We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Madrid!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albergue Juvenil Madrid
Ranked #104 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice in Madrid!”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Cheap, very clean, friendly hostel really close to the city center. Even though the walls are paper thin (had a bit of a hard time sleeping sometimes), you've got everything you need: WiFi, breakfast, private bathrooms, etc. Breakfasts could be better, it is true, but at that price, there is nothing to complain about. I recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    38
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
6
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

This hostel is perfect for your travel. It is clean and spacious rooms and the facilities in the hostel are perfect. There is free wifi and free computer Internet use and a free standard breakfast every morning. Only a short walk to the heart of Madrid city. Worth staying at.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nIchOlaS870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

PLUS: Very clean and modern hostel, with friendly and helpful staff. Located close to the city center and party places - everything walking distance. Highly recommend the night-program / pub-crawls with the hostel's social coordinator German. Hostel also offers WiFi or computers to use free of charge. Lockers in the room (1-EUR coin deposit).
MINUS: Breakfast is quite poor. Bathroom floor when wet is slippery.
TIP: As in any hostel in the world or any place with more people in the room, it is good idea to bring earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hostel is pretty clean, but looks a little bit more like a hospital than hospitable. Receptionist (Virginia, in particular) was very nice about giving information. Pub crawls are offered every night, which I recommend. It's a great chance to meet people from other hostels and discover nightlife of Puerta del Sol. The showers will leak out into the bathroom floor if you're not careful about how you splash the water, but the bathrooms, showers, and bedroom are all clean. Lockers available in the rooms, which are good for storing your items. I would recommend this hostel, but it wouldn't be my first choice in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I spent two nights in Madrid and booked this hostel for its location. It was easy to find and within walking distance of some small bars that also served cheap food so that was all good.
Also the Puerta Del Sol and its shops were within walking distance.

The hostel was too big for me but I had some people to see in town and didn't spend much time at the hostel. The dorm was nice though with its black-ish bathroom, it was quite clean as well. Quite noisy at night though...

The only big downside to my stay there was that the dorm was way too warm - june and about 35°C daytime. So I asked at reception where was the aircon in the dorm as advertised on their website and the woman told me the temperature wasn't high enough yet for the hostel to be allowed to turn the aircon on... ok... So barely any sleep the first night, then on the second night we finally got the aircon but to me it was more like a fan... not very effective:(

The breakfast was included but I thought it was quite poor... 2 slices of toasted bread, some jam and "fake" orange juice.

For the rest it was ok though, staff was nice and let me use their luggage room for free after checking out, clean place, enough computers, ... Just a really big hostel full with people everywhere day and night:)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frosti2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great service, reception, rooms, bathroom, breakfast and location. Very clean. Probably the best place that i've ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hostel has a very modern feel (so perhaps not the best option for those who prefer a hostel with lots of character!). The room was good, with 4 beds and its own bathroom which was spacious and clean. We were disappointed to find that the air conditioning only seemed to work intermittently, resulting in the room being too hot to sleep in. We told reception but they didn't seem too concerned, although were polite. We were dismayed to be receive misinformation from a member of reception staff on departure, which resulted in us going to the wrong train station in Madrid and missing our train. Aside from these issues, the hostel was fairly good, in a nice location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Albergue Juvenil San Fermin
#361 of 436 in Madrid
18 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#113 of 436 in Madrid
588 reviews
Chueca
Hostel Era
Hostel Era
#214 of 404 in Madrid
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#23 of 404 in Madrid
819 reviews
Scout Madrid Hostel
#117 of 404 in Madrid
24 reviews
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#9 of 404 in Madrid
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue Juvenil Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Juvenil Madrid

Property: Albergue Juvenil Madrid
Address: Calle Mejia Lequerica 21, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first Municipal Youth Hostel situated right in the centre of Madrid. The building of the hostel which was inagurated in 2007 boasts of the most modern facilities. The hostel has been named one of the best youth hostels in Europe, making Madrid an ideal place for tourism for national and international youth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing