We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor(Madrid)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
Official website
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
36
39
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
39
8
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Not very friendly staff here. I had quite a few problems getting information. The wifi was really bad a few days and the staff insisted it was my computer even though it was multiple people having the same problem. The breakfast was great. Laundry on site which was really nice. Rooms were good, had to switch rooms half way through stay because they didn't have a room available for my whole stay, which was annoying. They said it was normal but in 50+ hostels, I've never had to do that before. Overall, I wouldn't come back but it was just because of the staff, not because I didn't like the building, location or amenities.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo R, Gerente at Albergue Juvenil Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hola Adrian,

Thanks for your feed back.

However to improve our services we need you to tell us specifically what happened with our staff. Infact, if you look to the rest of reviews, you could see that we have many positive evaluations.
Regarding the fact you had to swich room, we apologise with you, but sometimes is imposible for us to keep you at the same one because we have reservations groups made with even more than 2 mounths notice...

About the wi fi we have to apologise once again with you but we want to specify that the compay which has to install the optical fiber is taking more than we expected for this service.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.
Many thanks
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

This is a very big hostel- you won't be able to tell until you go up the stairs and look for your room. The rooms are very nice and the place is very clean. You have your own bathroom in each room so you don't have to run down the hall grasping a towel or see anyone else do the same. The mattresses were weird- not bad, but just made of some material like a gym mat or something. The breakfast was just okay, nothing to get excited about. They let you leave your luggage in a locked room before check in, but the only thing I didn't like about it was that they just give you the key and send you to the luggage closet, hopefully there aren't many dishonest people going through other people's stuff.

There's also a school or day care or something in the same building- you can see their playground in the courtyard.. which is kind of different.

All in all I would stay here again- it was only 20 Euro and the rooms are nice.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

I was with some friends in the last Easter week in a 6 bedroom with private bathroom. Is perfectly located, close to Chueca, Malasaña, Gran Via, 25 minutes from El Retiro... Cleaning service is included and daily. The problem was that I was in room 8, close to the breakfast room, what it means that from 9.00H there was a lot of noise. The best is 4,5,6 that are in the middle of the corridor. Lockers inside the room. Rent towel 3€ with refundable deposit of 5€. I didnt take the breakfast, but one of my friends told me that was something very basic. Wifi doesnt work really good in some areas.

Room Tip: The best is 4,5,6 that are in the middle of the corridor. 1,2,3 close to the games room and 7,8,9 close to the breakfast room.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armand_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

At under 20 Euros per person per night, for a private 4 person room with a private bathroom, Albergue Juvenil was a good hostel in a really great part of Madrid, Malasana. The bathroom was huge with a lot of counterspace and separated toilet area and shower so multiple people could get ready at the same time. Room also had lockers and heat control. Downside was that we had to make our own beds with sheets that didn't fit well and hand soap wasn't provide in the rooms. Wifi, although free and accessible, was pretty spotty at times in the room. Otherwise the complimentary breakfast was pretty good although basic and the hostel offered a lot of nice recreational/living spaces. Overall a good, clean, safe hostel.

Room Tip: Private 4 person room was very affordable and 4th floor was quiet although weird to access, had to take two separate elevators on opposite sides of the building.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Cracking window equals a very cold room in the winter, Free wifi doesn't work on the other floors other than the Third floor, the bed was very hard, the breakfast lady were very mean, I fell I stayed in the prison. only good of these place is people in the front desk were nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay there even it is cheap, you get what you pay for it.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpbsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews