We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique hotel with a movie twist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dormirdcine Cooltural Rooms
Ranked #18 of 391 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel with a movie twist”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I was introduced to this hotel by a friend as an economic alternative in Madrid and I was pleasantly surprised. As its name says you will sleep here like inside a movie. At reception you can choose from different themed rooms, this means the door will be painted with your chosen theme and same inside the bedroom, making each room unique. My room was spacious, modern, clean and very practical. You get free WIFI, a flat-screen with -of course- an ample movie menu besides international and local TV stations. I stayed at the "Kill BIll" room, but I was also offered Kubrick, and few others. A queen size bed, dining table, bathroom, WIFI and great movie decoration for 75 Euros in August. Not bad!
The bar and restaurant downstairs are also themed and look very cool. Breakfast was very economic and tasty with different buffet options.
The location in the Salamanca district of Madrid is very good with many shops and restaurants all around.
Don Travel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    280
    73
    12
    8
See reviews for
63
308
40
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Absolutely fantastic hotel! Got a great deal on lastminute.com- approx £150.00 pp for 4 nights inc bed an dbreakfast inc flights!

Fun, friendly, funky hotel- every room is themed- ours was the 'Quentin Tarantino' room- others included the 'batman' room,' marilyn monroe' room, and the list goes on!

We only ate breakfast in the hotel, of which was great. There was a good choice of hot and cold foods- all freshly prepared and plenty available- no rush to get up!

Close to a central train station with great tube links to the rest of the city, and great bus service to and from the airport.

Daily maid service- no problems whatsoever!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed at the Dormirdcine in Madrid with my family. The rooms were great! We had the Austin Powers room and the Beatles room. The decor was really groovy!! (Yeah Baby!). Anyway, the staff was easy to work with, the hotel was spotlessly clean and best of all, the breakfast, which was included, was extravagant. It was about 10x more than we expected. Very nicely done. Great area of Madrid, very safe and 1 block to Metro for easy access to anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desigal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel is one f the best I have ever stayed in. The hotel is very modern and each room has a different film theme. The room were very comfortable and very clean. The shower was very powerful. The beds were very comfortable with a lot of pillows. Wifi worked perfectly. They give you the code in reception. The breakfast had everything - continental and hot food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The nearest metro stop is about 10 minutes away but there is no problem getting into the centre of Madrid or anywhere you want to go. The price is very reasonable. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imeldac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpierce64
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Good: The interior of the hotel and the rooms were nice and modern/new. We had the sci-fi room which was surprisingly spacious, as the was the bathroom. Shower was small but had good pressure and the a/c worked very well. Located one block away from a metro so it was easy to get around though I would say definitely off the beaten path if you're interested in walking in Salamanca, seeing museums, eating/drinking in La Latina, etc.

OK: The wifi was free but, as the staff said, did not work with any Apple products like my iPad (they did not know why). But they did let me use a computer in the back to check on my flight which was nice of them.

Bad: We asked the staff for directions to 2 different places and we got sent to the wrong place twice (ironically, we only asked for directions because we couldn't look them up ourselves on our own device due to the wifi situation). Also, when we left for the airport at 7 AM we had asked if we could get a little breakfast first -- just a glass of juice or something -- and were told no because breakfast started at 8.

Overall: The place itself was nice, the price was great and the location near a metro made it easy to get around. If the wifi/Apple situation gets resolved I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpierce64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Each room of this small hotel was designed by a different Spanish designer based on a movie. Everything is trendy and upscale in feel, though the price was quite reasonable. My room was based on Hitchcock's North by Northwest in black and white, with a dash of color in the lighting. Thankfully, I didn't need to work in my room because it would have been difficult because of the dim lighting and lack of any wi-fi connection in my room. Wi-fi in the lobby and bar/restaurant worked fine, though. Complimentary movies in different languages in the room. The hotel's location is a few blocks from the two metro stations and a little more to the heart of the Salamanca's shopping district. The neighborhood seemed more residential than touristic. It's a 15 minute ride on the subway or a 15 Euro taxi ride to the Sol/Gran Via area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedar2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed here on 30 May to 2nd June. The location is very convenient approx 30 minutes from the airport - don't bother with a cab its very easy to locate and only costs 2 Euros. Take line 8 (pink) from the airport two stops to Mar de Cristal line 4 (brown). Travel for six stops to Avenida De America. Follow the exit signs for Av. De America, come out of the station and turn right walk towards the main crossing (passing the HONTANARES deli on the corner on your left. Head straight across the road (x2) towards the BBVA bank on the opposite corner continue past this road GENERAL PADINAS and take the next left onto Principe De Vergara. Dormirdcine is on the right hand side a couple of minutes walk away. You could stay on the tube until Diego De Leon which is one more stop but its a little more complicated finding the correct exit as there are around 7 different ones! If you do find the right one (there is more than one marked Diego De Leon exit) come out of station continue straight ahead and its the third road on your right and the hotel is approx 3 minute walk.
The hotel is fantastic and is a very refreshing change from the the usual. We were greeted by a friendly English speaking lady on reception who checked us in very quickly. As previously reviewed all the rooms are unique and we stayed at 2046 (A Kar We Wong film). This was spookily coincidental as we had been recommending this film to friends two days before! The room was exceptionally clean (that's saying a lot from a clean freak) and very cool looking. Unlike previous reviewers I didn't have a problem with the sink in the room (it's not as if it is at the end of the bed - its in a little corridor to the side)! Yes the double bed is two singles together but most European hotel rooms offer this. I think you can request a normal double. I actually prefer it as my other half moves around the bed a lot and also doesn't always like to be covered with the duvet - for me this is best of both worlds as whilst still lying together I can be wrapped up in my own duvet!
The room size is more than adequate and quite large by some European standards. Everything you need is there in the room including Free Wifi, mini bar/fridge, hair dryer, LCD TV, lounging chair and desk chair, room service is also available. The TV is interactive in which you can see illustrations of the other rooms, order room service, check out the prices of the mini bar contents, order a film (around 20 + films on offer) and of course standard TV. The English language channels seem to be limited to BBC World News but hey you're on holiday what you doing watching TV anyway?! To access the films in English you have to use the controls to replace the Spanish.
Breakfast is a very good assortment of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese, pastries, eggs, bacon, sausages, cereals, cake, yoghurt, various mixture of bread and croissants. They have a very cool Nespresso machine (yay) which is fantastic for your morning fix.
We didn't dine there so cant comment on the lunch or evening dinner but checked it out via the interactive TV and did seem very appealing and reasonably priced.
Cannot fault this hotel but do have just one tiny criticism - no tea and coffee making facility in the room - We knew before we booked and so promptly bought a travel kettle! Yep just turned into our parents. What can I say we're English and we likes a cup of tea!
Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DupedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Silken Puerta America
#106 of 436 in Madrid
2,663 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#103 of 436 in Madrid
825 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#94 of 436 in Madrid
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#39 of 436 in Madrid
613 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#33 of 436 in Madrid
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormirdcine Cooltural Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormirdcine Cooltural Rooms

Property: Dormirdcine Cooltural Rooms
Address: Calle Principe de Vergara 87, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Dormirdcine Hotel)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 391 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormirdcine Cooltural Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of cultural, cosmopolitan and modern accommodation to sleep in Madrid and provide new experiences in your trips to the citie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dormirdcine Cooltural Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormirdcine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing