We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT EVEN CLOSE TO 4 STARS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda
Ranked #403 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were one of many tour groups here. At first the lobby looks impressive, but upon closer examination you can tell it was grand in perhaps 1975. The Brady Bunch furniture in the lounging lobby is laughable 70s green and SMELLS! They keep the lights low in here so you don't notice.
Our room. Oh dear. I was so uncomfortable. Also old and funky smelling, the walls were 70s gold and DIRTY. The carpet, dark green and so dirty and smelly. We had an updated bathroom with a poor tiling job, but some of our group had the pink bathroom from the 70s. No coffee, no watchable TV, no comfy chair, terrible, hard beds, thin walls. If I had booked this and was alone, I would have walked out. (The hotel is HUGE, so check your room--updating seems to be happening...)
The breakfast was terrible as well: Hot dogs heated up as "sausage," runny mushy scrambled eggs, and canned fruit dumped in a bowl.
We also had a grouchy bartender who worked the breakfast the next morning.
This is a ONE STAR hotel. I would NEVER stay here again.
Positives? We did use wifi in the lobby which we were desperate for, and we were in walking distance to many places.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jalee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

On June 2 we arrived to this hotel on our way to make El Camino de Santiago. That night we had a great room with a beautiful view to the park. When we returned on June 12, it was as if the hotel had been taken 20 years back and our room was very old and most of the things in the bathroom didn't work well. Same hotel, different rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soltropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Perfectly located in front of Metro Station and shopping mall!
Rooms are little bit old but average clean.
Very nice attentive crew and friendly.
Although the included breakfast was good the Cafeteria food wasn't.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Travelled here in May 2014 by myself and booked through BA Holidays.
I arrived just before a huge bus loads of tourists so was able to check in reasonably quick!
Was given a double/twin room, which was large, up to date decor wise and very clean throughout.
There was a tv in the room but only had one english channel and that was Disney! Not a deal clincher, but its the only hotel I have travelled to in the last 5 years that has had no english news channel! The hotel is located right next to a main and underground train station (Principe Pio) and is only a 10 minute walk to Plaza Espana and Gran Via, and looks across at the Royal Palace. This is a great hotel to base yourself.
Warning!! I looked at the reviews about this hotel which were favourable - but quite a few mentioned noise! Firstly the floors in all the rooms are wooden, so you hear everyone at the side of you and above walking around their rooms at all times. Additionally, for some reason the mass of tourists that congregate in the corridors outside room is incredible. I stayed 2 nights and got no more than an hours sleep each night. I spoke to a german couple at breakfast and they stated they had not slept in 5 nights! Breakfast by the way was reasonable but the scrambled eggs were freezing cold!
I try to be as honest as I can and do not like to give negative views, however I cam home exhausted as I could not get any sleep. Also be aware the amount of children running up and down the corridors at midnight!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BTCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, good value for money. In a great location less than a minutes walk from the metro station and shopping mall. Staff were helpful and friendly. The decor is a little dated but hotel was spotlessly clean.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Its a good hotel, great location, the rooms are a bit outdated (especially the bathrooms). Breakfast is good but they could have more options. The bad thing about this hotel is that is soooooo noisy, noises everywhere! (And we got a room in the back per recommendation). People moving things, people arguing, yelling, talking, all the time, even early in the morning!! Impossible to sleep!. The wifi signal is very poor in the rooms but overall is a good hotel cause its in a greeeat location and it has a shopping mall right across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrielap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Well worth the stay. Big hotel with lots of rooms and guests. Breakfast could have more options but it's what you need without any type of luxuries. Just across the street you have a metro station and a shopping centre. Royal palace, sabatini gardens and the egiptyan Temple are very near.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank pedrosmcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Acta Madfor
#118 of 437 in Madrid
1,155 reviews
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#135 of 437 in Madrid
954 reviews
Principe Pio Hotel
#121 of 437 in Madrid
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#206 of 437 in Madrid
746 reviews
Hotel Praga
#317 of 437 in Madrid
1,329 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#331 of 437 in Madrid
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda

Address: Paseo Florida 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £68 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House Florida Norte Hotel is in the city centre, close to the Royal Palace and the main accesses to Madrid. High capacity, elegant and sober decoration. With an excellent service and a warm team prepared to make you feel at home. At the hotel we offer you a private garage, boutiques, money exchange, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Florida Norte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing