We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Safe, Excellent Location”
Review of Hostal Fabiola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Fabiola
Ranked #379 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Brick, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Safe, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location right by Sol, the city center. The hostel was so clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. They gave us maps and were available in the hostel at all hours, unlike other hostels where the staff in no where to be found. We got the room for 35 eur for the night last minute, and it was a great value in my opinion. The place isn't luxurious, but it suited our needs for the layover between cities.

Room Tip: I stayed in a double room which was super tiny! If you have big suitcases they may not even fit in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Very basic hostel but good value for money.
The rooms are not flash but quite neat. The receptionist is helpful and can speak good English, even booked a taxi for us for the next day when we had to leave at 4am to get to the airport. The hostel is very close to the metro, literally 2 mins walk. The area is ok, at night is full of dodgy people on the streets and outside the metro but seemed harmless. Maybe just dont walk around by yourself. I lost my camera in madrid and have a feeling it was stolen from my handbag in this area as it can get a bit busy, The place is only a few stops to the city. Very close to La Latina, good for tapas... very lively place.

The only problem we had was that we got to Madrid pretty early 7am and the hostel didnt open til around 9am. No one opened the door even when we kept pressing the door bell, We had to wait around 2 hours in a cafe.

Otherwise good hostal and will probably stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa_Isabel_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I stayed 7 nights in the Hostal Fabiola. It is very basic but clean and the staff are helpful.

My only real moan was that the WiFi was unreliable. However there is an internet café just up the road where incidentally you can also call the UK on a proper phone for €0.19 per minute.

The walls are thin and every sound travels so quiet it is not. If you want to stay in central Madrid and save your pennies for other things the Fabiola is a good bet. I would go back :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Friendly owners and although the hotel was pretty much full - didn't have a problem with queuing for the shared bathroom. My room did face inwards and I had the constant smell of fried food coming in my window - but better than facing a nightclub!

It was pretty quiet, and very clean. Highly recommended if you're looking for a budget place to stay.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CoxG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We had a very small room with two beds and a sink with the full bathroom down the hall. An AC unit was installed but disabled at the time of our visit. This place is definitely shabby but very clean and the staff was friendly. Weird decor. Renovations in the building are very loud starting early in the morning and the walls are the usual variety of paper thin expected from places in this price range. Walking distance to all the sights and nightlife, metro station at the end of the street.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyDyeDillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We had a great three night stay at this hostel. We had a double room with balcony. Shower and sink were in the bathroom and toilets down the corridor. It was very clean. Good warddrobe space. Bright and airy. It is safe. Its on the fourth floor (has a lift) so when looking for it on the street look up! The owners and staff were lovely. It is not a fun hip hostel so if thats what you want stay elsewhere but it is perfect for a couple or for a nice relaxing and quiet stay. We had a plasma flat screen TV too! There is a shop outside the front door and the metro stop is just across the road so its location is great and convenient to all the sights.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

I would have preferred to be in other hostels from the area (by now I know quite a few). I booked this hostel because it was too late and everything was full.
Nevertheless, it was worth for the price we were paying for the bedroom. Everything was correct. Although the bedrooms and shared bathrooms were old, they were always clean. People working there were very agreeable and helpful. Excellent location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It might need some remodeling
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbotruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Hostal Tirso Plaza
Hostal Tirso Plaza
#328 of 435 in Madrid
50 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#329 of 435 in Madrid
182 reviews
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#282 of 435 in Madrid
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal la Macarena
Hostal la Macarena
#241 of 435 in Madrid
200 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#197 of 435 in Madrid
230 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#381 of 435 in Madrid
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Fabiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Fabiola

Property: Hostal Fabiola
Address: Calle Doctor Cortezo 15 4 D, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Fabiola 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Fabiola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing