We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THC Gran Via Hostel
Ranked #157 of 285 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel is basic but fine for the price. Clean and quiet rooms cleaned daily. Only draw back is the location - it is central and close to the metro which was brilliant however there were a lot of prostitutes hanging around the corner of the road at all times of day. They were not so much the problem but rather the kind of people they attract. I would not visit with children and think if I had been visiting with a female friend as opposed to my boyfriend I would have felt uncomfortable walking around at night. Beware there is no lift and we were on fourth floor!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed for two nights and it was good for what I wanted. It's a cross between a hostel and inexpensive hotel so you have your own bathroom. It was slightly expensive for what you got but was very clean, nice decor and really comfortable. The room was quite small but fine for what was needed. It's a bit noisy in the mornings so I'd recommend earplugs if you are a light sleeper but not too bad. Also had someone on the desk 24 hours so that was good. The road outside has some interesting people on it at night but they are all harmless and is really close to the Grand Via.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gutzie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I travelled to Madrid from 14th - 22nd August with 61 young people and we booked the entire hostel. Booked it through a travel agent and found it over priced compared to the normal rate but that's not the hostels fault. The Manager Ricardo is very helpful and speaks good English. The staff were also very friendly although they had little or no English. The building is shared with other residents who were very unpleasant and nasty. In fact we got verbally abused and felt very threatened by residents who were busy taking drugs. Again this is out of the management and staffs hands. The ladies(or gents) of the night are harmless but It is not something that I would have intended exposing 17 and 18 year olds too and was shocked to find this given that we were so close to the main street. I had a room facing out to the front and the street is noisy at night with all the wheeling and dealing going on. The modern rooms are very clean and tidy and the bathroom is as good as you would find in a hotel. The aIr conditioning works very well and made our stay much more pleasant. Given that we paid hotel rates, I would have expected much more.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Yes, the road outside is seedy and full of prostitutes...
Yes, the wifi coverage is patchy, and we did have to go to the stairs to get reception
And finally, the directions given to us to find the place were nothing short of awful

But
I've never stayed anywhere quite so pleasant and well appointed for the price. I paid a little under £20 p/n to stay, and for that you get a nicely decorated, clean, private room with an ensuite and a flatscreen TV. Towels and sheets get changed regularly, and all the cleaners and staff are friendly.

Aircon in Madrid in summer was also hugely appreciated.

They provide you with a free walking tour, but as someone else stated the lack of common areas mean this is not a hostel as sold but a hotel, but a very nice one at that.
Would definitely be back, absolutely top notch location too :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Double room was quite small but clean. There was own bathroom and ac. The hostel is located in the centre of vibrant district of Madrid, step away from Gran via, where you find bars and clubs for everyones taste.
During my stay the hostel was very quiet and the staff was helpful.
In addition, there is a wiFi and car parking close to the hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOCOHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The room was small but not overpriced. The location is excellent! Very close to the main street, this includes some "citynoises". But if you don't want that, maybe it's better to go to a hotel or a hostel outside the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seline12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The room was spartan with a good level of hygiene. Welcome was good as was the local knowledge provided.

The hotel is located in a lively part of town which has it's pros and cons. Bars, restaurants, cafes etc are easily accessible though the area was swarming with prostitutes (day and night) and got extremely noisy between the hours of 2-6am. For a romantic break this wasn't ideal
I'd advise that if you do stay here you keep your room locked as one night we had a random gentleman (stag-do attendee) come crashing into our room at 4am.

Reception was open in the mornings but for the rest of the time it seemed to be luck of the draw.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foster2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasaña
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#162 of 443 in Madrid
654 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#169 of 443 in Madrid
1,039 reviews
San Blas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#165 of 443 in Madrid
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#73 of 443 in Madrid
734 reviews
Centro
Room007 Sol
Room007 Sol
#10 of 285 in Madrid
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THC Gran Via Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THC Gran Via Hostel

Address: Calle Barco 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Stad Madrid)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — THC Gran Via Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your THC Gran Via Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stad Madrid Hotel Madrid
Stadmadrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing