We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Unico Madrid
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
TOTEM Madrid(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Magna(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
694
155
36
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
155
36
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramon freixamichelin restaurantsalamanca areagreat hotelgreat boutiquevilla magnaquiet streetnespresso machinespecial thankssmall hotelspent nightsretiro parkbreakfast was includedexcellent staystar hotelrooms are spaciousthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights - business purpose. The hotel is located in a great area in Madrid, a couple of nice bars and restaurants are nearby.
Room was nicely decorated, wifi worked well. Bathroom had all you need.
What was less good was the quality of the bed. Poor quality and the beds are small. I'm 1m92 so far too small for me, had to sleep diagonally but what do you do when you are two people?
Also having the smoke detector just above your bed with a flickering red light is probably not their most brilliant idea.

Food in the hotel however was very good.

If my bed would have been better i might have scored this hotel even higher.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LodgingVje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you took the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see you have had an overall good and positive experience. It is excited to see you've enjoyed the decoration, our aminities and the location. The red flickering lights are unfortunate indeed but there is nothing we can do to change that. Moreover, our beds are carefully selected and are of good quality, perhaps they are not as to what you would prefer. Aswell in this case there is not a lot we can change. The hotel is always looking to improve so we will definately take your comment in account.
We hope to see you soon back here with us on your next trip to Madrid!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am belated in writing this review from a trip my husband and I took to Madrid at the end of March, but none the less the praises for this great little hotel are just as high.

First, it is located in the most charming, chic section of town in the Salamanca neighborhood and the view looking out on the street from our room was enchanting…Beautiful stores w/ apartments above in the most lovely buildings.

Now the hotel itself…Warm, inviting, beautifully decorated w/ the most wonderful, attentive staff. The rooms are rather compact but comfortable, clean and very nice. Only thing I would have changed is mattresses are too firm. There are two fab communal sitting rooms to spread out, read and have tea or cocktails…Beautiful furniture and super comfy! Downstairs restaurant is nice and opens onto a great garden and patio, which unfortunately due to the cold and rainy weather when we were there, was closed.

Everyone working at the hotel was friendly and helpful but we spent a lot of time w/ Gorka, who was just a gem! He took calls day and night giving us advice and directions, made reservations and then wrote them out in detail on numbered cards, helped us make a touring plan for each day, got us taxis, etc., etc. Just a really nice, bright and thoughtful man. :)

When we eventually get back to Madrid (and we loved it so much that we will!), we will be staying at Hotel Unico which was our favorite hotel of the four we stayed at during our trip to Spain. And the icing on the cake? It was the most reasonably priced, too!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the beautiful street. Had floor to ceiling windows and loved it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soni417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you took the time to write such a positive review. We thank you for your kind words and elaborate thoughts on our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to see you have enjoyed your stay here with us at Hotel Unico and we are hoping to welcome you back soon. Thanks again and until next time!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I normally stay at the larger 5 star hotels in Madrid but decided to try this hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is tucked away on a quiet street lined with wrought iron balconies, leafy green trees and sparrows chirping away. yet only a few paces away you are in the heart of a very upmarket shopping district with plenty of variety in terms of shopping, restaurants and other things to do within walking distance. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed and the rooms, although a little on the small side, have lovely wood floors, nicely appointed bathrooms and their own faux balconies with wrought iron trimmings to gaze out of. I found the bed to be a little on the hard side but other than that I could find no real fault in the room. The breakfast was exactly what I asked for and delicious - eggs, bacon, cafe con leche and an orange juice, all perfect. Customer service is impeccable with smiling faces and happy to help but if you just wish to get on with your own business you are left alone. There is a two Michelin star restaurant on the premises which I wasn't able to try because it was booked out by a private party but I will definitely be returning again and will book ahead. A really fantastic find for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalex07216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great comment. We are glad to see you have had a wonderful time with Hotel Unico. We thank you aswell for your kind words on our staff and services. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back here with us on your next visit to Madrid. See you soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a King Garden room. An excellent quiet room with obviously a view on the garden. The rooms are spotless, cleaning service is impeccable, excellent turn-down service.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and well organised. The waiter we had for breakfast, I am sorry I haven't caught his name was the best, superfriendly. The only remark I have is that it would be nice if they would serve drinks in the lovely garden so onecan relax after a day in town.
The hotel itself is located in a more uptown neighbourhood, a few steps away from all the well known fashion stores. The metro is also only a few blocks away.
I would definitely stay here again when in Madrid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comment on tripadvisor. We are delighted to see you have had a great stay with us. We will share your words with the rest of our team and hope to welcome you back soon at Hotel Unico! Thanks again!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were very happy with our choice of hotel, which felt classy all round (location, service and facilities). I also used the gym, which was well equipped. I thought the fact that the toilet was separate from the shower and bath (also separate themselves) was practical.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great review. We appreciate you took the time to write it and are delighted to see you have had a wonderful experience here with us at Hotel Unico. We would be thrilled to welcome you back in your next visit to Madrid. Thanks again, hasta pronto!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews