We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wine and cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gonzalez

Gonzalez
Reserve with
Gonzalez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 10,542 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Spanish, Wine Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Huertas
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine and cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was one of our favourite spots during our recent visit to Madrid. We came upon it initially by chance and ended up visiting three times. It is a combination delicatessen/wine bar, with a wonderful selection of cured meats and cheeses and a large superb selection of wines by the glass. We had several dishes here and enjoyed them all, particularly the cheese plate. We let the staff select the cheeses and the variety and flavours were first rate, all interesting Spanish cheeses. We tried a number of wines and were very impressed by the wide range of good Spanish wines, particularly the reds. They also sell a large selection of wines by the bottle, and we bought four to bring home. We will definitely return to Gonzalez on our next trip to Madrid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happycamperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    109
    15
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Although the food is delicious and the wine list (and prices) are superb, it's perhaps misleading to call this a restaurant--it's something between a restaurant and a tapas wine bar. The service is friendly and quite helpful. Don't let other reviewers praise of the charcuterie mislead you: vegetarians can eat well here. And when you've finished your meal, buy a bottle of wine to take with you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must for wine fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

One of my favorite spots in my favorite neighborhood in my favorite city. A great selection of wines and it was hard to choose just one. We ended up with a wonderful Priorato and an outstanding cheese plate. The service and atmosphere were very old-school Madrid, and I mean that as a big compliment. If you like wine and are in Barrio de las Letras (or even if you're not) this place is a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendyandscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best place for cheese, salumi, and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

First, I stepped inside quite accidentally, I just liked their display of cheeses. The place was busy, there were no free tables, just one seat at the desk. What made me stay, was their extensive selection of wines per glass.
Actually, most of the usual tourist places in Madrid have 30-40 different wines per bottle, but when travelling alone, and for work, I normally do not need a whole bottle of wine for lunch, all for myself. I would much prefer to taste one or two glasses of LOCAL wine, rather than standard industrial trash. But these places only keep 3-4 open bottles, always EXACTLY the same, Rioja, Ribera, whatever, BORING.
This place was different, I started TALKING to the owner and bartenders (for me, as an Italophone, that was easy), and followed their advice. If you are a tourist, they may be disposed to treat you as a tourist. But when they recognise you are a traveller, they reciprocate. And they may suggest you GREAT wines, GREAT cheeses, and simple, local, tasty food.
In this place, and a similar bottega in Granada (La Brujidera), in a few days I've discovered more local flavours, than in preceding years. The quality/price ratio is AMAZINGLY high. You pay 2 euro for a glass of wine, of the same stature as the one for which you pay 5-6 euro in Siena, and a complete meal is 12-15 euro.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arminii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth trying it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stopped in the restaurant rather accidentlly and didn't regret it. We liked a lot a very warm and nice atmosphere, very friendly service and on top of that a selection of a very good wine and delicious tapas. There seemed to be a lot of local people. The prices average. The restaurant is located in the neighbourhood Huertas which is very lively in the evening and with many good jazz bars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamilija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gonzalez also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing