We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - faultless stay”
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
Ranked #9 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic - faultless stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Unico towards the end of June 2012.

I was initially concerned about the location, but needn’t have worried as it’s very pleasant 20 minute walk to Grand Via, or just 5 minutes to the nearest metro (Madrid’s metro is clean, efficient and relatively cheap). It’s also very close to the Park Del Retiro.

The hotel is in Salamanca neighbourhood, which is a nice upmarket area with lots of high end shops and a decent selection of restaurants. We had absolutely no noise issues (we’d booked a garden room, but were upgraded to a junior suite at check-in which overlooked the (quiet) road outside).

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was huge. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but a very quick and efficient room service provided tea and coffee for us each morning (free of charge – or at least I don’t recall seeing a charge for it on the bill).

Our suite had a large bathroom. Twin sinks, large walk-in shower, separate Jacuzzi bathtub and separate toilet/bidet area.

Plenty of towels. Good dressing gowns provided.

Nice turn-down service with bottles of water.

We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel or go to the hotel’s 2 Michelin starred restaurant.

We did have drinks in the hotel’s garden on a couple of occasions though. A lovely setting and a fantastic place to have a drink before going out for the evening (or when returning after a meal).

I would highly recommend this hotel – perfect location, fantastic service and superb rooms – definitely 5 star.

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms are excellent - our bedroom over looked the road, but absolutely no noise issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retep68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    144
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
105
401
33
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

when it comes to the decoration, the hotel is very nice. Our room had only one window, on the the roof! the lighting was fine, but the air was very stuffy. It was however spacious and had a huge bathroom. The price is not equal to the service nor the attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: Dont´t ask for a room on the top floor! unless you have a window towards the courtyard or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alesims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We spent 17 days traveling in Spain and stayed in this hotel the last night before boarding our plane for the US. They obviously spent a lot of time and money on the fabulous entry and seating rooms. Lots of marble, modern art and a lovely library. Our family had two rooms. The standard room that my daughters received was nice. We were upgraded to a Jr. suite because our room wasn't ready when we arrived.
The jr. suite was an attic room with a sloping roof and two dusty skylights. The bathroom was large and marble with a roomy shower.
Here is my complaint. The beds were awful. And the pillows even more awful. They spent tons of money making the hotel very chic and then forgot the most important part...the sleeping experience! The pillows were really large, very thick and ridiculously hard. Something like a cushion you would find on a furniture seat. The beds were hard as well. We asked the concierge if they had any feather pillows available, and we were brought a tiny pillow (which was also hard) just like the ones used for a small childs bed.
Our particular room also had a poorly functioning AC unit right above the bed. The room was very warm all night. In addition, the unit had a large blue light that was focused directly on the bed and lit the entire room as if by a street lamp. The bed had a single sheet (which we didn't use because the room was so hot).
It was an awful nights sleep and so disappointing before we had to board a very long flight.
If the hotel would upgrade their beds and bedding to match the level of design of the rest of the hotel....this could be a fabulous place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calaway354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and share your experiences with others.
It is the first time we receive a negative comment about the quality of our mattresses and pillows. We usually get feedback of our guests and they are pleased with how well you can sleep in our beds.

Regarding the pillow issue, we have available to our guests a wide range of pillows with different thicknesses, fillings, etc.
As you requested at the front desk we gave you a feather pillow and we did not notice you were not comfortable with this new pillow.
Regarding the air conditioning, every room in the 4th floor has independent air conditioning units where the guest can adjust the temperature to his/her liking with remote control.

Anyway, I will keep an eye on these points to deliver better service. If you come to Madrid again, I will appreciate to give us a second chance and I will make sure that your stay will be a lot different from what you have experienced. Best, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We found this hotel by chance and it was a great surprise. It is located in Salamanca, on quiet street and close to the best shopping (top brands) area.
The service is top quality and the rooms comfortable and nicely decorated. A great value for money deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second floor on the front street and it was quiet and very nice (room 204)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for two days for work

The lost our reservation at their restaurant we had made 2 months prior.

Besides this their general attitude is not a hassle free smooth one expected at their rates.

Had to spend time arguing over minor things

Nice location
Internet needs a login everytime but is incl

Will never come back

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated.
The staff is helpful, and always ready to help.
The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms are large and all marble.
Breakfast excellent with a lot of choice.
The restaurant is part of the prestigious Relais et Châteaux.
The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the Salamanca district.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdepParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Unico for 4 nights and loved the neighborhood it's in, Salamanca, quite close to the museums and tourist sights of Madrid. The public rooms are lovely and there's a beautiful library with complimentary beverages and snacks. I also found the rooms to be attractive with high ceilings, hardwood floors and a nice-sized, modern bathroom. My main reason for not giving this hotel an excellent rating is that they advertise their garden rooms as being very quiet. The problem is that the garden doubled as a bar at night with loud music on two of the four nights i was there. I also feel their website is misleading as the picture of the garden is cropped to give the impression that it's private when, in fact, there are multi-storied buildings which are quite close. Also, closet space is limited.

Room Tip: rooms that look out on the garden can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 900lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
I appreciate your positive comments about the nice hotel and room and our great location in Salamanca district. With regard to your negative comments about the noise from the garden, in the spring and summer season we open a bar in the garden, Thursdays and Fridays from 19h to 22h30 for our guests and locals to enjoy in a more fun way. The rest of the weekdays it is a quite place as it is mentioned in our website. We are aware of the inconvenience this might cause to the rooms facing the garden during these days that is why the music is limited to only 22h30 at night and no longer than that. We believe is an adequate time to close down the music and bar so everybody can rest. I apologize if you found this annoying during your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again in a near future. Best. G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
987 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#10 of 436 in Madrid
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Property: Hotel Unico Madrid
Address: Calle Claudio Coello 67, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of the Salamanca district, nestling among Madrid's most exclusive boutiques and just steps from its historic centre, a little gem has just appeared on the national hotel scene. Selenza Madrid,is a charming boutique hotel conceived and designed to offer guests real luxury and comfort, with its surprising and welcoming design and an array of fully customized Premium services tailored to the needs and requirements of each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing