking distance of the Gran Via, and just across the street from the Metro Station (Principe Pio).This is the ideal hotel to explore Madrid, which is a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Its just ok. About a 20 minute walk to all the main locations and nightlife. I paid only 50 USD per night as I purchased it on a mystery hotel site. Its not for the business traveler as there was not any wifi working in the hotel. Its only a three star and one can find something closer to the action for the same amount or less money. Hotel was very clean though. I would stay here again but would never pay more than 60 USD per night. Look around for something near the Grand Via to be close to the night life.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a plasma tv as they are nicer.(Lowest 4 star but better)Remind them than this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm73174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

On the whole, this hotel was not as bad as many of the other reviews make it seem. The room had been refurbished, and was very clean. It is a big hotel, with lots of people coming and going all the time, seeming to cater to tourist groups on buses. The breakfast buffet was roomy enough, with at least 3 different complete stations to accommodate everyone. It is true that the wi-fi was not working at all. I had to use their "business computer" (cost 3.50) to print my boarding pass, and the first few websites were in Spanish, so a desk clerk came to help us to get us to the Delta website, which was in English. We spent 2 nights, being with a 20-member church group, and I didn't hear any complaints. TV selection was all in Spanish--nothing very interesting.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor with a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jugandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Acta Madfor
#117 of 437 in Madrid
1,157 reviews
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#133 of 437 in Madrid
957 reviews
Principe Pio Hotel
#120 of 437 in Madrid
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#210 of 437 in Madrid
746 reviews
Hotel Praga
#318 of 437 in Madrid
1,329 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#352 of 437 in Madrid
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda

Address: Paseo Florida 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £68 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House Florida Norte Hotel is in the city centre, close to the Royal Palace and the main accesses to Madrid. High capacity, elegant and sober decoration. With an excellent service and a warm team prepared to make you feel at home. At the hotel we offer you a private garage, boutiques, money exchange, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Florida Norte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing