We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hostel in the area, because the location is the only positive thing about this hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Bahia Madrid
Ranked #343 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The owner of this hostel was yelling at my friend everytime we saw her during our 5 day vacantion. That is just something that is not acceptable. We are paying customers in this hostel so we at least deserve some respect. Plus it's not like we had done anything to upset here so here reactions were very unacceptable. The only reason we stayed out entire visit was that we had already paid otherwise we would have been right out of there.
And if she wants here hostel to be quiet she should stop with practically screaming when it's early in the morning (she ruined my sleep with that)
The beds were really small and we had a room with no windows. That was a let down.
The only positive thing is the location of the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svankempen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2010

They lied to me and told me the credit machine was broken so I had to pay in cash and then went ahead and charged my card with the supposedly broken machine in advance for the second night. Only stay here if you enjoy cancelling your credit cards.
The woman is an agressive tyrant who gets her jollies from bullying tourists. Stay away.
It's not worth the central location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairymanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

For the price we paid 60 Euros per night for a tiny room housing 3 people, we could have gotten a hotel for the same price or slightly more.

One of the managers was very unprofessional and rude to me and my friends. They live there as well. It is actually on one floor of a building so a bit hard to find if you're on the street. The sign for the hostel is very small and barely noticable.

Plusses are that it was clean, and in a convenient area to get around, lots to eat in the area, close to Plaza Mayor, Plaza del Sol and tour busses, the metro etc.

The shower head broke the first night we stayed there.
This is not the place if you're looking for something romantic.
No AC, but the fans were okay.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank skullgrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: que la elijan en otro hostal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liast86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank FranciscoSalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Bahia Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank chloeguardiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#235 of 437 in Madrid
220 reviews
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#47 of 414 in Madrid
365 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 414 in Madrid
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Alicante
Hostal Alicante
#216 of 279 in Madrid
58 reviews
Centro
TOC Hostel Madrid
TOC Hostel Madrid
#13 of 414 in Madrid
464 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#144 of 437 in Madrid
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bahia Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bahia Madrid

Address: Calle Carretas 31 2 Izq., 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £41 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Bahia Madrid 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Bahia Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing