We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Josefina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Josefina
Ranked #138 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a small pension on the 7th floor of a building that appeared to house several other hostals of its kind. I had room 8 and it served my needs perfectly. I was in town for a conference and on a budget. This place was €25 per night. On night was paid a week before arrival and the other paid on arrival. The room has a tiled floor a single bed, wardrobe, desk and chair, locker, flat screen TV and wall mounted phone. Room 8 is at the back of the building so there is no problem with traffic noise. However, the building shuts at 11pm and late night revellers have to buzz up to be let in and this can be heard in the room.
The hostal does not serve breakfast but there is a Té and Coffee outlet serving adequate breakfasts - Spanish and English - next door!!
There is only one lift in the building and is old fashioned - if someone fails to shut it properly it will not come and collect you on the ground floor so you have a fair trudge to the 7th. This happened twice during my 2 night stay. It can be slow to arrive also.
The location is fabulous just 30 seconds walk to Callao metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IE123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    54
    36
    8
    12
See reviews for
15
45
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very good location. It just one minute go to metro, but you dont need take metro to go some famous place. Around hotel has kfc, burgerking and other good restaurant ,cafe , shopping center. Room has balcony so i could see good view.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It has a great location, really at the center, with two metro stations nearby (Callao and Sol)! You can't ask for better than that! The double room I booked was small, but really tidy and more modern than I expected. It is an excellent quality/price deal. The staff is nice, but as I haven't heard them speak in English I don't know how helpful they may be to non Spanish speakers.
Some remarks: during your stay you may have to ask for a change of towels, as that doesn't happen everyday. Regarding breakfast, the information provided online is incomplete: they only serve breakfast in particular occasions and normally for groups. Furthermore, if you wish to have breakfast in the hotel, you have to provide that information in advance, before checking in. But don't worry about that, as you have several coffees and restaurants in the area.
All in all, it was a very nice experience and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Had a 5 night stay there for our new year's vacations. The room is a bit small, but that was more or less expected. It was clean and warm, and the bathroom was clean and adequate. The bad part was the noise from the Gran Via, which at this time of the year is even louder because of the vacations and the festivities, but we also enjoyed hearing the Christmas carols from our room! We had a difficult sleep for a night or two, but it was totally worth it because the location was perfect perfect perfect! So this place is recommended for younger adults, not for families or seniors.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmadG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hostal had to be reached using smelly, dirty outside elevator. Desk area, however, clean, but laundered sheets and towels hanging in stairwell gave off musty oder. Receptionist didn't speak English. Room clean, but hardly large enough to move around and it had a close, musty smell. I am allergic to mold and mildew so asked how to work the advertised air conditioning. There wasn't any. Instead, a table fan was set up on on the one nightstand. We had to keep the window open so between the noise of the fan and the noise from outside the window, we got very little sleep. Since no one spoke English, it was impossible to make our complaints understood. When we attempted to check out in the a.m., and cancel a reservation for later in the week, the clerk refused to refund our money and said we'd be charged for the earlier booked nights. Fortunately, we found an excellent Best Western Hotel in the neighborhood for a few more dollars a night. Hostal Josephina might serve a young backpacker, but we would never recommend it to an older couple like ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask first to see the room so you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenamilanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Very well located, the rooms are ok, sometimes the bathroom is a bit smelly and you can hear everything that’s going on, on the other rooms. The staff is not very helpful, the breakfast is really bad, is not worthy, you have several coffees in the area. Is ok to stay for 1 or 2 days. Madrid is a beautiful city, so you don’t spend much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ines_caki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2010

the only 1plus is location,right near Puerta del sol and metro.

all towels was almost grey,as well as pillows and other,we stayed 3days and of cource no changing ... very cold room,the bath was build right in the room,and there was no roof!!! you can hear all night people walking in coridor.the staff know only what they need,like Cash,but don't understand nothing else,even word Breakfast.frankly speaking all 3 days we didn't want to go to the hostal because of these all.never suggest it to anyone.it scruwed all our memories about Madrid

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Valencia
Hostal Valencia
#307 of 444 in Madrid
156 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Continental
Hostal Continental
#357 of 444 in Madrid
106 reviews
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#223 of 444 in Madrid
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Granvia 44
Hostal Granvia 44
#139 of 410 in Madrid
70 reviews
Centro
Hostal Jerez
Hostal Jerez
#39 of 283 in Madrid
253 reviews
Centro
Hostal Regio
Hostal Regio
#91 of 283 in Madrid
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Josefina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Josefina

Property: Hostal Josefina
Address: Gran Via 44, 7th Floor, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Josefina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Josefina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing