We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Madrid/Lunch Special, if available...”
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
Ranked #9 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the Unico for 2 nights last week. First of all, the neighborhood of Salamanca is absolutely the best. Full of high-end intl. shopping, local shops, great restaurants, tree lined lanes, I can't imagine staying in any other barrio of Madrid.
The Unico itself is a great little hotel, we stayed in a garden room, number 111, overlooking a small grassy area behind the hotel, and with a small deck. The room is modern and comfortable, and reasonably sized for an in-city hotel (I have never stayed in a hotel room this large in Paris or London). The bathroom is fantastic, and the beds, linens and pillows top of the line.
But the best part of our stay was our lunch at the Ramon Freixa restaurant in the hotel, a 3 star Michelin affair. We booked a special deal a few months back, for 250Euros per night which included lunch for two at Ramon Freixa. Simply put, it was one of the finest meals I have ever had in my life! From the service (impeccable) the the presentation, to the flavors, this place is not to be missed.
I had no complaints with the front desk, or service. In fact, we had a very early flight out of Madrid, and had to leave the hotel around 06:30. There was immediate help available for quick checkout, baggage, taxi, etc.

Room Tip: I liked the garden room facing the back yard of the hotel. I would suspect that the street facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringoWim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful comment on Tripadvisors. We are delighted to see you have had a great stay here with us and you've enjoyed our service, facilities and the Ramon Freixa Restaurant. Your words are very kind, motivating and encouraging for the rest of our team. We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Unico on your next visit to Madrid. Thank you again, and hopefully see you soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

This isn't a bad hotel, in fact there are some things about it that are quite good - but, if you're looking for the certainty of a five star experience, you're not going to find it here.

When boutique hotels fail at five star it most often is a case of the property being understaffed (the small number of rooms can fail to generate sufficient cash flow to hire adequate staff). That's part of the problem at the Unico. Frequently, there can be long waits at the front desk. For the same reason, the phone can go unanswered, and the front desk folks can be under so much pressure to check people in, act as concierge, make reservations, and answer the phone that the tension is visible and uncomfortable. Other things are harder to explain. For instance, there is construction going on near the hotel and we were never notified beforehand. And there is a mechanical knocking that travels through the walls between 1 AM and 3 AM every night making it difficult to sleep. Our room, as many of the rooms, fronted the street, so sometimes there is street noise, but it's number three on the list of noise issues and the other two noise issues are problematic enough that I can't fairly judge how much of an issue it might or might not be. Yes, after three nights of a five night stay, the hotel received a call from our travel agent and offered to move us - but having to fight with a five star for attention and service is like is like having to fight with the sun to come up in the east - It should be automatic; when its not - something is wrong. In this case, since individually there are examples of very good hard working people on staff, I would guess that the problem lies with the manager. Besides the noise, we had several smaller issues that came up. It happens. No hotel is perfect. But commonly in a larger five star hotel, and ALWAYS in a five star boutique, if there is a problem, one hears directly from the manager. Not here. We never once saw the manager in the entirety of our five days at the Unico. Not a mortal sin in and of itself - but clearly indicative of the problems here. All hotels make mistakes and have things go wrong. It would be foolish to expect otherwise. But one of the things inherent to a five star culture is the palpable desire for perfection and when mistakes occur (as they inevitably do) there is a sense of regret on the part of the hotel and a desire to do better - not here. And that responsibility falls squarely upon management.

Odds and ends that might be helpful to know - the neighborhood is wonderful and the bathrooms are very well done. There is an issue with noise and the air conditioning is weak.

In the end , I'm not sure if we had a two star experience at a three star hotel or a three star experience at a "fourish" star hotel. But my take-away is less about the number of stars then my sense of disappointment. Perhaps the things that are important to you are not the same ones that are important to me - but if you are a discerning traveler, sorry to say, best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SamR892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Gerente at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback.

We are grateful to listen all the details you mention in order to improve our service. Above all, we have a very strong philosophy about the quality of the service we offer our guests.
Continue with this , when we receive any type of complain or request from our guests we always do our best to satisfy them. Fortunately, we get it in 99% of times.
We always were at your disposal during your stay , offering different options ans solutions as a new room more suitable for your requests , trying to satisfy your needs and to do your stay confortable.
The maintenance team checked the noises but any noise was found. The Manager on duty was pleased to speak to you the second day and made the follow up during the rest of your stay with different attentions.
All our staff have a high qualification and we are very proud to receive so many reviews emphasising the quality of our team as helpful , friendly and always willing to satisfy all the needs of our guests. Specially , the remarkable quality of the concierge service.

Regarding the light construction in front of the garden you mention, I would like to say that it has been already finished and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences it might caused you during the breakfast.

We would be very glad to welcoming you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is an amazing little hotel. The location in the Salamanca barrio is ideal for shopping and dining. The service while we stayed there in mid june 2014 was absolutely impaccable and welcoming. The rooms are clean, big and nicely designed. We chose a room towards the outside street and did not regret that. The street is beautiful and calm even night time.
The breakfast was another reason to visit, start with a glass of cava then dive in to spreads of spanish hams and cheeses before you continue with a table full of sweets or their a la carte menu. Perfect from start to finish.

Room Tip: 202 faces the street. Super cute and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely comment on Hotel Unico. We appreciate you took the time to write about your great stay and that you have enjoyed our service, facilities and breakfast. The hotel is always trying to improve and meet the customers 'expectations and we are delighted to see we have been able to satisfy your needs. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back with us on your next trip to Madrid. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in Salamanca neighborhood, we can walk everywhere. The hotel staff is nice and there is a lounge and library where we can have a snack or a drink (complementary) at any time of the day.

The room wasn’t the best choice, last floor with the leaning roof and window. A lot of space but didn’t like it.

Asked for a taxi to the airport after checkout, they told me to wait in the lounge that will take 2 min, after 20min I went there (reception), and no one was worried with it. Grab my luggage and in 2 min I called a taxi in front of the hotel. Almost lost my plane due to this.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Filipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a positive review. We are delighted to see you have had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Unico. Apologies for the long waiting, usually it does only take a couple of minutes for a taxi to arrive. We hope to see you back soon on your next visit to Madrid. Thanks again, and see you soon!

Kind regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited this hotel in January - no doubt helped by the glorious weather but this hotel is a little oasis in Madrid.
The hotel has a great location, situated in the high end retail streets of Madrid close to plenty of good restaurants and a short walk from most of the attractions.
Lovely garden out the back, rooms well proportioned and tasefully designed and a great breakfast.

The Hotel has a Michelin starred restaurant which is a bonus.
Great service in the hotel, the only small gripe is that later in the evening there appeared not to be anyone who spoke any English at reception/room service which made a simple task of ordering a bottle of wine quite a complicated process.

Other than that, I would highly recommend this place.
Madrid is a great city and be sure to visit the Mercado San Miguel!

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the gardens at the back Most have small balcony which is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review. At Hotel Unico, we are always trying to meet the highest expectations and it is a pleasure to see you've had a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon here, on your next trip to Madrid. Thank you again, and see you soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had two nights at this wonderful boutique hotel located on a lovely high-end shopping street in Madrid. Excellent service, comfortable bed and chic bathroom on a quiet street. Great service from the concierge (and all staff) and good restaurant recommendations. Also really loved the breakfast and the garden in back of the property. Although this isn't in central Madrid, we found the public transportation very efficient. I wish I had more time here, as we were enroute to the US from Morocco, and found this a refreshing stopover.

Room Tip: We had a room with windows that opened onto the street. I didn't find street noise to be an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great comment on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see you have had a wonderful stay here at Hotel Unico and enjoyed our service and facilities. We hope that on your next visit to Madrid you will be able to spend more time with us, it would be our pleasure to see you soon. Thank you again!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a very smart part of Madrid with a simply stunning restaurant attached. The service is superb and the room was fantastic. However, if you are looking for somewhere more central, then this hotel isn't for you as it's not somewhere you can quickly pop back to unless you are spending most of your time visiting luxury shops.

All of what said, for me, 5 star hotels should be about the detail, and here there were a few things lacking. The main issue was the lack of wifi: I appreciate this is not the hotel's fault, but we only got working wifi on the last morning of our stay which was 3 days later. Apart from a letter under the door on the Friday night, there was no apology for the lack of wifi during our stay and no mention at check out or hint of compensation. Thankfully, we were not there on business, but I do feel the hotel could have made more of an effort to appreciate the inconvenience for guests and to try and do something to make up for not having this facility. After all, I wouldn't book at hotel solely because of wifi, but it would affect my decision if this was not on offer.

The other issues, albeit not serious, were only having 1 bathrobe when we arrived and having to ask for one to be brought up (hotels should know how many guests are staying in the room) and the toiletries not being replaced once used. We only travelled with hand luggage so did not bring many bottles, as, quite fairly, we expected that a 5 star hotel would have these in abundance. While this is a lovely hotel with lots of plus points, 5 stars means getting everything right and here the hotel just needs to improve slightly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are excited to see you have had an overall good experience with us. We are always trying to improve, therefore your comments are much appreciated and we will take them in consideration. We hope that your next stay with us, will be exceeding your expectations. Thank you again!

Kind regards,

Jaime Quiroga
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 440 in Madrid
1,075 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 440 in Madrid
1,130 reviews
Arguelles
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
#6 of 440 in Madrid
365 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 440 in Madrid
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Address: Calle Claudio Coello 67, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £197 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our “unique” hotel awaits you right on Madrid’s “Golden Mile”. It is housed in a 19th-century palace which was transformed into this luxurious 44-room boutique hotel a few years ago. Its elegant facade conceals a regal interior architecture with modern rooms that boast high ceilings and large windows. An exclusive spacious yet tranquil inner garden-courtyard, with a pleasant open-air lounge area, gives access to the restaurant Ramón Freixa Madrid which has quickly become a “must” in the city, having been awarded 2 Michelin stars and named “Best Restaurant in Madrid” at the prestigious Madrid Fusión event. Such distinctions honour, exceptional presentation, sophisticated table service, an extensive wine list, and high quality with an ongoing quest for excellence make for a uniquely luxurious “gastro experience” in the Spanish capital. Ramon Freixa also orchestrates Único’s superb signature breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing