We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
Ranked #9 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a very chic and sophisticated boutique, luxury hotel. The space is both beautiful and comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are wonderfully appointed. And the hotel is in a great location on a quiet street in a high-end shopping district. They have a great massage therapist in their wellness center on-site. I highly recommend this hotel and have nothing negative to say!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherbeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    146
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
110
409
33
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I recently spent 5 nights at Unico and I highly recommend this hotel! The property is located on a quiet street in the most fashionable shopping district of Madrid. It is quite literally surrounded by the best shops, restaurants, and tapas bars in the city. The hotel is very stylish but comfortable. The downstairs lobby has several comfortable libraries and breakfast is available downstairs in the restaurant. The rooms are modern, stylish and comfortable. My room had French doors that opened on to the inner courtyard. Wifi internet worked effectively.
The best part of the experience were the people who went out of their way to accommodate our requests. Pedro was especially helpful with several items that made my stay even more satisfying and enjoyable. I spend 40 to 50 nights a year in many different hotels in the States and the EU and I rarely recommend one. Take my word for it-this is a great place to spend a week!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackg5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a garden courtyard deluxe room. We arrived early from our flight at 11am and were checked straight in. The room was good - high quality linens, comfortable bed, everything as expected. The location in the heart of the Salamanca district and about 1.5kms of beautiful boulevard from the park Retiro made for fabulous morning runs and daytime strolls.

Pastries and fruit are provided free of charge and replenished throughout the day in the delightful lounge area.

The service by the front desk didn't match the calibre of the hotel however the doorman was outstanding - delivering a high level of personal service that made up for any shortcomings. I would recommend Unico for a reasonable price/location ratio and a good overall standard.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. Very convenient location, good parking for a car. Perfect service. Very large selection of restaurants and cafes around the hotel (if two Michelin stars for you is very expensive). Our room was on the third floor windows overlooking the street, sleeping comfortably at night and no annoying sounds we heard. Our son is very tired in time long walks around Madrid and in the afternoon we left him to rest in the room, at the reception he was given SPS 3, which allowed him to have a good time. Many thanks to Ruth García and other employees of the hotel in our comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PashaVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in the Unico in the Salamanca region of Madrid in Mid July 2011. We had 2 rooms which were nicely decorated but as they were internally facing they were a little small. The rooms facing the courtyard are better. Booked it via Tablet hotels and got a very good deal which may be the reason we got these internal rooms. The only other annoying item was that one of the rooms had a shower inside the bath whcih you had to stand into which really isnt acceptable for 4/5 star hotels. Otherwise the location is really excellent for wandering the city especially the high end shopping. The staff were very pleasent and the reception rooms are really lovely to relax in after pounding the madrid streets.

The best gem of this hotel is the really superb 2 michellin star restaurant on the courtyard level. Really superb (and we are big foodies) and superb value at €76 per person for a 7/8 courses. The chef takes your order and is really good about discussing what you may like. A really excellent experience if you like tasing menus.

We had our tennage son with us who also really enjoyed the food. We also manged to keep him entertained with short museum visits as opposed to long haul sessions!

Room Tip: Dont accept the internal rooms which face into a very small open shaft. Look for garden facing or st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The location of the hotel is wonderful !! Lots of very good restaurants and shops nearby. It is within the walking distance to all major museums.
We had the double room, which was really small; however nicely decorated.
There was a strange smell in the lift (the lift itself was very tiny as well).
The staff was very helpful and nice.
We didn't eat at the hotel, as there are so many nice restaurants nearby, therefore I can't make any comment on the hotel's kitchen.
To summarize - good place to start exploring Madrid; however probably if the weather is not so good - the hotel does not offer too much (like no pool).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agidmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

While this Hotel is in a nice shopping area. I did not find the staff overly friendly or helpful. I would not recommend this hotel. I think that there are just as nice hotels in Madrid where the hotel staff are more willing to go the exta mile for their guests (Particularly the male staff...not helpful). Do yourself a favor and avoid this one. It's your vacation, you don't need an attitude!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jro_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
1,035 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 436 in Madrid
624 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Property: Hotel Unico Madrid
Address: Calle Claudio Coello 67, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our “unique” hotel awaits you right on Madrid’s “Golden Mile”. It is housed in a 19th-century palace which was transformed into this luxurious 44-room boutique hotel a few years ago. Its elegant facade conceals a regal interior architecture with modern rooms that boast high ceilings and large windows. An exclusive spacious yet tranquil inner garden-courtyard, with a pleasant open-air lounge area, gives access to the restaurant Ramón Freixa Madrid which has quickly become a “must” in the city, having been awarded 2 Michelin stars and named “Best Restaurant in Madrid” at the prestigious Madrid Fusión event. Such distinctions honour, exceptional presentation, sophisticated table service, an extensive wine list, and high quality with an ongoing quest for excellence make for a uniquely luxurious “gastro experience” in the Spanish capital. Ramon Freixa also orchestrates Único’s superb signature breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing