We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So loud it was nuts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Ranked #265 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So loud it was nuts!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I am not a light sleeper. I am from NYC, I can sleep through nearly anything. But this hostel had the thinest walls I have ever encountered. It was honestly ridiculous, I could hear EVERYTHING that happened in the hostel. By the end of a night full of the sounds of back up toilets being fixed, keys jangling, night watchmen talking on the phone, full conversations from various guests at all hours, it almost became a joke! How can one place be so noisy and the walls be so thin?
The hostel itself is fine otherwise, small clean rooms, in a central location. But it isn't luxury accommodations, all I expected was to be able to get a good nights sleep there and that did NOT happen. Maybe I got a bad room, but I would caution all others from risking it. Madrid has tons of options, choose one you can actually sleep in!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    54
    12
    0
    5
See reviews for
17
42
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is my 2nd time in this hostal this trip - its a regular spot for me and ideally situated.

It is just a few mins walk (max 5) from Gran Via station. Clean as always, very informal. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

See my other reviews for more information. Just putting this one here to say standards are the same! Good internet/wifi, helpful staff, comfortable bed, quiet, a good nights sleep ....

Room Tip: Room 4 - one double, one single, looks over the square - double glazed to keep the noise out - but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have stayed here 6-7 times over the past 2 years, using it as a base for travels through Spain and elsewhere. My longest stay was almost a month! The staff are delightful, the rooms largish, bright and spotless with bed linen crisp and changed regularly, and the location is fantastically central. My only minor issues are that towels could be a little fluffier, and the wifi can be a little varialbe depending on which room you have. But overall, and especially in terms of value for money, it is unbeatable. Thanks Heliodoro, Kristina and Jose!

Room Tip: I like the double rooms overlooking the Plaza, which have small balconies (and double glazing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Very well located nice clean hotel. room was spacy enough and looking to a nice square with cafe and bars but not noisy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Hi. I came back to this hostal, and stayed a total of 6 nights. Nothing has changed, excellent service, clean, wireless still works. Nice to be remembered too ....

Double glazing and AC a real bonus, good nights sleep, no noise.

This place is a real find, and so easy to get to everywhere - Gran Via metro is 4 min walk - easy even with luggage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I arrived here after booking on the internet, through the hotel's own website. Email's were answered promptly, they confirmed a room with a double bed as per my request. On arrival - shown straight to room - small, VERY clean, with television, good internet connections, bathroom (small but clean, functional, halfbath/shower), balcony. The room has heating and A/C.

I was worried about noice - but no need - even with the square below the window, with the good double glazing I didnt hear a thing and enjoyed 4 nights quality sleep.

Nothing too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

It's an honest place that doesn't promise you anything but gives you all you need in a short stay in Madrid.

We stayed there for 3 nights.

The rooms are very small, with no luxeries but have a complete bathroom and were cleaned every day.

It's located in Central Madrid, about 60 mt away from the metro station of Gran Via so you can go evrerywhere from here, even by foot.

The staff is very nice.

I strongly recommend and I cannot point anything negative

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#194 of 436 in Madrid
227 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#153 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#393 of 436 in Madrid
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal San Lorenzo
Hostal San Lorenzo
#322 of 436 in Madrid
350 reviews
Centro
Hostal Felipe V
Hostal Felipe V
#296 of 436 in Madrid
83 reviews
Centro
Hostal Montecarlo
Hostal Montecarlo
#311 of 436 in Madrid
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Vazquez de Mella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Vazquez de Mella

Property: Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Address: Plaza de Pedro Zerolo, no 1- 3rd floor, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Vazquez de Mella 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Vazquez de Mella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing