We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Palacio Real
Ranked #291 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

On arriving at the apartment we were able to check in a couple of hours early as our room was already ready. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and sent us a metro map and details on how to find the apartment a few days before hand. The apartment is a decent size, with a kitchen/living area and a bedroom and bathroom. Was staying on the 4th floor and had no problem with noise whatsoever. Only problem we had was that there was that the curtain in the bedroom was transparent - not ideal for blocking out the early morning sun! The apartment is located in an area full of tapas bars, and all used by local people (not dominated by tourists). Our free wifi worked perfectly. There was a hairdryer to use which is useful if travelling light for a city break. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah_244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

The appartment is looking new and clean. One bedroom and a small bathroom. For a couple this appartment is ok. With 4 persons it would be too small for us. The location is very nice. Tapas bars everywhere! Also in this street and that can cause some rumour. Bring your earplugs! The wifi signal was low, which was a pity for us.
Helpfull people at the reception.

Room Tip: Our appartment was located on the first floor. Perhaps higher floors have less noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharina51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just returned from 4 day visit. Family of four - two teenage boys - who all thoroughly enjoyed the stay. These apartments are pretty basic, but clean. The location is fantastic and the surroundng area is full of great bars and restaurants, all on the doorstep. We went mid-week, so noise was not a problem. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and very welcoming. DVDs are available to borrow (no charge) which compensates for the lack of English channels.
We found Madrid to be a fascinating city; small enough to navigate easily by foot or by Metro, but large enough to find something new to do every day. We would certainly stay at these apartments again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We arrived in Madrid and checked into this apartment. Service was fine, and we got into the room in no time. The apartment is near to quite a number of eating establishments, so no worries about getting hungry and finding no place to eat.

The place is clean and neat, and while I personally feel it is a little small and cramped for my comfort, it looks new and Wifi is provided. There were two balconies - one from the living "room", one from the bedroom. There was a kitchenette provided for boiling water if you need it.

The bathroom was on the small side, and every time I take a bath, I must be very careful when turning about, as I might hit the sides of the bath enclosure (cold!), or turn the hot water tap fitting to hottest or coldest. Urgh. Not very good in terms of usability.

One thing I would like to highlight also, is that at night, you might be disturbed by the noise from the ground floor, where there are a couple of eating establishments, and you will hear people talking and pretty loud sounds of activities and such.

You will also find occasional homeless person sleeping at the walls of the church nearby at night. The nearest metro station we often used was the La Latina Metro Station, about 400 to 500 metres walk (about 5-10 minutes).

Overall, slightly above average. Since I could not find above average rating, I chose "Very Good". If not for the value, cleanliness and location, I may rate it "Average" instead due to the smallish size and irritatingly tight spaced bathroom enclosure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ogenkidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Located in a very good area near many restaurants and bars. Not a far walk to major sites in Madrid like Plaza de Mayor, Puerta Del Sol, or the royal palace. Also very close to some small grocery stores. Everything in the apartment was new and clean. A few days before I arrived the office sent an email with step by step instructions on how to get to the hotel from the airport. It included what lines and stops to use, also had a map with the route from the metro to the hotel. It was a nice and helpful touch.

The hot water in the shower was a bit unreliable though. I had to take a freezing cold shower around noon before going out the first day. There was no hot water then and a couple of other times. The room was a little bit on the small side, not so small that it caused any problems, just not big.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ts6084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

These apartments are very close to San Miguel Market, Palacio Real and Plaza del Sol. Rooms are clean, very good size, great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nesterix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Apartamentos Palacio Real were exactly what we were looking for. I visited Madrid with a friend and we were only there for two days. As such, we needed an apartment that was clean, a reasonable price, and in a good location. Apartamentos Palacio Real was exactly that. We rented a 3-person apartment (apt 3B) since one other girl was supposed to come with us.

The Apartment:
The apartment was spotless with everything we needed at our fingertips. We arrived and checked in at 11am. When we arrived, the owner was at the front desk to greet us. He gave us our keys, walked us up to our room, and made sure we had everything we needed. We were thrilled with the space and it was exactly what we needed for our trip to Madrid. The bedroom was a normal size with a balcony overlooking the street below. Our bedroom also had a wardrobe, ironing board/iron, and additional linens. The living room had a sofa (turned into a second bed), a TV, a small kitchen table, and kitchen area. The kitchen had a microwave, stove, mini fridge, and sink. The dishes were pretty and plentiful with 6 coffee plates, salad plates, plates, bowls, and glasses. All-around the apartment was well-stocked with paper towels, cleaning materials, wine bottle opener, toaster, coffee maker, strainer, scissors, many pots, dvd player...etc. The rooms were very tastefully decorated with lilac walls, wood floors, and other calming colors. The bathroom was also nice. It was a decent size (for Europe) and all of the appliances were clearly new and well-kept. No rust, mold, etc. that you so often find in older buildings. The shower also had great water pressure. Finally, the wired internet was fast and useful (writing the review from the apt right now!).

The Price
We purchased this room on booking.com and I still maintain it was the best value we could have asked for. Our budget was approx $40/person/day. With a kitchen and great location, that made it an easy sell.

The Location
We loved the location, though it may not be for everyone. As others have said, it can be a little loud at night, but we weren't bothered. It is placed in the middle of a safe, lively and non-touristy neighborhood with many sidewalk cafes and tapas restaurants. Also, the apartment is walking distance to almost everything. We only occasionally took the metro and usually walked to our apartment. One note, however, it is a slightly difficult to find location, so be patient with taxi drivers as they try to find it and bring maps with you!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KapitalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#222 of 442 in Madrid
756 reviews
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
#284 of 442 in Madrid
238 reviews
Centro
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
#255 of 442 in Madrid
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Eco Alcala Suites
Eco Alcala Suites
#252 of 442 in Madrid
323 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Aparthotel Serrano Recoletos
Barrio Salamanca
Apartamentos Ramon de la Cruz 41
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Palacio Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Palacio Real

Address: Calle Mancebos 4, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Palacio Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Palacio Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Palacio Real Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing