We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Place I have stayed at”
Review of Panizo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panizo Hostel
Ranked #344 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The manager was very friendly but that was about the only positive. We booked 4 nights but only stayed the one. The windows and shutters did not close which meant the noise from the street below kept us awake all night - still going at 6 a.m. The electrical outlets were hanging off the wall. Definitely the worst place I have ever stayed at!! I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annonymous303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hostel is nothing like the pictures! The rooms seem like an actual closet with a sink and you have to share a very unpleasant bathroom and shower with the whole floor. Even though the live in host is really nice and the price is too good to be true DONT GO THERE. My boyfriend and I had the hostel booked for 5 nights and on the first night we found two bed bugs in our bed. Mind you we were barely in the room. We immediately told the live inn host and she was very surprised and asked us if we wanted to move to another room or give us our money back. We decided to ask where it would be best to go since we didn't want to sleep in that invested room! She told us that the room had been cleaned but the fact of the matter is they don't know how to get rid of them. We stayed in room 6. If you would like to go to a nice hostel look up Hostel Miami, it is a couple of more euros but it is worth the price. The ladies there are very nice and the hostel has more room and you get your own shower, you would only have to share a bathroom with the whole floor.

Room Tip: Go to Hostel Miami. Spending more in Madrid pays off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DanielJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I would NOT recommend anyone stay here. Our double room was VERY hot and the fan did not work. The only window in the room was a window back to the hallway, so absolutely no breeze or fresh air. Also, when we left we had to close it because it was large enough for anyone to climb back in and you could hear everything that was going on in the whole hostel. The only positive was the room was clean. There are a hundred hostels on this street and surrounding streets that are a way better value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We paied 40 euros for a triple room. We had a double bed ada a single bed in the room. The room was a little bit noisy, but we had heating, a mini tv, a nice toilet on the coridor.
The hostel is on the 3rd floor of the building. The man from the hotel didn't speak english, but after all we understood with him.

If you don't have money to spend for accomodation, Hostal Panitzo is a great option!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george2210_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitatelo come la peste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miabonnannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank masesa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Israel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#219 of 437 in Madrid
370 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Banezana
Hostal La Banezana
#105 of 414 in Madrid
41 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#148 of 437 in Madrid
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#154 of 437 in Madrid
1,802 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#94 of 437 in Madrid
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panizo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panizo Hostel

Address: Calle Cruz 26, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panizo Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Panizo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing