We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Abel Victoriano
Ranked #16 of 282 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

When you reach the reception you receive a genuine smile. The rooms are not the biggest i've stayed in but the room was clean colourful and the towel was made into an animal like on cruise ships, a nice touch. The Hostel was perfectly placed, plenty to see in walking distance but also only a few yards from the Metro system. I stayed for 5 days and will definately use this hostal again next time I go. Victoria herself was helpful, nothing too much trouble, she deserves to do well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almax69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hostal is centraly located, 7 minutes walk from plaza du Sol. Really close to everything!!! Recently rennovated, modern and clean. The hotel staff is very kind. The area is safe. There are a couple of small supermarkets around. Our room was quiet. The room was a bit small with a small balcony as well. But is all we needed. We had our breakfast at a local cafe around the corner. Nice coffee, with fresh orange juice and traditional churros or croissant. More than adequate to start the day. We would certainly reccomend it to other visitors! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Good things:

Location: On a side street to the Gran Via, close to the center, but still quiet. Metro station very close, connection to airport with only one change.

Very nice staff.

Possibility to leave the luggage if the plane is leaving late.

Complimentary cava. Might be a small thing, but it really makes you feel welcome.


Not-so good:

Bathroom: really small, but functional. I would recommend taking the room with bathroom, as the common one is even smaller

Toiletries: They give you a small shower gel and shampoo the first day, and although you can ask for more, it is not really convinient if you arrive late, want to take a shower and there's nobody in the reception.

Noise: Walls are not really thick and doors are quite loud, so it really depends on having luck with your neighbours.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fledermaus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Hostal Abel Victoriano is well located with a metro station very close and the city center within walking distance.
I think it's the perfect place to stay if you don't mind having a small room with a tiny bathroom (more an extension of the bedroom separated with a hard plastic curtain) and a small room overall.
There is also so fridge in the room, and the bed sheets were not changed (but the bed was done) for our second night. There was also some mold in the shower. Nothing really bad, but just be aware that the standard of a "hostal" is obviously not quite the same as a traditional hotel room.

The staff was helpful. The breakfast is actually a coupon that you can redeem at a bar next door. The small breakfast (tea/coffee/chocolate + pastries + orange juice) costs exactly the same without the coupon, so buying it together with your room won't save you any money. Better leave the option open for something else if you like it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Central location, to all tourist attractions are in walkable distant. In my opinion, madrid city center is not big, you can finished browsing most attractions by foot in a day, we did it anyway. Travel pass is just a bonus of the visit. The room allocated to us is opposite the receptionist and nest to the hostal entrance. Therefore, it is a bit noisy when rest. Since we just stayed 2 nights, we rather not to bother changing a room. However, the host is sweet, sent us a mini champn as complimentary welcome. The room and toilet are tiny but clean, if don't open the window, it is very dark and very small room. Remind me the hotels in hong kong. Creative towel prestented. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Cindy2013bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

No words...ver good...people are ver friendly and warming..we were received like kings ...really excellemt, confortable...in tear to all good things to se in center of madrid..and very chip price...just love it and extreme recomend :) thanks

Thank Paulo G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in a budget single room with shared bathroom. The room was an internal room with no external window and only a small window opening onto the corridor. It was very clean, comfortable bed and had a small sink but no soap was provided.
The room was very hot and even though a fan was provided it was extremely warm. The shared shower and toilet were both in the same room which was rather inconvenient . I got up at 7 am and went to use the toilet but it was occupied , I went back 5 minutes later and again 5 minutes later and it was still occupied. A hair dryer was not provided but they could be obtained from reception.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again , but would got for a room with and en suite.

Room Tip: have an en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindypopsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Flat5Madrid
Flat5Madrid
#36 of 282 in Madrid
355 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 282 in Madrid
396 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 282 in Madrid
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Patria
Hostal Patria
#6 of 282 in Madrid
284 reviews
Centro
Hostal Met Madrid
Hostal Met Madrid
#3 of 282 in Madrid
176 reviews
Centro
Madrid City Rooms
Madrid City Rooms
#7 of 282 in Madrid
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Abel Victoriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Abel Victoriano

Address: Calle San Bernardo 55, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 282 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: £37 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Abel Victoriano 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Abel Victoriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing